|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Events » Reviews » White House Gatecrash 2009 » User review

White House Gatecrash 2009

An incident that occurred when two individuals gate-crashed the state dinner between President Obama and Indian Prime Minister Manmohan Singh held on November 24, 2009.

< read all 10 reviews

Humanity is just fine.

  • Dec 1, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+1
Does anyone really think the whole Kanye-Taylor debacle was spur of the moment? Kanye had nothing to lose (he's already the voice of this generation), while Taylor had so much more to gain (SNL host, Band Hero spokesperson, one of NBC's people of the year, etc.). If it was all a set-up, it worked out perfectly. The media gobbled it up, people had something funny to talk about, and those two had the last laugh. 

While attention whoring is incredibly selfish and causes many looks of disdain, it's what humans do, even if not all of us are as bullheaded as the ridiculous D.C. couple. Politicians attempt to outdo each other and win votes through owning the spotlight. Kids cry to pressure you into buying toys. And what about during your job search? Didn't you try to leave a big impression on your interviewer? 

Whether or not crashing a state dinner was a smart move, they have our complete attention. We're all just a bunch of haters in the Salahi's world... not that I'm trying to be a cynic or anything :] 

P.S. I was going to end with a "Imma let you finish" joke, but relented at the last moment.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
3
Thought-Provoking
5
Fun to Read
8
Well-Organized
4
Post a Comment
December 08, 2009
Thanks for sharing, Henry.  You've got an interesting take on this.  Well, I, for one, think that Kanye-gate was spur of the moment.  I agree with you, though, that if this was a set up, it worked out.  Kanye shocked, and Taylor got more publicity.  Plus, it created the hilarious "Imma let you finish, but..." meme that I wrote about in my Kanye-gate review.

Indeed the Salahis captured our attention, but I'm sure it's not the kind of attention that they wanted.  And another aspect of this case to look at is the security at the White House.  It's scary how two people weasled their way in and got that close to the pres!
 
1
More White House Gatecrash 2009 reviews
review by . November 30, 2009
posted in That's Beat
State Dinner Crashers: Taking Attention Whoring to a Whole New Level
As if we couldn't end 2009 without yet another gates scandal, November brought us Gatecrash 2009 to go along with Gates-gate and Kanye-gate (it should be noted that I'm a bit disappointed that "gate" was used as a prefix instead of a suffix this time).  Though all of the gates are really unfortunate, the factors surrounding Gatecrash makes it an expecially cringeworthy gate for me, namely for the fact that the it involves the President, and the fact that the individuals who instigated …
review by . November 29, 2009
Within the entire world, there are few compounds that are supposed to be more secure than the White House.  I say "supposed" to be because for the most part the very idea that Michaele and Tareq Salahi were able to slip into the White House so easily.  Here's the deal for those of you who have been living under a rock: Obama hosted a state dinner for the Prime Minister of India and these two somehow crashed the party.  That's right, the most secure compound in the world …
review by . December 09, 2009
   Does anyone remember the film Enter the Dragon? In the movie Brue Lee slips by the bad guy's guards to get to places on the island he shouldn't be. What did the bad guy do? He didn't complain about Lee, instead he made the guards fight Bolo to the death.      Why isn't the White House learning from this film?  i.e. fix the security, stop publically complaining about the couple and move on.
Quick Tip by . December 03, 2009
I am SO over these two...so we're making them famous for being jackasses?!? Enough. Oh yeah, and thumbs up to Homeland Security...great job!
Quick Tip by . December 01, 2009
It amazes me how much media attention BS like this gets when there are so many more important things happening in the World!
Quick Tip by . December 01, 2009
T-Swizzle for president!
Quick Tip by . November 29, 2009
Just goes to show that all the security screenings at the airport is a sham! On top of that, it's a shame for America I guess.
Quick Tip by . November 29, 2009
Reality TV is way over the top...worse than the bad taste talk shows of the 80s. The publicity hounds never cease to get attention.
Quick Tip by . November 29, 2009
As if we could leave 2009 without yet another fame & attention-seeking reality TV personality incident.
About the reviewer
Henry Wang ()
Ranked #2030
I'm a college student that enjoys tennis, photography, and Kanye-isms.    <- I'm second from the right, if you were wondering.
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
henrywang
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
Recent reviews by henrywang
About this topic

Wiki

The 2009 White House gatecrash incident occurred when Michaele and Tareq Salahi, from Virginia, gate-crashed the state dinner between President Barack Obama and Indian Prime Minister Manmohan Singh held on Tuesday, November 24, 2009.

According to media reports, "the first the White House security detail knew of their blunder in allowing them into Tuesday's event was when the couple posted photographs from the dinner on their Facebook page." Invited guest Brian Williams, anchor of the NBC Nightly News, observed the Salahis' SUV being turned down from the East Gate entrance. After that, he saw the Salahis and crew leave their vehicle and walk to the White House. They entered through two security checkpoints; only one of them checked for photo ID. The White House on November 27 released photos of the couple posing with President Obama, Vice President Joe Biden, and Chief of Staff Rahm Emmanuel. Secret Service director Mark Sullivan issued a statement on November 27 saying that the Secret Service was "deeply concerned and embarrassed by the circumstances surrounding the State Dinner". Sullivan's statement also pointed out that "the preliminary findings of our internal investigation have determined established protocols were not followed at an initial checkpoint, verifying that two individuals were on the guest list."

Representative Peter T. King, Republican of New York, wrote a letter to the House Committee on Homeland Security requesting an ...
view wiki

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists