Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

UNESCO World Heritage Site

A site maintained by the international World Heritage Programme

< read all 2 reviews

A Quick Tip by Sharrie

  • Mar 24, 2010
  • by
UNESCO presents some of the world's best kept treasures & restores others which need preservation for all!
Was this helpful?
Post a Comment
More UNESCO World Heritage Site reviews
review by . February 11, 2010
World Legacies
Over the course of the last decade, I've traveled a great deal to many countries. One of the guidelines I've used to determine what to explore and discovery, other than magazines and online sites, is a list compiled by UNESCO.      Commonly known as UNESCO World Heritage Site, the list is maintained by a body known as UNESCO World Heritage Committee. Generally, the site selected is either a place of cultural or physical importance. For example, the Vatican & the Grand …
About the reviewer
Sharrie ()
Ranked #3
I'm a traveler at heart & have been nicknamed Travel Queen by friends & colleagues alike. Traveling has been my life passion for the last decade or so. As we enter a new decade, I'm excited … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic


UNESCO World Heritage Site is a site (such as a forestmountainlakedesertmonumentbuilding, complex, or city) that is on the list that is maintained by the international World Heritage Programme administered by the UNESCO World Heritage Committee, composed of 21 state parties[1] which are elected by their General Assembly for a four-year term.[2] A World Heritage Site is a place of either cultural or physical significance.

The program catalogues, names, and conserves sites of outstanding cultural or natural importance to the common heritage of humanity. Under certain conditions, listed sites can obtain funds from the World Heritage Fund. The programme was founded with the Convention Concerning the Protection of World Cultural and Natural Heritage,[3] which was adopted by the General Conference of UNESCO on November 16, 1972. Since then, 186 state parties have ratified the convention.

As of 2009, 890 sites are listed: 689 cultural, 176 natural, and 25 mixed properties, in 148 states.[4][5] Italy is home to the greatest number of World Heritage Sites to date with 44 sites inscribed on the list. UNESCO references each World Heritage Site with an identification number; but new inscriptions often include previous sites now listed as part of larger descriptions. As a result, the identification numbers exceed 1200 even though there are fewer on the ...

view wiki


First to Review

"World Legacies"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since