|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Health » Reviews » Tofurky » User review

Tofurky

Turkey meat substitute

< read all 3 reviews

Don't knock it 'til you try it.

  • Dec 24, 2009
Rating:
+4
My purpose in this review is to eliminate the misconceptions associated with vegan foods. I have been a vegan for over three years now, and have eaten a Tofurky each Thanksgiving since then. For anyone that does not know, a vegan does not consume any animal products, i.e. meat, dairy, honey, eggs, etc. A Tofurky is a vegan/vegetarian alternative to the traditional Thanksgiving turkey dinner, made up of wheat gluten and tofu. On the inside of the "log" is a wild rice stuffing, and, if you buy the "feast" and not just the Tofurky itself, the box comes complete with a container of vegan-friendly gravy and a bag of apple-potato-cranberry dumplings.

While it's true that Tofurkys aren't shaped like a turkey (they look more like a short log), I don't feel that it detracts from the eating experience much at all, especially because you're going to slice it up anyway. I had though that the flavor of the Tofurky was more of an acquird taste, but recently, my omnivorous father tried it, and he said that it wasn't bad at all. My sister, who is also newly vegetarian, enjoyed it as well. I don't know how to explain the number of people who dislike Tofurky, but I suppose that, with all foods, some people will like it, and some will not. I myself love the Tofurky, and even when Thanksgiving has come and gone, I continue to eat the leftovers until they are gone. I will admit that the Tofurky is a bit rubbery when cold, but regains its meat-like texture upon being re-heated. (I'll admit that there is something weird about having meat-shaped meatless foods, but I digress.) I think there are several people who hear the word "tofu" and cringe, despite having never tried it. The stuffing has the same taste and texture of the stuffing that I used to eat years ago, and the dumplings taste much better than they sound, especially with a little sugar sprinkled on top.

One serving of the Tofurky itself has ten-percent of your daily recommended amount of fiber, and sixty-eight percent of your daily recommended amount of protein. The dumplings also contain significant amounts of fiber and protein.

While I am aware of the debate over whether or not soy-consumption is good for you, I would like to mention that I rarely eat soy. I am not advocating that anyone eat large amounts of soy, because I am uncertain of how healthy (or not) it may actually be. Like I said before, my goal is not to force or ask anyone to eat or drink anything. I only hope that, one day, people can be more accepting and understanding of the vegan diet.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
29
Thought-Provoking
25
Fun to Read
28
Well-Organized
28
Post a Comment
October 05, 2010
NO i hate tofurky with a passion! It is horrible, just horrible. I try to warn everyone how bad it is, so they don't waste money on it. It tastes so gross and way to over salted to even eat. I cooked it and had to throw it out, what a waste! I wasted money on it and was very pissed off, because of all the good reviews it got, i actually hoped it was good. BOY WAS I WRONG! The one I bought came with this dry, tasteless stuffing and these completely inedible dumplings. What a waste, tofurky is pathetic and such a waste of energy to manufacture it! The only thing its good for is punting it into the trash can! Tofurky is a sad excuse for vegetarian meat! It gives us veggies a bad name! I use quorn roast during my holidays, it may not look like a turkey, but it's taste is outta this freakin world.
 
March 06, 2010
Thanks. This was interesting and helpful. And Tofurky sounds good, or you made it sound good anyway. I'll have to give it a shot.
March 06, 2010
I hope you like it if you try it. Tofurkey seems to be a hit-or-miss. Some people like it, and some people just don't.
 
December 28, 2009
Thanks for this review! I have never tried the Tofurky brand but I did try a vegan turkey this Thanksgiving (I wish I could remember the brand name..it was imported from New Zealand [?] and actually shaped like a turkey. It came with Himalayan wild rice stuffing and gravy). The turkey was a little on the wet side but I really liked it... The rice stuffing especially. It had a little bits of soy ham in it!

As far as the "too much soy" debate goes...I personally like to err on the side of caution and try to eat mainly beans, tempeh, and seitan. I assume you've tried the latter? Sooo good!
December 28, 2009
That sounds really good! I believe that I've tried foods that were made with seitan or had seitan in in, but I've never bought it on its own and cooked with it. There's this really good "beef jerky" made with seitan that I get sometimes.
 
December 27, 2009
well, I am pretty omnivorous and I eat anything! I love TOFU; have you tried Tofu ice cream? I'll give this a shot sometime, thank you for the entertaining write up!
December 27, 2009
You're welcome. I have tried soy ice cream, and it's really good! Have you ever tried it? It's amazing how many flavors there are. I have yet to find a peanut-butter-cup flavor though...
 
December 26, 2009
Even as a vegetarian, I've never been a fan of meatless meats, I still think that this is a great review!  I wish that I had known about the feast though, or is that a new product?  I love their gravy, and those dumplings sound really good.  Thanks for sharing! :)
December 26, 2009
Thank you, and you're welcome! The gravy is good, isn't it? I never eat those soy hot dogs or soy burgers or anything like that. I just like having something on Thanksgiving. I'm not sure when the feast came out, but I do know that they sell out pretty quickly, at least in the stores near me, so that may possibly be why you never saw it? :)
December 29, 2009
The gravy is tasty, especially with the "giblets" in it! When I was veg, I was like you -- I never really ate much imitation meat. For me, it was convenient, but not too tasty. I'll have to keep an eye out for that feast though, for my veg guests next year so that I have something for everyone! :)
 
1
More Tofurky reviews
review by . November 12, 2009
A Sorry Excuse for a Turkey
I hate tofurky. I hate the idea of a tofurky. And I get offended when people expect me to eat tofurky.      It’s a bland, chewy, tasteless roll of fake meat, containing mushy under seasoned stuffing, and vacuum sealed into a plastic bag. It even retains the shape of the plastic bag, and resembles a log when served on the table.      I thought tofurky was an urban myth, made up by some crazy vegan. I certainly had never seen on at any of my holiday meals. …
Quick Tip by . November 25, 2009
Though it's great that veggies have an option, I still can't get over Tofurkey tasting like rubbery doo doo.
About the reviewer
GCS ()
Ranked #93
My user-name was derived from the title of a poem by Edgar Allan Poe. I came to Lunch with the hopes of publishing reviews that would be appreciated by others and reading the reviews of others that hope … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Ulalume
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

Tofurky, Turtle Island Foods' trademark for its meat substitute, is a turkey meat substitute made from a blend of wheat gluten, or seitan, and organic tofu. The company uses it for many of their meatless products, including deli slices, sausages, jerky, tempeh, burgers, and franks. All Tofurky products are vegan and approved by the Vegan Society, and most are kosher-certified by the Kosher Supervision of America.

view wiki

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists