|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Music » Reviews » VMA - Video Music Awards 2009 » User review

MTV VMA 2009

Video and music awards by MTV

< read all 3 reviews

Congressmen Kanye West

  • Sep 14, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+3
So this is all you need to know about the VMA's this year... Kanye West is truly an idiot!!!

In case you missed the main event heres a short summary: Taylor Swift had just won an award for Best Female Video and as she was giving her thanks, Kanye West jumps up on stage grabs the mic from Taylor and says something to the effect that Beyonce, who was one of the other nominees for the category, had one of the best videos of all time.

Heres an apology taken from Kanyes Blog:

"I'M SOOOOO SORRY TO TAYLOR SWIFT AND HER FANS AND HER MOM. I SPOKE TO HER MOTHER RIGHT AFTER AND SHE SAID THE SAME THING MY MOTHER WOULD’VE SAID. SHE IS VERY TALENTED! I LIKE THE LYRICS ABOUT BEING A CHEERLEADER AND SHE'S IN THE BLEACHERS! ........ I'M IN THE WRONG FOR GOING ON STAGE AND TAKING AWAY FROM HER MOMENT!........ BEYONCE'S VIDEO WAS THE BEST OF THIS DECADE!!!! IM SORRY TO MY FANS IF I LET YOU GUYS DOWN!!!! I'M SORRY TO MY FRIENDS AT MTV. I WILL APOLOGIZE TO TAYLOR 2MRW. WELCOME TO THE REAL WORLD!!!! EVERYBODY WANNA BOOOOO ME BUT I'M A FAN OF REAL POP CULTURE!!! NO DISRESPECT BUT WE WATCHIN' THE SHOW AT THE CRIB RIGHT NOW CAUSE ... WELL YOU KNOW!!!! I'M STILL HAPPY FOR TAYLOR!!!! BOOOYAAAWWWW!!!! YOU ARE VERY VERY TALENTED!!! I GAVE MY AWARDS TO OUTKAST WHEN THEY DESERVED IT OVER ME... THAT'S WHAT IT IS!!!!!!! I'M NOT CRAZY YALL, I'M JUST REAL. SORRY FOR THAT!!! I REALLY FEEL BAD FOR TAYLOR AND I'M SINCERELY SORRY!!! MUCH RESPECT!!!!!"

Add another notch in the idiot stick for Kanye. On a night that was pre-empted with a tribute to Micheal Jackson and framed around love and unity, Kanye reminded us all how far we really are from a colorless world. There was such a great message we could all learn from the tragedy that has become Micheal Jackson and in 10 seconds it was lost by the lunacy of an impetuous and thoughtless jerk.

Boos for Kanye and cheers for Taylor persisted through the night and I couldnt help but cringe at home from the tension in the audience. I know race was not directly injected this time but I cant help feel that Kanye did. Its this type of close mindedness that is the catalyst for many of our problems today. So what if you feel like Beyonce did have the best video respect the process and especially the winner Taylor who had nothing to do with the voting. Poor girl. No class Kanye. If you are so smart try thinking before acting next time.

I get Kanye has a lot to say and that fine, but there is an appropiate time and place. Didnt he learn anything from Congressman Joe Wilson after blurting out "You Lie!", during President Obama's speech.

On a lighter note what about Lady Gaga. Im scared yet intrigued. Not sure if she is brilliant or crazy but I think I like her.
VMA

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
37
Thought-Provoking
33
Fun to Read
42
Well-Organized
26
Post a Comment
September 15, 2009
I missed the show but thanks for this update. The "apology" is pretty bad though, where he still insists Beyonce is better. Sorry to spoil your moment but you're second-rate. Yeah, that works.
 
September 14, 2009
Love you're review. He's a MORON!
 
September 14, 2009
Good Review. I don't watch award shows but I woke up to my wife filling me in so I did some reading. WOW, celebrities are the most entitled people out there, this girl wins her first award and this attention hungry clown destroys her moment. Sure we are entitled to our opinion, so Kanye should put down the booze and log onto Lunch or his twitter account and share his view with his fans. That is what we all do, but no celebrity can ruin a moment in time for someone and then say "Sorry" I screwed up. Regardless of him trying to make a point his intent was clearly to take center stage again and again and again by being controversial. Maybe if Taylor rolled around with 300 lbs bodyguards everywhere she went, like Kanye, he would not have been so brave. I really wish Taylor would have just taken the mic back from him and asked him to sit down. As far as learning something...I wish we all would have learned something from congress when the opposing party booed President Bush at the State of the Union during his final term.
September 15, 2009
Well put!
 
September 14, 2009
Um, Kanye West thinks that that's an apology? For shame. He should know better than to ruin anyone's big moment like that, especially that of a 19 year old girl's.

I love Lady Gaga though. Brilliant AND crazy :D
 
September 14, 2009
Hey Tank!! Great review there was something that hasn't been talked up in the media and have been neglected. In no way am I condoning Kanye's actions but he had a valid point if you fast forward to later in the night Beyonce won "Video of the Year" for the video he spoke about(Single Ladies). In my simple thought process if you are win the Video of the Year no matter if you are a male or female you should automatically have the award for your respective sex. Honestly Beyonce would have won that award if she were nominated in that category. Now at that point it seems to me that Kanye was right in thought but not action. Once again Kanye is ahead of his time...
September 14, 2009
Again regardless of who has the better video I take great exception to the self righteousness of taking the moment away from Taylor. Voice your opinions later, blog about it, do a commercial about it, I dont care but dont think you have the right to do whatever you want cause you think its right. What kind of a world would this be if everyone thought this way. Relative justice would be mayhem.
September 14, 2009
Very true...
 
September 14, 2009
Yea, Kayne is for sure a jerk wad, and Gaga... Can you get uglier than sin?
 
September 14, 2009
Wow, I completely missed this! Thanks for catching me up...Kanye done lost his mind and has lost it for quite a while. AND Beyonce ended up winning Video of the Year, moron- if you were just patient you would've gotten what you wanted but, like so many people of this culture and generation- you remind me of a 2 year old who wants their cookie RIGHT NOW!!!! Kudos to the Rep. Joe Wilson shouting You Lie at President Obama analogy!
 
September 14, 2009
Yeah, that was a total dusche bag move by Kanye. Spot on wtih the Joe Wilson analogy. People need to lighten up a little.
September 14, 2009
Totally agree. I think Kanye is entitled to his point of view in fact I might even agree with him but you dont take a moment away from someone like that.
 
September 14, 2009
I'm quite sure--though I could be wrong--that if you looked up asshole in the dictionary you'd see a picture of Kanye West.
September 14, 2009
Yeah Im not sure what is wrong with the guy. He keeps doing these stupid things. If its publicity hes better off doing it when it doesnt impact others directly. I feel so bad for Taylor.
 
September 14, 2009
What is going on with everyone's newfound level of entitlement? I believe that everyone has a right to voice their opinion, but as Frank mentioned in his review, you still need to do it at the appropriate time. If even Kanye's point was valid, his message was lost due to how he chose to deliver it. Maybe I'm just turning into a cranky old man, but it's sad to see Kanye take that moment away from Taylor and the only repercussions are a half-hearted apology posted to his blog.
September 14, 2009
Exactly! Perhaps I was a bit harsh by calling Kanye an idiot but I was so outraged last night. How selfish do you have to be to ruin someones moment because you have something to say. Its not so much the interruption of the show but the disrespect towards Taylor Swift. I think Kanye values himself as an honorable man but you cant pick and chose your moments and apply your values as you see fit.
 
1
More VMA - Video Music Awards 2009 reviews
review by . September 14, 2009
We'll talk about Kanye, but I think I have to review the big video awards as a whole.  But you better believe Kanye had something to do with the rating.  I'd probably go negative if it weren't for the fact that Kanye wasn't the whole VMAs... even though he probably thinks it should be.  Aside from that, however, there was a lively show with good performances but the best moments were actually in the beginning when they gave a tribute to Michael Jackson, and when Beyonce won video …
Quick Tip by . September 14, 2009
Unbelievable...all-time low for Kanye who lost his mind when he started using Auto Tune.Just like a 2 yr old wanting their cookie RIGHT NOW!
About the reviewer
Frank Carta ()
Ranked #156
//TODO[AEM]
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
fcarta
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists