|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Sports » Reviews » UFC : Ultimate Fighting Championship » User review

UFC logo

A fighting league based in the US.

< read all 3 reviews

UFC 100: Making History

  • Jul 10, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+4
Tomorrow July 11, 2009 UFC will celebrate 100 major fight cards on pay per view. A feat only accomplished by two other promotions/sports, the WWE and Professional Boxing. Neither of them are on the same plane the UFC exist. Neither is as honest in the fashion the UFC presents its self. Both sports are combative in nature but neither of them are true in the aspect of once the bell rings its you or your opponent by any means necessary. Wrestling is staged(sorry kids) and boxing has been corrupted by the likes of the Don Kings & backroom deals that have kept truly great athletes from fighting on major cards until the tilight of their career(Winky Wright ring a bell??).There is no sport like this anywhere on the planet people.

This fight card has athletes from backgrounds that span both Professional Wrestling (Brock Lesnar) and boxing(Thiago Alves) and plenty more from more traditional Mixed Martial Arts backgrounds. UFC 100 has alot of potential to be a great fight card due to its star power and two title defenses on the main card. Brock Lesnar - Heavy Weight Champion vs Frank Mir is a rematch of a previous bout where Mir showed that size & strength are only part of the equation of being a great in the UFC as he applied a leg lock & forced Brock to tap out within two minutes of the first rounds opening bell. If you havent seen it yet heres the clip:


Also the other fight on the main card is the always popular Welterweight Champ George St-Pierre, who is going up against the hard hitting Thiago Alves. This is a match that will be a big draw especially with GSP coming off a huge win against the Prodigy B.J. Penn. Alves is a tough competitor who completely destroyed a UFC Future Hall of Famer Matt Hughes. GSP has been quoted in a recent interview stating that due to his last bout with B.J. he is a much better fighter. Strong words from the champ. Heres a recap vid of that match. After that theres a promo video for UFC 100.



UFC 100 Promo



What did you think of this review?

Helpful
10
Thought-Provoking
7
Fun to Read
8
Well-Organized
9
Post a Comment
August 04, 2009
Nice review man...I like it.
August 04, 2009
Thanks man. I appreciate the feedback. What did you think about the event??
August 05, 2009
Overall good, happy to see Hendo finish that fight in that manner. I was disappointed that Bonner lost, not because I thought he won....just like the guy he seems to be a true martial artist honorable kind of guy. GSP is a monster, Alves is as well. If I had to fight Thiago I would take him down 100 times as well he is a beast. Under card, Jones seems to still be a handful, Tim Lawlor real deal nice choke. Looking forward to this next event, we will see if BJ has been truly training hard. I dont know where I stand on KenFlow, I don't know why I dont like him man. He is a nice guy, who seems to work hard and has some skills, but I never want him to win really weird huh?
August 05, 2009
man KFlo is nice in the ring. I really cant wait until fight night because of Anderson Silva & Forrest Griffin goint at it. I think that will take the cake because those are easily two of the biggest names / exciting fighters to watch in MMA currently.
August 05, 2009
Yeah man I know he is nice, I just don't know why I hate on him really don't. You are right about the Silva fight though, I am a fan of both guys. I have been a fan of Anderson's for a long long time, long before the UFC. He is a pure fighter, but man I think he is tired and ready to call it a career soon. Muay Thai is a very tough sport and training it for so many years takes it's toll on the body and mind. I hope he wins that fight in an Anderson fashion because Forrest is going to be around much longer in my opinion.
August 05, 2009
Muay Thai is very tough. I think thats what makes Anderson such a dynamic fighter but I dont think he is tired physically, but mentally i do believe that he is bored. There havent been any real fighters who offer him a true challenge. Hopefully Forrest Griffin gives it to him. I look forward to an awesome card
August 05, 2009
For sure great fighter, but he has been kicking shins for a long time and being in his 30's we will see. 100% correct about being bored people don't want to hear that but it is true, he wrecks people literally destroys and I think he is bored. Kind of reminds me of Mike Jordan before his second retirement. Do you follow other fighting organization or grappling? NAGA? or Abu Dhabi Combat? Noticed the New Addtion to our Fleet....you Navy or Marine Corp?
August 05, 2009
Yea, I was thinking about the same comparision. That is the perfect cross sport comparison. Both are great at what they do for their position / discipline but do the things that aren't in that description remarkably well. I watch K-1, Strikeforce, UFC, Affliction (before they crashed), and any boxing or fighting that comes across the TV. I haven't heard of NAGA but I've heard of Abu Dhabi Combat but haven't caught any of their bouts. Have you? I'm former Navy you have any military experience?
August 05, 2009
Yeah man I will put up a review on NAGA(North American Grappling Assoc) check it out great Gi and No-Gi Grappling. ADCC is good place to get combat sports info. and the tournament is good to go. Yeah man I was NAVY (AT worked I level on P-3's 91-96 NAS JAX). Haze Gray....
August 05, 2009
NO WAY!!!!! I was ABH / AZ USS Carl Vinson (CVN-70)
August 05, 2009
That funny man, we will have to catch up on that. I will put up some stuff tomorrow on the combat sports stuff. Take it easy tonight and I will catch you tomorrow.
 
1
More UFC : Ultimate Fighting Champi... reviews
Quick Tip by . March 06, 2010
The UFC is the Ultimate Fighting Championships. A contest was held in Denver in 1993 to see what "the best martial art" is Royce Gracie won.
review by . July 14, 2009
During UFC's beginnings, Street Fighter Kimo Leopoldo 260 lbs fought and lost to Brazilian-jujutsu expert Royce Gracie 180 lbs during UFC 3 where he proved again "You don't have to be the biggest guy or the one who hits the hardest. And you don't have to get hurt in a fight." (UFC 1 GRACIE'S VICTORY STATEMENT)  It was an awesome fight to see a fighter 80 lbs lighter take on a bully type character and win.      Royce Gracie is a Hall of …
About the reviewer
Aaron Rawls ()
Ranked #167
Form your own opinion... Isn't that what we are here for???
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
ajrawls
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

The Ultimate Fighting Championship (UFC), a U.S.-based mixed martial arts (MMA) organization, had a reputation as of 2008[update] as the largest MMA promotion in the world.[2] Zuffa, LLC, headquartered in Las Vegas, Nevada, owns and operates the UFC. The UFC focuses on the heavier weight classes in MMA, whereas its sister promotion, the WEC, focuses on the lighter weights.

http://www.ufc.com/
view wiki

Tags

Sports, Mma, Fighting, Ufc, Mixed Martial Arts, Ultimate Fighting Championship

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists