|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Cars » Reviews » USAA Insurance » User review

USAA

A full service insurance provider that is a non-profit for those that served in the military and their families

< read all 3 reviews

used to be great, completely down hill now. WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE!

  • Nov 14, 2009
  • by
Rating:
-5

2 yrs ago, I set up auto bill pay, and then went on tour for 2 months. When I got back, I opened a letter saying my ins was canceled due to non payment. USAA even admitted that it was their fault that the rep entered my bank info incorrectly resulting in the lapse in coverage, but it wasn't enough...my rates rised $200!

the last straw? cut and paste from my bbb complaint:


repeated calls for assistance ignored. Services as insurance company neglected. 

My car was broken into on 10/29, leaving a broken out passenger window, and no security for my vehicle from intruders and inclement weather. I filed a claim on 10/30 which was ignored. No claims adjuster called me that day, and my car was exposed to the rain and intruders over the weekend (Halloween weekend). Still no calls on Monday 11/2, so I called and filed the claim AGAIN. Following that, i escalated to express my concerns with a manager who then asked me to repeat all the info pertaining to my claim and now challeged my personal property loss. I sent documentation, had to repeat myself numerous times to several different reps and departments. 

On multiple occasions, I have claims adjusters asking me how much damages are for, who's paying for them, etc...all things I pay full coverage for in order for them to take care of these things.

I have been trying to get a hold of my claims adjuster since Monday, and have not had any help. Every time I talk to a rep, they forward me to her voicemail.

Living on west coast time, it is poor service they are offering at a high premium that their office hours are closed by 2pm pacific coast time. 

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
2
Thought-Provoking
2
Fun to Read
2
Well-Organized
2
Post a Comment
November 14, 2009
they really used to be the best. it's such a shame to leave the only ins co I've ever known. But I had two claims made on my ins 3 and 7 years ago where the claimants walked away with at least $1000 with no real damage to their vehicles, and now I've got a claim I need to put in, and I'm getting grilled?! they should be investigating the people that DON'T pay the premiums just as much! Actually, I am going to AAA as soon as I can get refunded for my payment from USAA. thanks!
 
November 14, 2009
Wow, sorry to hear about your bad experience!  That's odd, considering the glowing things that other Lunchers have written in lists and micro reviews.  Well, maybe you should consider AAA.  They've never done me wrong!
 
1
More USAA Insurance reviews
review by . March 02, 2012
Thieves, liars, bureaucrats, and uncaring bean counters. A customer for 15 years we even financed our cars through the company. In January 2012, a 17 year old pulled out into a 55mph road dead in front of me totaling my Cavalier.  I did the same thing when I was 17 a loonnnngg time ago.  Police ticketed the young man. Open and shut, right? USAA, says that the car they insured for 3, yes 3 years had the wrong vin # on paper at the office and thus would not pay for the car. Why my company …
Quick Tip by . September 09, 2009
hands down one of the most stellar companies I've ever dealt with, across any industry - let ALONE insurance providers. truly fantastic.
About the reviewer

Ranked #2156
Member Since: Nov 14, 2009
Last Login: Nov 14, 2009 01:41 AM UTC
About this topic

Wiki

United Services Automobile Association (USAA) is a Fortune 500 financial services company offering banking, investing, and insurance to people and families that serve, or served, in the United States military.

USAA was founded in 1922 by a group of U.S. Army officers to self-insure each other when they were unable to secure auto insurance due to the perception that they were a high-risk group. USAA has since expanded to serve officers, NCOs, enlisted, and their families with property & casualty insurance, banking, life insurance, investment and financial planning products and services.

The company was one of the pioneers of direct marketing and most of its business is conducted over the Internet or telephone using employees instead of agents. Until the 1960s the bulk of its business was conducted via mail. In the late 1960s USAA began a transition from mail to phone based sales and service. A toll-free number was launched in 1978, and Internet sales and service was launched in 1999 via USAA.COM.

view wiki

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists