|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Nature » Reviews » Trees » User review

Trees

A woody plant that has many secondary branches supported clear of the ground on a single main stem or trunk

< read all 5 reviews

Plant a tree: We'll all breathe easier

  • Feb 23, 2010
Rating:
+5

There are a multitude of reasons to plant a tree. Many may be obvious, but some are not so obvious. We learned in science class that trees take away the bad carbon dioxide in the air and then release to us and every other living thing good oxygen. Hooray for the trees! We also know that trees can be beautiful and serene. However, trees can also add to the betterment of our future in many, many other ways.

So, why plant a tree?

  • trees are the home of songbirds
  • trees shelter wildlife from their predators and from rain
  • trees help avoid soil erosion along rivers and streams
  • we know that trees remove carbon dioxide in the air, but did you know that carbon dioxide is a greenhouse gas and that, in turn, trees will help in the fight against global warming?
  • trees can block cold winds which can cut your winter energy costs

               Plant a Tree - Shade is almost always a good thing      Plant a Tree - they are beautiful

  • trees provide shade for you and even your home which can slightly reduce you air conditioning use
  • trees will increase property a home's value
  • trees can recycle water
  • trees are something the entire family can enjoy from the initial planting to the watering to the joy of creating something that will live on maybe past your own life

Trees are good for you and everyone around you.  They are green personified as well as healthy.  Planting trees are great family projects along with starting gardens.  The official Arbor Day website(www.arborday.org) is a great place to learn everything there is to learn about trees. You'll learn what trees are best to plant in your area.  They will even send you 10 trees just for becoming a member.  Remember the next Arbor Day is April 24, 2010.

Plant a tree: We'll all breathe easier Plant a tree: We'll all breathe easier

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
12
Thought-Provoking
12
Fun to Read
12
Well-Organized
12
Post a Comment
February 25, 2010
Trees have great significance to the planet and this is a very thoughtful review! I like having plants around my place too. Thanks for this write up!
February 25, 2010
You're welcome. Adding plants definitely do cheer people up.
 
February 25, 2010
Enjoyed your take on this subject as well, You are rapidly becoming one of my favorite reviewers on Lunch.
February 25, 2010
Thanks. That means a ton coming from you. Keep up the great work.
 
February 24, 2010
Great suggestions! I wrote up a list of 10 ways to help the environment. Each of us can do our own little bit to make the world better :) http://hikinglady.com/get-outside/10-ways-to-help-the-environment/
February 24, 2010
Thanks. I really like your list.

I've heard so much about Trader Joe's, but we don't have one in Kentucky yet.  It sounds like a great place.
 
February 24, 2010
great post, wanting to use the woodland trust for our carbon offsetting. i run a site www.carbonneutralhosting.biz and i would love your thoughts on it!!!
 
1
More Trees reviews
review by . October 27, 2009
posted in Green Living
Trees 1
This quotation from the prominent 19th Century American clergyman and abolitionist Henry Ward Beecher certainly reflects the way I feel about trees.  Did you know that trees are the oldest documented living organism?   Trees add to our quality of life in a variety of important ways.  First and foremost,  trees help keep the air that we breathe pure.  Secondly, trees are an amazing renewable natural resource that help to keep our homes warm in …
Quick Tip by . March 06, 2010
posted in Green Living
I live in a community where you can't cut trees without a permit. We love our mature woods and protect them diligently.
Quick Tip by . March 04, 2010
posted in Green Living
Providers of shade, oxygen, beauty & then some :)
Quick Tip by . October 27, 2009
I love a neighborhood with a lot of trees and greenery....really adds to the ambiance. I planted Blue Spruces in my front yard, now huge!
About the reviewer
Clay Miller ()
Ranked #49
Graphic designer/illustrator and owner of Miller Creative Designs, LLC who on Lunch.com likes to shareinsight on Greenand health insight, ideas and other tidbits.Creator/writer of Ways2GoGreen .com& … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Clay_Miller
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

A tree is a perennial woody plant. It is most often defined as a woody plant that has many secondary branches supported clear of the ground on a single main stem or trunk  with clear apical dominance.  A minimum height specification at maturity is cited by some authors, varying from 3 m to 6 m;  some authors set a minimum of 10 cm trunk diameter (30 cm girth).  Woody plants that do not meet these definitions by having multiple stems and/or small size, are called shrubs. Compared with most other plants, trees are long-lived, some reaching several thousand years old and growing to up to 115 m (379 ft) high.

Trees are an important component of the natural landscape because of their prevention of erosion and the provision of a weather-sheltered ecosystem in and under their foliage. They also play an important role in producing oxygen and reducing carbon dioxide in the atmosphere, as well as moderating ground temperatures. They are also elements in landscaping and agriculture, both for their aesthetic appeal and their orchard crops (such as apples). Wood from trees is a building material, as well as a primary energy source in many developing countries. Trees also play a role in many of the world's mythologies (see trees in mythology).
 

view wiki

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists