|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Reviews » Reviews » Why Post Reviews in Lunch.com? » User review

Why Post Reviews in Lunch.com?

A Personal Analysis of the Site's Reviewing Format

< read all 5 reviews

"Why? Cause Lunch.com is that open ended site that includes talk from favorite sodas to the news."

  • Sep 22, 2010
Rating:
+5
Many times I have often gone and looked for where I can find information on something I was looking for.  Wikipedia is usually my first stop but when I want to know if something is good or not, a review if it were.  Lunch.com has been a good place to go.

There are many review sites for things like food, toys, so on and so forth and fan sites usually don't cut it, especially fanboy sites where they think everything is great.  The official site and most wiki's don't give opinions often other then citing criticisms of other professional critics.

What if your looking for something obscure or small or in the mainstream and the popular I have found that it is lunch.com that has it and this is one of the best ways to attract new members.  When you have a site that has that ability to make things workable for adding topics and finding those topics your looking for that someone has talked about, it makes it an easy choice to bring others aboard as that best marketable trait, that thing that people will come to the site for and that other sites don't offer it.

As an example from my own reviewing here, I have talked about things from famous Hollywood movies to even the kind of burgers you can get at fast food restaurants.  Personal electronics can be talked about, cereal, artists, historical figures and more can be talked about.

So, "Why post reviews in lunch.com?" 

1.  It's a fun way to be informative and let people know what you think in relation to what someones perceived notions of something might be.

2.  This is the big one....It's fun.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
9
Thought-Provoking
9
Fun to Read
9
Well-Organized
9
Post a Comment
January 06, 2011
agreed. Fun write up, John!
January 09, 2011
After reading the comment below, I don't think unhelpful vote buttons should be returned. You can just ignore a review when you don't like it or if you feel strongly about your disagreement with it, then make a friendly disagreeing comment. Some people do abuse that button and I think building more friendly relationships is the key/mission of  this site.

IMHO and observation; It is funny those who want the unhelpful buttons back are usually the ones who like to create heated arguements in amazon and then once you do engage them in discussion or do  the same to them (while catching them do stupid things), they block you, change their screen name, delete your friendly comment why you disagreed and when you point out their review mistakes nicely etc. People like this are much like zealots; listen to what they say but no, you cannot say anything back. (oh, these trolls in amazon call me names too LOL!) Sorry, that was my overall observations in amazon. It actually wasn't so bad with me but I have seen other people get really flamed.

Also, the problem with the unhelpful buttons are as with amazon, someone who disagrees or just want to sabotage the review can hide behind them. The only way to shut them out is to fight fire with fire and that is an effort by itself, a waste of time. Lunch will have to police such things and I think they have better things to do than to watch such things.

UNHELPFUL Buttons are more trouble than they're worth.

One issue I do see in this site though is it seems like the people who read my reviews are usually the same ones. Hard to encourage more interaction.

There, I've said my piece why unhelpful votes shouldn't be reinstated in the site.
January 10, 2011
but I do think write ups that are a hate speech deserve something harsher than an unhelpful vote. They need to be reported.
January 10, 2011
I hope no one thinks some of my reviews are hate speech. Like My Family Guy and Episode II reviews. Those are pretty hateful.
January 10, 2011
apparently someone did an anti-dianetics book review (it was praised by others) and Scotman thought it was hate speech. That's why he brought it up....
January 11, 2011
What is anti-dianetics? Where was this book review posted? I missed it somehow.
January 11, 2011
It was a book whose writings were anti-dianetics. Scotman won't tell me where it was anymore. The review was well-written and praised by many I was told.
January 11, 2011
Hm. I would like to read it now. Maybe I will ask him. I want to make sure it really wasn't a "hate review," especially if it was in my community. Never wrong to be safe than sorry. Plus, if it turns out to be just a well-written review, no harm no foul. Plus, I can comment on it and leave some praise. I'll let you know if I get a link.
January 13, 2011
well, as I understand, the reviewer was not anti-dianetics, he was merely reviewing the book that Scotman thinks is filled with hate speech (I cannot say anything about this, since I haven't read the book); but IMHO, it is not hate speech if one is just against a belief or practice, but again, I haven't read this book (I doubt Scotman have either) but it has been getting high marks as i can remembers before.

 I think anyone has a right to read whatever they want and review whatever they want. It was a great review (I was told by Scotman that it was being praised) but Scotman gets excited when he views any opposing opinions (book or any published medium) when it comes to dianetics. You should see the comments he left whenever someone wrote a positive review about any material that opposes dianetics, he has a right to express his opinion (I appreciate his passion), but people can review how they want and be honest how they feel.

The reviewer was not doing any hate speech (as he told me) but perhaps he liked what the book was all about--remember, I know Scotman...and I respect his dianetics stance but sometimes, one needs to step back and read what the review is REALLY all about before one engages in flame wars; been there too often and I don't want to deal with it.

Everyone can review anything however they want, as long as they keep to a respectful manner: "I may not agree with what you say, but I will defend your right to say it to the death." To make things short, his old nemesis showed up in this site, not sure....someone with a murphy or something name.
January 13, 2011
Well, thanks for the additional information. It might remain a mystery if I don't get a response from James as to where the book review was located. I haven't checked the site for a while, so I'm browsing through some things now. :)
 
September 26, 2010
Thanks so much for sharing your take on this topic, John! Hearing member feedback like this makes me :) You're a model Luncher and I'm glad to see that you're taking full advantage of, and digging so many of Lunch's features!
September 27, 2010
Thank you Devora. Finally joined some more communities here and doing more writing.
January 06, 2011
hey, Debbie, perhaps you'd like to chime in on a comment about unhelpful votes here? Someone brought up a comment about it under this write up.
 
1
More Why Post Reviews in Lunch.com? reviews
review by . August 08, 2010
Nearly Unbeatable Reviewing Format...'Nuff Said.
Posting reviews on stuff…or mostly in my case, posting movie reviews in one site. Well, I have been writing movie reviews since 2005; mostly I was motivated because I wanted to promote Asian cinema; then I branched out to graphic novels, mainstream movies, foreign film and among other things. It is tricky to choose the best site to post your reviews; I have reviewed in amazon (I am a non-regular there since the end of 2009) and still occasionally review in amazon, Epinions.com and HkFlix.com …
review by . June 28, 2011
Because Lunch is Awesome. Thats why
Unlike most review sites out there on Lunch you can post reviews on ANY topic from the design of a certain Beer can to the way the government handles certain situations, from the best tasting juices to the grossest foods if you can name it you can review it. Not only Reviews but you can read and create Lists on a variety of topics. Like any good website there are a large variety of people either like minded or not to talk to and a large number of communities to join. Cant …
Quick Tip by . September 12, 2013
Before I said it has a 'nearly unbeatable' reviewing format....and while this MAY still be true, it isn't as well maintained as before these days. Glitches are all over, and takes longer for it to get fixed. I think someone should communicate if they are doing something in the background. Topics taken from "Lunch This" can't have topic photos uploaded for some reason. ...and it is harder to include photos in reviews. Hm....
Quick Tip by . September 22, 2010
For the same reason I mentioned before. When you can look up any and everything on lunch and find someone with an opinion on it.
About the reviewer
John Nelson ()
Ranked #8
Born in Wausau Wisconsin. Move at an early age to Ventura California and lived for 8 years. Growing up in a big city landscape didn't prepare me for my next move: Archbold Ohio with a population of … more
About this topic
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists