|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Retail Stores » Reviews » Walmart » User review

Walmart

A chain of large, discount retail stores.

< read all 8 reviews

Avoid Walmart at all costs!

  • Dec 15, 2008
  • by
Rating:
-5
After taking all those sociology courses that taught me to hate Walmart in college, I should know better than to shop at one, but darn it, I was really close to one, PMS-ing and intensely craving some cheese, so to Walmart I went!  Two things happened the first, and only, time I went there.

The first: When I needed help in the arts and crafts department, I asked the first employee who strolled by.  He said, "Just keep looking.  This isn't my department" and walked away.

Thanks, that was VERY helpful.

The second: I was in the fridge section looking for cheese, and there was this chick standing at the freezer next to me with a protruding, exposed muffin top.  To make matters worse, she had opened up a box of ice cream bars and was eating them with the freezer door open, and bits and pieces were dropping on to her protruding, exposed muffin top.  

Yummy!

Shopping here made me feel so... Sad, and even impoverished.  Here's the kicker: The clothes a Forever 21 are cuter AND cheaper.  And you can get way better quality food at Trader Joe's for around the same price.  For everything else, just go to Target.  There's just an overall better vibe there.  Better yet, go shop at a small business and stimulate and support your local economy.

The only time you'll ever catch me at a Walmart is when hell freezes over.  Oh, and when I'm in *gulp* middle America or the South, because that's pretty much the only store there.  Sad, but true.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
50
Thought-Provoking
28
Fun to Read
37
Well-Organized
29
Post a Comment
September 09, 2010
Fun write-up. If they're so bad though, why do so many people go there and they're making tons more money than their competition?
 
September 09, 2010
I do rarely shop at Walmart when I'm in Vallejo for little things. Hm..I think they've gotten a little better these days but not by much. :)
 
September 09, 2010
When I was young we had a saying, "Wal-Mart, Fall Apart," due to the poor quality of many of the products that Wally World sells. It still holds true. Fun review.
 
February 09, 2010
They've been in the process of turning my local Walmart into a Walmart Supercenter for a while now, and it is awful. About half of the parking lot is blocked off, another section of the parking lot was removed so that they could expand the store onto it, they completely closed off one of the entrances/exits, and all of the aisles are smaller, presumably to make room for the extra aisles that will soon be included. There are three Publix's within (literally) three lights/ten minutes driving distance of that Walmart, and there is another Walmart Supercenter about fifteen minutes from there. Not to mention that there is a health food store and about three Walgreens near there as well. As if we need ANOTHER store, much less a Walmart Supercenter! Now there will be more people coming to shop there, and fewer places to park. I swear, I think Walmart is trying to take over the world. (Sorry for the rant, but I too share your disdain for this store.) : )
 
February 09, 2010
Oh do i hate walmart's business policies. Pro-customer and anti-employee despite all those team meetings you see. I have heard that they fire employees before they reach retirement to get out of paying retirement and also they destroyed perfectly donatable clothing because they didn't get any money for it and when there are homeless people on the streets and those out of work with children.
 
September 22, 2009
I go to Walmart all the time! It's entertaining! http://peopleofwalmart.com/
 
September 22, 2009
You think that's bad?  I was recently in Trinidad, Colorado visiting a friend.  There are lots of cool small stores, but Wal-Mart is pretty much their mall!  I only WISH I was joking about that, but in a small town like Trinidad well... there isn't much else out there.  As a result most small businesses aren't doing too great as you imagine.  Sure you can get something cheap (though being a gamer and a book reader you're really not getting books or games for that much cheaper... I love how Wal-Mart lowers the price of a video game by three cents and calls it a discount).  I haven't had too many bad experiences, but I kind of like hitting the specialty stores more.
 
September 22, 2009
I didn't shop at Walmart in the States but did in Canada and China. It's true that the staff are not that great (as with many major supermarkets, except the Japanese ones!) but I still can find a lot of cheap stuff here. The key word is cheap, not service or branding ;-)
 
July 15, 2009
Sorry for the bad experience. When you go to places like this you can't be expected to be treated like you are shopping at Tiffany's. You are often dealing with teenagers that are paid barely above the minimum. If I went there I would never think to go to purchase food items anyway. I live in New York and Walmart's are very few here but I sometimes am forced to go there when I am traveling for items I may have forgotten to pack (underwear, sunscreen). I usually try to get in and out fast or if I can, I try to get what I need at CVS.
 
July 15, 2009
Funny....I used the same exact expression' "when hell freezes over" when describing the chances of me ever going to Walmart. I agree with you completely. If you really want to get upset read the book "Selling Women Short" which I have reviewed here on Lunch. The author describes how employees are treated at this company. And if you are interested in land use issues check out "Big Box Swindle" which describes how Walmart and other big box retailers gobble up huge tracts of land and receive obscene tax breaks. In his comment below DWhite is right on....support your local businesses!
 
1 2 3 Next
More Walmart reviews
review by . December 02, 2009
Slashing Prices, and Expectations
I only go to this “store” when absolutely needed and I need to take a couple of pills before I go in. Unfortunately, I needed a mini-fridge and there was no Target to be found.      The Long Beach WalMart glows. And when I say, “glow” I mean it has this sort of florescent, strip club, dive bar, feet stick to the floor, smells like BO kind of glow. If you are ever feeling really bad about your self, go to WalMart. Ten minutes in the store looking at the …
review by . December 15, 2008
Maybe that's an exaggeration..but Wal-mart stresses me out... and I won't even start to discuss how they treat employees.    OK, walking into this place is like walking into a WAREHOUSE....even though I don't think that's their intention....AND... there's ALWAYS people fighting or yelling about a product.. I mean seriously? I use to shop here when I was in college because everything was so cheap and we were poor.. but after a while, I started to feel an ulcer growing and I figured …
Quick Tip by . February 09, 2010
The cheap prices can't compensate for the rude cashiers, hassle of maneuvering around others, & lack of environmentally-friendly products.
Quick Tip by . October 12, 2009
posted in Business Matters
It's been said that if Walmart is a country, it's an even bigger trading partner than Canada & Australia combined. Holy cow!
review by . December 13, 2008
I used to go shopping with my family a lot at Wal-mart.  My grandma LOVED this place.  And really it was a very nice place to shop in the 80's and 90's.  Over time though this place has gone from bad to worse.  And sometimes I don't see how people ever shop there.  I started working for Wal-mart back in 2003.  I got hired as a cashier part time making just over $6 an hour.  It was a pay cut from my previous job, but I really needed to get out of that place …
Quick Tip by . August 20, 2009
90% of the time I have a bad shopping experience here, I try to avoid it when possible and go to Target instead.
review by . December 10, 2008
Walmart is perhaps one of the most socially irresponsible and destructive corporations to have ever graced this planet. Their ultra-low prices come at an incredibly high cost to society, as they pay nearly all of their store employees minimum wage, fail to provide benefits to most, and often lock in their employees during late-night shifts! The company is also known for blatantly discriminating against women. In addition, Walmarts are often responsible for the decline of small businesses in many …
About the reviewer
devora ()
Ranked #4
When I'm not Lunching, I'm a jeweler, and an all around, self-proclaimed web geek. My passions include social media, the interweb, technology, writing, yoga, fitness, photography, jewelry, fashion, … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
devora
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

Wal-Mart (now Walmart in its new logo) is the world's largest public corporation. It was founded in 1962 by Sam Walton as a general merchandise retail store but has since grown into large, "big-box" centers that even include grocers in some locations (known as Walmart Supercenters). The company employs more than 2,000,000 people worldwide and is headquartered in Bentonville, Arkansas. 
view wiki

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists