|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

The Sensitive Baker

A's Only 100% Gluten-free, Casein-free and Kosher* Bakery. Hand-Crafted Artisanal Breads and Deliciously Decadent Desserts.

< read all 2 reviews

A Quick Tip by Giuditta

  • Mar 12, 2010
  • by
Gluten free, dairy free and delivious
Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
0
Post a Comment
More The Sensitive Baker reviews
review by . March 10, 2010
Love the Sesitive Baker
Who would have known that if you take all the typical ingredients in bakery goods you could still end up with amazing deserts/ For all of you who have sensitivity to certain foods like: gluten, eggs and casein/dairy this is your paradise.       It is great for vegans, and frankly for anyone who cares about eating healthy a little less animal products and a lot more of self-love and there you have it: ready and sweet for you at the Sensitive Baker in Culver City. Try the …
About the reviewer
Giuditta Tornetta ()
Ranked #149
I am a certified birth and postpartum doula, lactation educator, a certified clinical hypnotherapist, and the author of the best selling book Painless Childbirth: An Empowering Journey Through pregnancy … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Giuditta
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

100% Gluten-free
We ask for written guarantees from all our suppliers testifying to the gluten-free-ness of all our ingredients. (Except for produce, like the carrots. But we wash those thoroughly.)

We buy our flour from Authentic Foods (except for a few things from Bob’s, from their gluten-free line.) (Oh, and we get certified gluten-free oat flour and rolled oats from Only Oats in Canada.)

Our employees don’t bring any gluten-containing food into the premises, not even for a minute.

Kosher-Parve = Dairy/Casein-Free
Everything we use (again, except for fresh produce, like carrots) is certified kosher-parve. That means no meat, poultry, pork, or shellfish. That also means no casein, no lactose – no MILK derivatives of any kind. We use EGGS – they aren’t considered dairy in kosher terms – but we try to keep an assortment of egg-free/VEGAN items at all times.

Base ingredients
All our baked goods start with our base blend of California-grown brown-rice flour and tapioca starch. We may add potato starch, corn starch, sweet rice flour, millet flour, certified-gluten-free oat flour, organic amaranth flour or organic quinoa flakes. We don’t currently offer any rice-free or tapioca-free baked goods, sorry to say.

What about soy?

Earth BalanceInstead of butter we use this really great stuff called Earth Balance margarine. It’s 100% vegan, non-hydrogenated, non-gmo, but it does contain soy in the “vegetable oil blend.” We use it in the ...

view wiki

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists