|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Politics » Reviews » Wedding of Prince William & Princess Catherine » User review

Royal Wedding

The April 29, 2011, wedding of Prince William and Princess Catherine.

< read all 9 reviews

Counting down to the wedding of the decade (& it's not mine)!

  • Apr 22, 2011
Rating:
+5
Well, the European royal families haven't had a more looking forward to wedding of the decade since the last century when the parents of the bridegroom (ie. Prince Charles & Diana) was wedded. Yes, Prince Frederik of Denmark, Prince Haakon of Norway and Princess Victoria got their fair share of royal weddings in the last few years. Nonetheless, this is one wedding that those interested in the royal family will be interested to see (either in person visiting the UK or watching it on TV). 



This reminded me of the many Chinese weddings I had attended. It's actually like a show put up for everyone's sake, other than the couple. Some couples enjoy the attention, some don't but still obligated to put up with it for their parents' sake. Now, one would wonder how this couple feel? Judging from the privacy, it can be inferred that they both prefer the wedding in private (for themselves and their respective family than for the country and the people who adore them). Time certainly flies, it doesn't seem that long ago Prince William was merely a toddler! Now, he's moving into another phase of his life.

What is interesting to me is the speculation around about the bride being pregnant! That's good news and one that if it's true is translating to a change in the law about the heir to the throne. If it's a princess, she'll have a right to the throne ahead of the prince (traditionally, boy has priority). The order of birth is of utmost important now. And... the talk is that it's going to be a princess! Now, that's something I'll look forward to. Princess is most adorable! :-)

Before that happens, it'd be interesting to see the bridal gown! I think every woman loves the wedding gown. With Kate being tall and slim, she'd look pretty and regal, I'm sure. Yet, it'd be a tough comparison (and many people would do it regardless) when the images of Diana in her wedding gown popped up. Those of us who are old enough had seen that fairy tale wedding of the century and many of us had loved Diana in all her innocence. She certainly had been one special princess! Ok, enough about Diana and let's focus on the bride in this wedding.



She's the star of the day, that day being a week from today, Apr. 29, 2011. Here are the sites you may want to check out if you're interested in following the progress and counting down to that very day:

There will be Live Streaming on this site: http://www.officialroyalwedding2011.org/
If you're interested to shop for souvenir, this is the site: http://www.theroyalweddingwilliamkate.com/

I took a peep and found even iPhone cases other than the normal china, coins, key chains and t-shirts are offered for sale! (Do know that most of these are Made in China products!)

I thought the Royal Charitable Gift Fund is one of the greatest idea! If you're really interested in giving, click here.



Some tip-off about the wedding:
  • 1900 invitations had been sent to friends and family.
  • There will be 2 cakes. The fruity traditional cake is designed by Fiona Cairns. The bride has asked for 16 different blooms & types of foliage on the cake (each with different symbolic meaning). Prince William's childhood favorite Chocolate Biscuit cake will be the other cake. 2 wedding cakes?!
  • Prince William will be the last one to see the wedding gown (after an entire world had seen it!). Rumors had it that the gown is designed by Sophie Cranston earlier but now the Daily Mail claimed Kate Middleton designed it herself!
  • The Wedding will be stream live on Youtube (local time, 11 am). It is estimated that there will be 4 hours of filming.

So, see all of you there, on YouTube (unless you're one of those who are lucky enough to be invited to the actual wedding at Westminster Abbey) ;-)


PS: I'm rating it a +5 because essentially I love weddings. It doesn't matter whose, wedding is a cause for celebrations :-)


(A Lunch Featured Review)
Counting down to the wedding of the decade! Counting down to the wedding of the decade! Counting down to the wedding of the decade! Counting down to the wedding of the decade! Counting down to the wedding of the decade! Counting down to the wedding of the decade!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
21
Thought-Provoking
15
Fun to Read
15
Well-Organized
18
Post a Comment
April 22, 2011
I'll be counting down as well and have plans to celebrate this wedding with friends! Oh, and I can't wait to see the dress either :P
April 25, 2011
Cool! It's going to be one BIG weekend with the Labor Day holiday too (well, over here in HK, China, Singapore & Australia)!
 
1
More Wedding of Prince William & Pr... reviews
review by . April 29, 2011
posted in Images
Love Is In The Air!
A university romance, 16 years of dating and after the ups and downs of any relationship, they are finally tying the knot! It is a day of joy as the world looks on! And starting from 8 am local time, the broadcast begins! 3 hours to go before the actual event and I'm penning this down as it is progressing.      10000 media reporters, 1900 guests, 180 countries broadcasting and countless smitten spectators. A marathon broadcast covering the "legacy of Diana". When …
review by . April 30, 2011
A Pithy Look at the Royal Wedding
If the theatricality and utter ridiculousness of the hats and fascinators parading into Westminster Abbey didn’t force you to watch the royal wedding, surely the pomp, circumstance and theatricality of the whole event did. Still didn’t bite? Fine, then I shall be forced to regale you with all of the dirty details of the Royal Wedding.       Since I know very little about the social or royal elite of Britain I have no idea who most of the homely women in the floral …
Quick Tip by . April 25, 2011
I'm happy for them both and wish them the best, but part of me still wonders exactly what the point is of having a "royal" family in these modern times???
Quick Tip by . April 29, 2011
posted in People Power
Caption
Absolutely fabulous and what a beautiful couple with a most exquisite wedding gown! Everything is perfect!
Quick Tip by . December 16, 2010
Kate Middleton is just so damn beautiful. Prince William is getting a stunner to hang on his arm, and I hope she can use her celebrity for good.
About the reviewer
Sharrie ()
Ranked #3
I'm a traveler at heart & have been nicknamed Travel Queen by friends & colleagues alike. Traveling has been my life passion for the last decade or so. As we enter a new decade, I'm excited … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Sharrie
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

On 16 November 2010, it was announced that Prince William of Wales, second in line to the throne in 16 Commonwealth countries, and his girlfriend, Kate Middleton, will marry in 2011. Both William and Kate, who first met in 2001 while studying at the University of St Andrews in Scotland, were 28 years old at the time of the engagement. The wedding ceremony is due to take place at Westminster Abbey on 29 April 2011, after which the couple intend to live on the Isle of Anglesey in Wales, where Prince William is based as an RAF Search and Rescue pilot.

The Prince and his long-time girlfriend, Kate Middleton, became engaged in October 2010 while on a private holiday in Kenya. Middleton was given the engagement ring that originally belonged to Diana, Princess of Wales —an 18 carat white gold ring with large oval sapphire and 14 round diamonds.

On 16 November 2010, Clarence House, the office of the Prince of Wales, announced that Prince William would marry Middleton "in the spring or summer of 2011, in London". The Prince of Wales, on a visit to Poundbury, Dorchester, said he is "obviously thrilled". The confirmation of the announcement explained that Queen Elizabeth II was happy for the couple.

The venue has not yet been announced. On the issue of whether the wedding would be marked in the United Kingdom by an extra bank holiday, a Downing Street spokesperson stated on the day after the announcement that "Those sorts of discussions are yet to be ...
view wiki

Tags

Politics, Uk, Weddings, United Kingdom, Britain, Royalty, Kate Middleton, Princess Catherine, Royal Weddings, Prince William

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists