|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Parenting » Reviews » Valco Buggster » User review

Little fold, big stroller

  • Mar 10, 2010
Rating:
+4

I really love this stroller, for me it's my car stroller.  Great for shopping, the mall and other quick errands.  It has all the features of a full size stroller, but folds umbrella style.  Great recline, ample canopy with an extension to shade baby even further, decent sized basket, napper bar and the push is a DREAM!  Everyone in my family from my 5' 1" daughter to my 6' oldest son love to push this without hunching over or kicking the wheels.
It doesn't have a completely flat recline so I wouldn't recommend this for a newborn, but we didn't start using it with my little one until he was over 3 months.  The manufacturer does not allow for a car seat to be used in the stroller, but I "unofficially" used my Graco Safe Seat in it a few times for quick errands and it fit snugly inside the seat.
We have traveled with this stroller and it did exceptionally well, my only dislike is the way it locks closed.  There are 2 straps on either side of the stroller that need to thread under the canopy and lock to the opposite side with a clip.  Not the easiest thing to do with baby, carry on, and car seat all in hand at the end of the gangway.
Here in New England I'm not fond of it for outdoor use, but I really tend to prefer air tires for outdoor use and these are EVA.  The cracks and ruts in the sidewalks, the salt and sand on the ground and the not so gentle conditions here just aren't great for small EVA tires.  I did use it in the Carolinas though and loved it there.  With the included rain cover and weather boot it did a great job keeping my little one dry, comfy and warm!
The fold of this stroller has a little learning curve, although I have heard there are a few different models that have some small differences when folded.  For mine , you need to fold the belly bar down by pushing two read buttons on either side of the bar and rotating the bar down towards the front wheel.  Then there are 2 gray triggers on the handles that you pull up on, this folds the stroller forwards in half, lastly pull up on the red handle on the back, which brings the rear two wheels closer together and gives you the umbrella style fold.  To make the footprint smaller you can also pop the front wheel off with the push of a button, but I've rarely found I needed to do this.
All in all it's a great little stroller and if I didn't live in a rural area, or need to use it for older children's football games, cheering expos and other various adventures it could easily be an only stroller.
 

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
13
Thought-Provoking
13
Fun to Read
11
Well-Organized
10
Post a Comment
October 02, 2010
What kind of stroller do you like that has air tires? I live in an area where the sidewalks are very uneven and hilly. Four seasons too. Thanks!
 
March 11, 2010
I am really loving this one, but I have one question. Since it is pretty light, is the seat like a 'hammock'? I mean, does it have structure or is it a soft seat? I love my City Mini, but I'm not a fan of a soft seat that my baby slouches in. Thanks for the review!  
March 11, 2010
It's not really a hammock seat, I guess I would call it semi structured. There is definitely some support for their little bums and backs.
March 11, 2010
Thanks, that was helpful!
 
March 10, 2010
I have to keep trying. Can't get my latest Buggster to squish together, only to fold in half.
 
March 10, 2010
I have a Buggster too and used the adaptors for the Maxi Cosi Mico that are available for the TFK Buggster. They worked well!
 
1
More Valco Buggster reviews
review by . March 10, 2010
posted in Strollerland
I have a Valco Buggster and it lives in my car.  I really like it.  The wheels are nice and beefy, so you can use it over grass if you need to.  The push is nice (okay with one hand - better with two).  People always comment on it so that's kind of neat too.  I bought the bassinet and used it when my daughter was little. The bassinet was handy for around the house in the beginning too!  While Valco officially doesn't allow the use of a carseat, I bought the …
review by . February 08, 2010
posted in Strollerland
The new Joovy Kooper has been compared to the Valco Buggster. It's fair; in fact, in Oz the Joovy Kooper is known as the Valco Prism! (And the Valco Buggster is now the TFK Buggster! Clear as a dark mesh canopy window? ;)      But how close are they, really? Let's take a look:    The oval shape is certainly similar. And both have extremely wide seats. Although nothing can compare to the Buggster's astonishing 18"; certainly big enough for me to ride around in! …
review by . March 09, 2010
Valco Buggster & BOB Revolution
   I want to add my two cents on my favorite strollers.   I have had the Valco Buggster in Bubblegum pink and the BOB Revolution in Mesa Orange.   I really enjoyed the Buggster, it has an easy push, generous room for your child, corners on a dime and just plain looks really cool!   The Buggster was my "car" stroller. I always had it with me when we went places.   It has a nifty fold, kinda like an umbrella stroller but bigger. It also has …
Quick Tip by . March 09, 2010
posted in Strollerland
We love our Valco Buggster. It is so easy to maneuver and I love all the little extras it came with (raincover, sun mesh, and boot).
About the reviewer
Amanda Gorrell ()
Ranked #1128
Member Since: Mar 9, 2010
Last Login: Oct 2, 2010 01:47 AM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
kbpeysmum
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

Valco Baby creates a new class of stroller with the rollout of the Valco Buggster! The Buggster fills the space between a low-weight, small buggy and a comfortable sport stroller, giving parents one stroller that offers all of the travel conveniences of an umbrella stroller and the performance features of an all-terrain stroller. The Buggster is in a class of its own. A small, foldable stroller, it features a huge, multi-position reclining seat that makes it comfortable for the child and a three-wheel design that makes it extremely maneuverable and comfortable for the parent to push. Cool styling and fully loaded with a boot cover, zip in UV protection and rain covers and the option for an infant bassinet, the Buggster is unlike anything else on the market Features Include: -- Large under-seat storage basket -- Removable front wheel -- Easy and compact fold -- Matching bassinet available for use for newborn -- Large, rounded hood for maximum protection -- Includes: Raincover, Zip in UV protection, Boot cover -- At only 15 pounds, lightweight yet manueverable -- 55 pound maximum weight capacity
view wiki

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists