|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Trainspotting

Irvine Welsh's first novel

< read all 10 reviews

A Quick Tip by ashmunki

  • Jun 16, 2010
life-changing piece... i read it at far too young an age (11 or so). i'm permanently demented over a decade later =D
Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
0
Post a Comment
More Trainspotting (book) reviews
review by . June 15, 2010
Trainspotting, a novel
A drark but humorous look into the world of a herion addict. The novel tells you the story of Mark Renton (known as Rent or Rent Boy), a Scottish young man and his herion addiction and friends who are deep into the drug scene. It touches on some tough issues, such as death, AIDS, addiction and other illegal activies.   The book takes place in Scotland and focuses on a group of friends, the majority of which are deep into a herion addiction. It revolves around their …
Quick Tip by . July 01, 2010
must read
Quick Tip by . June 27, 2010
Great book, amazing movie!
Quick Tip by . June 26, 2010
Welsh writes brilliant, stream-os-consciousness dialogue and dives deep inside his characters
Quick Tip by . June 24, 2010
Crazy druggies hehe
Quick Tip by . June 19, 2010
disturbing and funny
Quick Tip by . June 16, 2010
good
Quick Tip by . June 16, 2010
Amazing. The language can be a little tough to get into at first,but well worth the effort!
Quick Tip by . June 16, 2010
awesome!
About the reviewer
ashley ()
Ranked #655
   on the cusp of my twenty-fifth year of existence, i present to you all my accumulated literary knowledge from my global travels (both on actual airplanes and trains as well as the world i've … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
ashmunki
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

Irvine Welsh's controversial first novel, set on the heroin-addicted fringe of working-class youth in Edinburgh, is yet another exploration of the dark side of Scottishness. The main character, Mark Renton, is at the center of a clique of nihilistic slacker junkies with no hopes and no possibilities, and only "mind-numbing and spirit-crushing" alternatives in the straight world they despise. This particular slice of humanity has nothing left but the blackest of humor and a sharpness of wit. American readers can use the glossary in the back to translate the slang and dialect--essential, since the dialogue makes the book. This is a bleak vision sung as musical comedy.
view wiki

Details

First to Review

"Trainspotting, a novel"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists