|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Events » Reviews » White House Gatecrash 2009 » User review

White House Gatecrash 2009

An incident that occurred when two individuals gate-crashed the state dinner between President Obama and Indian Prime Minister Manmohan Singh held on November 24, 2009.

< read all 10 reviews

"Two Guys Walk Into a White House..."

  • Nov 29, 2009
  • by
Rating:
-5
Within the entire world, there are few compounds that are supposed to be more secure than the White House.  I say "supposed" to be because for the most part the very idea that Michaele and Tareq Salahi were able to slip into the White House so easily.  Here's the deal for those of you who have been living under a rock: Obama hosted a state dinner for the Prime Minister of India and these two somehow crashed the party.  That's right, the most secure compound in the world was crashed by two media hungry people who somehow managed to slip in past security.   How the hell did they manage to do that?

Now, here's the thing.  The media keeps giving this story attention, but I think the reason it needs to get attention is to help people figure just how the hell this could've happened.  Not only did the to get into the compound, they manage to shake hands with the President and take a picture with Joe Biden.  The two are reality TV stars, for the most part.  It's not the first time they've done stuff like this.  But perhaps this time they went a teeny tiny bit too far.

So the big question, of course, is how they managed to get into this state dinner in the first place.  It was an invite only event.  The two did not have an invitation (though they seriously got ready for it as if they knew they did, and they managed to lie to a whole mess of people).  There's actually something quite disturbing about that when you think about it.  In their defense they weren't radical political assassins or anything like that... but imagine if they were that.  Imagine, if you will, that these guys had planned something a bit more dangerous.

Well, they weren't dangerous and they planned nothing dangerous.  A harmless party crash for the most part.  It just brings into question how they were able to bypass security to get there. Or, to be more specific, why security was lax enough to let them through.

But let's not make too big a deal out of this.  I'm sure they'll probably be charged with something... but these guys were pretty harmless.  I know there's a principle here that we're supposed to abide by, and abide by it I will.  I don't want to be repsonible for stoking fear into those who were thinking, "Dear God what if they were dangerous!"  We covered that.  Let's focus on the fact, however, that they weren't dangerous and that neither the President or anyone in the Whitehouse was not in any real danger.  What this is really about is the idea that when you're guarding the White House... uh, shouldn't you refrain from making these kind of big mistakes?

I'm sure the media will have a field day with this.  I'm not too concerned if they do, for the most part.  If you want to know other news and whatnot... you've all got a computer right at your fingertips.  If you can get on Lunch.com you can search for other News Stories.  So I'm not too bothered by the media attention.  I'm actually more bothered about the fact that the two were able to get in so easily.  We're not talking about a break in to your next door neighbors house, here... we're talking about a national leader.  Someone, by the way, who has enough crazy people out there who want him dead.  This is quite embarrassing for the Secret Service and, if I may say so, for America. 

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
21
Thought-Provoking
22
Fun to Read
22
Well-Organized
21
Post a Comment
December 01, 2009
I still can't believe this! Thank for your great review.
 
November 30, 2009
Great review, Sean! I'm actually working on a review of this, too, and you beat me to the chase :P Yes, very, very embarrassing for all those involved and I, too, am troubled by how these two managed to sneak in.
 
November 29, 2009
Good review, Sean....No.....this is not a normal party crash....this crash was on our White House. And I am disturbed at how the media is handling it....in typical style.....ha, ha, ha, let's roll with it and make a lot of money on this story. The question that does remain though.....how in the heck did they get past security in the first place. It will be interesting to see how it is ultimately played out in the media and also what the White House investigation determines.
 
November 29, 2009
It provokes a great deal of concern when one of the supposed most secure places in the country can get infiltrated like that. It just proves that any place can be infiltrated no matter how secure we try to make a spot. The Secret Service needs to re-evaluate their measures.
 
November 29, 2009
Sean....Nice article. You are correct. This is outrageous and someone's head should roll here. It is incomprehensible to me how this could even happen. It will be interesting to see how this all plays out in the coming weeks.
 
1
More White House Gatecrash 2009 reviews
review by . November 30, 2009
posted in That's Beat
State Dinner Crashers: Taking Attention Whoring to a Whole New Level
As if we couldn't end 2009 without yet another gates scandal, November brought us Gatecrash 2009 to go along with Gates-gate and Kanye-gate (it should be noted that I'm a bit disappointed that "gate" was used as a prefix instead of a suffix this time).  Though all of the gates are really unfortunate, the factors surrounding Gatecrash makes it an expecially cringeworthy gate for me, namely for the fact that the it involves the President, and the fact that the individuals who instigated …
review by . December 01, 2009
Does anyone really think the whole Kanye-Taylor debacle was spur of the moment? Kanye had nothing to lose (he's already the voice of this generation), while Taylor had so much more to gain (SNL host, Band Hero spokesperson, one of NBC's people of the year, etc.). If it was all a set-up, it worked out perfectly. The media gobbled it up, people had something funny to talk about, and those two had the last laugh.       While attention whoring is incredibly selfish and causes …
review by . December 09, 2009
   Does anyone remember the film Enter the Dragon? In the movie Brue Lee slips by the bad guy's guards to get to places on the island he shouldn't be. What did the bad guy do? He didn't complain about Lee, instead he made the guards fight Bolo to the death.      Why isn't the White House learning from this film?  i.e. fix the security, stop publically complaining about the couple and move on.
Quick Tip by . December 03, 2009
I am SO over these two...so we're making them famous for being jackasses?!? Enough. Oh yeah, and thumbs up to Homeland Security...great job!
Quick Tip by . December 01, 2009
It amazes me how much media attention BS like this gets when there are so many more important things happening in the World!
Quick Tip by . December 01, 2009
T-Swizzle for president!
Quick Tip by . November 29, 2009
Just goes to show that all the security screenings at the airport is a sham! On top of that, it's a shame for America I guess.
Quick Tip by . November 29, 2009
Reality TV is way over the top...worse than the bad taste talk shows of the 80s. The publicity hounds never cease to get attention.
Quick Tip by . November 29, 2009
As if we could leave 2009 without yet another fame & attention-seeking reality TV personality incident.
About the reviewer
Sean A. Rhodes ()
Ranked #7
I'm a more analytical person. I believe that the purpose of the review is not for me to give you my opinion but for me to give you an analysis and help you decide if you want to get it. If you reading … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Sean_Rhodes
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

The 2009 White House gatecrash incident occurred when Michaele and Tareq Salahi, from Virginia, gate-crashed the state dinner between President Barack Obama and Indian Prime Minister Manmohan Singh held on Tuesday, November 24, 2009.

According to media reports, "the first the White House security detail knew of their blunder in allowing them into Tuesday's event was when the couple posted photographs from the dinner on their Facebook page." Invited guest Brian Williams, anchor of the NBC Nightly News, observed the Salahis' SUV being turned down from the East Gate entrance. After that, he saw the Salahis and crew leave their vehicle and walk to the White House. They entered through two security checkpoints; only one of them checked for photo ID. The White House on November 27 released photos of the couple posing with President Obama, Vice President Joe Biden, and Chief of Staff Rahm Emmanuel. Secret Service director Mark Sullivan issued a statement on November 27 saying that the Secret Service was "deeply concerned and embarrassed by the circumstances surrounding the State Dinner". Sullivan's statement also pointed out that "the preliminary findings of our internal investigation have determined established protocols were not followed at an initial checkpoint, verifying that two individuals were on the guest list."

Representative Peter T. King, Republican of New York, wrote a letter to the House Committee on Homeland Security requesting an ...
view wiki

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists