|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Cars » Reviews » USAA Insurance » User review

USAA

A full service insurance provider that is a non-profit for those that served in the military and their families

< read all 3 reviews

Warning.......Don't get products from USAA !

  • Mar 2, 2012
  • by
Rating:
-5

Thieves, liars, bureaucrats, and uncaring bean counters. A customer for 15 years we even financed our cars through the company. In January 2012, a 17 year old pulled out into a 55mph road dead in front of me totaling my Cavalier.  I did the same thing when I was 17 a loonnnngg time ago.  Police ticketed the young man. Open and shut, right? USAA, says that the car they insured for 3, yes 3 years had the wrong vin # on paper at the office and thus would not pay for the car. Why my company would have to pay, I have no idea, but they sure won't share the info.  If they have the wrong vin#, so what?  They confused it with  the cavalier had had previous to the one I was in during the wreck.   Why isn't Geico (the 17year old's company) paying for the wreck. 2 months later I am still sore, yet I am an honest teacher who isn't looking to "fleece" an insurance company. Yet, it is my OWN insurer (USAA) who is sticking it to me. I know it sounds unbelievable....I don't believe it myself. What really gets us is that we really trusted this company, they were supposed to treat veterans fairly. DO NOT use this company!

Tom Naramore
Burgaw, NC

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
3
Thought-Provoking
3
Fun to Read
3
Well-Organized
3
Post a Comment
March 07, 2012
We just got a call from the Supervisor's supervisor and USAA is now going to honor the claim! I can only guess what changed their mind, but thank you so much for this forum.
 
March 06, 2012
What?! I'm very sorry to hear, Tom. I have AAA and they really took care of me when I had a car accident, so that may be something to look into. Well, let us know how it goes, and if you find a better insurance company. Thank you for sharing this.
 
1
More USAA Insurance reviews
review by . November 14, 2009
2 yrs ago, I set up auto bill pay, and then went on tour for 2 months. When I got back, I opened a letter saying my ins was canceled due to non payment. USAA even admitted that it was their fault that the rep entered my bank info incorrectly resulting in the lapse in coverage, but it wasn't enough...my rates rised $200! the last straw? cut and paste from my bbb complaint:    repeated calls for assistance ignored. Services as insurance company neglected.  My car was broken into on …
Quick Tip by . September 09, 2009
hands down one of the most stellar companies I've ever dealt with, across any industry - let ALONE insurance providers. truly fantastic.
About the reviewer

Ranked #2005
Member Since: Mar 2, 2012
Last Login: Mar 7, 2012 02:17 AM UTC
About this topic

Wiki

United Services Automobile Association (USAA) is a Fortune 500 financial services company offering banking, investing, and insurance to people and families that serve, or served, in the United States military.

USAA was founded in 1922 by a group of U.S. Army officers to self-insure each other when they were unable to secure auto insurance due to the perception that they were a high-risk group. USAA has since expanded to serve officers, NCOs, enlisted, and their families with property & casualty insurance, banking, life insurance, investment and financial planning products and services.

The company was one of the pioneers of direct marketing and most of its business is conducted over the Internet or telephone using employees instead of agents. Until the 1960s the bulk of its business was conducted via mail. In the late 1960s USAA began a transition from mail to phone based sales and service. A toll-free number was launched in 1978, and Internet sales and service was launched in 1999 via USAA.COM.

view wiki

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists