|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Beauty » Reviews » Tom's of Maine Deodorant » User review

All natural deodorant that might make you smell "all natural"

  • Aug 1, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+2
In my efforts to attain a greener and more natural lifestyle, I have switched to using all natural and organic household and beauty products. This includes products made by Tom's of Maine, a company whose products are all natural and never tested on animals. I use their toothpaste which is fine, but for the past couple months I have been using their deodorant.

This deodorant uses hops to inhibit the growth of bacteria, zinc and natural fragrances (lavendar, apricot, lemongrass, and unscented) to absorb and block odor, and is aluminum free. If only it worked! To be fair, I have only tried the lavender scented and unscented deodorants. The lavender was okay but after wearing it all day started to acquire a mildly  funky scent. And the unscented is even worse--like the lavender, it's fine when you first put it on but after a while it starts to smell funky. When I put the unscented deodorant on in the morning and go to work for the day I have to remember if I even put it on that morning because in the afternoon I smell like B.O.! Perhaps the natural ingredients aren't as strong as synthetic ones so that I have to keep reapplying it? I don't know but I think I may have to continue my quest for an all natural deodorant that actually works. Until then, I recommend you steer clear of Tom's of Maine deodorant--at the very least the unscented kind!
Tom's of Maine Unscented Deodorant

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
17
Thought-Provoking
12
Fun to Read
15
Well-Organized
11
Post a Comment
September 09, 2010
Great article. I have not used Tom's of Maine since I have been using products from Lavanila.com. They have everything from all natural lip butter to deodorant.
 
June 24, 2010

 

Great article it was. Indeed I had never knew anything about Tom's of Maine All Natural Deodorant products. But it was quite interesting to know. Looking forward to some more quality info.

 
February 09, 2010
I agree with your review, and also detected the funky smell. I think that using this makes you smell even worse than B.O...
 
September 26, 2009
I tried Tom's of Maine deodorant and found the same results. Besides it not really working my arm pits felt sticky too. I opted for making my own. I love it! It gets super hot here int he summer like 100 or more on those days I do have to reapply in the afternoon but other than that it's great. I just mix 2 tbls baking soda with an unscented lotion (even better if you make your own, but whatever your fav is works fine). I use my fingers to apply and of course wash my hands after.
 
August 04, 2009
I'll have to agree with you it does not work that great, I have to reapply it every 3-4 hours, not very convenient. But I would actually rather do that than have my body absorb all the nasty stuff present in chemical deodorant these days. I love the Tom's of Maine Toothpaste though! I use the fluoride free one. I'll let you know if I find a natural deodorant that works!
 
1
More Tom's of Maine Deodorant reviews
Quick Tip by . February 09, 2010
This literally takes hours to dry, and smells weird as well. You'd be better off using nothing. No animal testing or ingredients though!
Quick Tip by . September 08, 2009
posted in Green Living
It is OK, but nothing spectacular. Hopefully they'll come up with a formulation that works better. Great non-toxic ingredients though!
About the reviewer
Kristen ()
Ranked #178
Member Since: Jan 19, 2009
Last Login: Aug 4, 2011 10:46 PM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Shugrshell
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

  • Hops inhibit the growth of odor-causing bacteria.
    The antimicrobial action of hops inhibits the growth of odor-causing bacteria while reducing the possibility of skin irritation.
  • Natural fragrance blocks odor.
    Gentle fragrance helps to mask odor.
view wiki

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists