|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Surfboards » Reviews » Wavestorm Surfboard » User review

A Great Way to Learn How to Surf

  • Jul 28, 2008
Rating:
+3
One of the most visible newcomers to world of surfing is the Wavestorm surfboard.  It is almost impossible now to paddle out to any waves in Southern California without seeing a handful of these littered throughout the water.  Most of this recent popularity has to be attributed to the $99 price point that several "beach adjacent" Costco's are selling the board at.  Very little changes on this board from year-to-year, but aficionado's of the WaveStorm will notice that racing stripes were added to the top of the 2008 model.  I do not have enough research to determine how this might affect performance.
I purchased the board in August of September 2007 as a way to "test the waters" to see how interested I would be in learning to surf.  Now, almost a year later, and approximately 3 trips to the beach per week, I'm a believer.  I've thoroughly enjoyed using this board, and I found that with a little perseverance, I could get very comfortable on this board.

Depending on your height and weight, this board will respond differently for different users.  I am 6' 2" and weigh about 165 pounds, and the board seems to be a pretty good match for me.  The board paddles pretty easily, and I've been able to get enough speed to ride it in waves anywhere from 1-4 feet -- I haven't had many opportunities for waves larger than that.

Since this is my first board, I haven't had much opportunity to compare this to other boards, so I'll admit that there could be an entire experience I could be missing by not using a "real" board, but I've definitely gotten my $99 worth of enjoyment out of this board.  Speaking of which, this is also a good learning board as you can beat it up pretty good without worrying too much about long term effects (on it or your wallet).  I've definitely beat the crap out of this board, and I'd much rather learn how to "care" for a board by learning on a $99 board rather than a $400 board.  Based on the number of times I've dropped the board, crashed it into a low-riding garage door, or simply bailed out on a larger wave, this board can take some punishment. 

A year later, I believe I'm ready to move on and buy myself a "real" board, but I wouldn't have made it this far without the help of my Wavestorm.
Wavestorm at Bolsa Chica

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
41
Thought-Provoking
11
Fun to Read
16
Well-Organized
11
Post a Comment
August 12, 2009
Great review of this board. I myself am an owner of this board. I've surfed for about 6 months. Now that I'm getting better I'm reaching the limitations of what's possible with this board. But, this is hands down the best beginners surfboard I've come across. I snapped one in half and Costco gave me a new one. Where you will reach your limitations with this thing is when you want to start getting a bit more dynamic such as doing turns, and stuff like that. I recently tried out a fiberglass board, and it was like switching from an America to a Ferrari
August 12, 2009
Thanks for the feedback. Costco is great. Have you seen JR's Costco Review?  I know what you mean about switching to a "real board".  At about the 1 year mark, I picked up at 6' 10" JC Equalizer It took me a while to get used to the shorter length, but I'm really loving it now.  Keep us posted if you end up getting a new board!
 
April 03, 2009
Have you seen the Wavestorm shortboard? It's probably a little short for you and me at 6'0", but I think I'm going to pick one up. Now, if I could only get my arse into the water, I could write a review on it.
 
April 01, 2009
Wow so with this and the  @HealthyRache review on O'Neill wetsuits - surfers are set! I have to at least try it-surfing that is.
 
August 14, 2008
I'd been wondering about those Costco boards. This was helpful. Thanks!
 
August 02, 2008
As someone who surfs and is asked constantly from friends "What kind of board should I start with?" will now recommend this surfboard to anyone who is looking to learn how to surf.
 
July 29, 2008
thanks for the info...
 
July 29, 2008
nice written review
 
1
More Wavestorm Surfboard reviews
review by . August 12, 2009
I started my surfing career about 6 months ago when I was in graduate school and living in Brazil. I pretty much sucked, but once I stood up on the board it was all over. Once I got back to the US, the first thing I purchased was my wavestrom longbooard. This thing will only cost you 99 bucks at Costco. Most of the surf schools use them to teach.       You will probably get at least a year out of it, depending on how much you surf. I surf alot, almost every day of the week. This …
Quick Tip by . September 09, 2009
surf shops and real surfers must be so bummed with this Costco surfboard. i have 2 myself and i see them EVERYWHERE, they r taking over!
review by . July 31, 2008
Sugie-boards rock (surf + boogie = sugie). If you are new to surfing or in my case haven't been out in years and want to ease into it, the sugie-board is a great way to get started. The Wavestorm sugies are very affordable, in fact I picked mine up at Costco for less than $100. They are a little more buoyant than regular boards and are a little harder to paddle out but they make getting up and riding waves a lot easier for beginners. Because of the length and buoyancy of the boards you cant really …
About the reviewer
Andrew ()
Ranked #27
I'm a technology early adopter. I thoroughly enjoy geeking out with the latest hardware, software and electronics. I probably have as much fun setting up, tweaking, and configuring systems as I do actually … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
TeamAWAC
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

The Wavestorm Surfboard is an 8' foam surfboard, commonly sold by large membership based warehouses such as Costco.  The Wavestorm comes with 3 fins, a leash, and grip pad.
view wiki

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists