|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Iphone 3g Cases » Reviews » ZAGG invisibleSHIELD Mobile Phone Cover » User review

An iPhone Cover So Good, It's Like Your iPhone's Wearing Nothing At All!

  • Nov 2, 2009
  • by
  • posted in iApps
Rating:
+5
Like an expecting mommy nesting and preparing for the arrival of her baby, I, as someone who was soon to be eligible for a mobile phone upgrade, prepared for the arrival of my very own baby, the iPhone 3GS, by doing a bit of research on iPhone accessories, including a case to protect it from scratches.

Enter ZAGG's invisibleSHIELD iPhone cover.  I Googled "best iphone cover" and came across several forums.  A few folks recommended ZAGG.  On their website, there was a video of the cover being scratched by keys and on eBay, sellers posted pictures of it being pressed onto pens and even knives (totally reminds me of those Tony Little informercials where he rides a motorcycle over pillows to show how durable they are).  They also mentioned that this was the same military grade material used to protect chopper wings.  Wow.

I was a bit skeptical over all these ridiculous demonstrations, and this wasn't exactly the type of cover that I was looking for  since I was initially looking for something as drop-proof as possible, so I consulted my buddy @chriscut, aka Mr. I've-Gotten-The-Last-Three-Top-of-The-Line-iPhones-the-Day-They-Were-Released, for suggestions.  His first answer was, "ZAGG", so I was sold.  He recommended that I get the full body case at Best Buy and have them install it for me for an extra $12 since it was apparently a pain in the neck to do.

I ended up buying it online after watching a couple Youtube videos and deciding that the installation was was a feasible task that I could tackle.  What arrived in the kit were die cut stickers for the front and the back, a mini squeegee and the application fluid.  I turned off my iPhone before applying it because of the application fluid.  Once I started applying, I could see why @chriscut paid someone else to do it; it took me half an hour to apply!  10 minutes for the front, and 20 minutes for the back and the sides. 

I kept my cellphone off for the next several hours to let the application fluid dried.  It looked pretty terrible right after I applied it, but after it dried, I was really proud of myself for the near perfect application.  It really looks like there's no cover on it at all!  I've had it for a few weeks now and it still looks great.

I totally recommend this cover for all iPhone users.  I applied the ZAGG full body shield even though I had planned on using another cover on top of it.  For iPhone users who have silicon cases or hard cases, I would still recommend at least getting the front piece to protect the glass.  I should add that this supposedly indestructible cover has a lifetime warranty, so if it ever gets scratched or damaged in some way, ZAGG will replace it.  I'm holding them to it, even though it doesn't look like I'll be taking advantage of that anytime soon!  They'll keep your iPhone looking pretty and scratch-free for a long time.
An iPhone Cover So Good, It's Like Your iPhone's Wearing Nothing At All!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
30
Thought-Provoking
29
Fun to Read
25
Well-Organized
25
Post a Comment
February 08, 2011
Good title :) Among other things in this solid review :)
February 08, 2011
Thank ya! Do you know what inspired my review title? :P
February 08, 2011
um, I feel like I should, but the origin escapes me. What was it?
February 08, 2011
Oh wait, you don't watch The Simpsons :P It's an episode where the Simpsons and the Flanders go skiing and Ned is wearing some super tight ski pants that show off his tush, to which he remarks, "It feels like I'm wearing nothing at all!", which echos in Homer's head, to which Homer mutters to himself, "Stupid sexy Flanders". I know, I like The Simpsons a little too much :P
 
November 22, 2010
I'm about as happy as I could be with the Impact case. Carrying around a slippery, glass-fronted device, I was primarily looking for a case that would provide good energy dissipation in the inevitable event that I drop-kick it across a room when fumbling for keys. As such, an unyielding hardshell case just wasn't ideal. The fitment, bracing, and silicone material of the Impact are a well-thought-out means of limiting shock intensity (although I thankfully haven't tested it to any considerable extent). The Impact fits the phone snugly, provides a good textured grip for the hand, and doesn't drown out the mic and earpiece like poorly-fitted units. All slides and buttons are easily accessible - perhaps even more so than without case since my hand isn't slipping all over the glossy shell. Relatedly, the Impact adds very little size to the phone and weighs next to nothing. The included screen protector works great too - I'd heard of rainbow refractions and a slightly-milky appearance, but cleaning the surface well beforehand and working carefully resulted in a crystal-clear application. Can't tell it's even in place. No complaints on that front.
February 08, 2011
Awesome, Teluu!  You should post this comment as a review for the Otterbox Impact topic.  I bet other iPhone users will appreciate it! :)
 
August 04, 2010
I don't even have AT&T but I enjoyed this review; sounds scary to do this to your "baby." What happens with, those darned Apple products, you have to replace the battery?
August 04, 2010
Scary, but necessary. I guess it's like giving your baby a tetanus shot! :P I've had this for almost a year now and I haven't had to replace the battery yet, though some very, very heavy users may have to bring it to Apple to get a replacement battery. What kind of phone do you have now? Now that I have the iPhone, I don't think I could ever live without it!
August 04, 2010
I'm waiting for a Droid X, my first smartphone. I hate phoning but my wife bribed me so she can text me! And my iPod gave the sad icon last weekend, and I was eligible for an upgrade from Verizon, I need the Net on the road for work, and her hand-me-down BlackBerry was too small for my fingers and eyes. So, I am taking the plunge. I will post a review, if tech-challenged, soon on my new Droid X. For me, music takes priority! Enjoy your immunized baby.
 
March 11, 2010
All these work just for an iPhone? Wow! What would you be doing on the iPad? ;-)
July 24, 2010
There's actually one for iPad, too, that actually came out before the iPad did, and you bet I'll be getting a ZAGG for my iPad when I get one! ;D
 
December 09, 2009
I had one of these on my BlackBerry. It was great! and the best part was the lifetime warranty!
December 09, 2009
Yes, these things are awesome! Did you ever have to take advantage of that lifetime warranty?
December 09, 2009
No actually I never did. I ended up getting an iPhone so they wouldn't give me an iPhone cover for free.
 
December 04, 2009
You're making me want the iphone and that phone cover!
December 09, 2009
Do it! You wouldn't regret it :)
 
November 03, 2009
a nikid iphone?? oh wow...LOL!
November 03, 2009
1Ph0n3 pr0n? :P
 
November 02, 2009
As a new 3GS owner as well, I'm super interested in this!! I just went to check out all the videos on their site and it looks like an AWESOME product.
November 02, 2009
It really is. It's totally worth getting!
 
November 02, 2009
Hmmm....I almost dismissed the product b/c I thought it was for iPhone only. It appears that they make them for lots of phones and cameras and laptops and portable gaming systems and.... I'm wondering if they are different from the Body Guardz that I was considering for my HTC Tilt 2 phone.
November 02, 2009
Oh, ZAGG totally makes invisibleSHIELD covers for so many other portable devices! They've also started making earbuds and speakers, too.
 
1
About the reviewer
devora ()
Ranked #4
When I'm not Lunching, I'm a jeweler, and an all around, self-proclaimed web geek. My passions include social media, the interweb, technology, writing, yoga, fitness, photography, jewelry, fashion, … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
devora
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

http://www.zagg.com/ (feature demos and tutorials too)

ZAGG Inc. (OTCBB: ZAGG) is a publicly traded company based in Salt Lake City, Utah. Their primary efforts are in manufacturing, designing, and distributing protective coverings for consumer electronics and hand-held devices under the brand name invisibleSHIELD, and other mobile accessories and services to a worldwide market.

The company's flagship product, the invisibleSHIELD was created by Phillip Chipping, who then formed Protective Solutions, Inc. in March 2005 and started selling the invisibleSHIELD product online, as well as pursuing locally-owned gadget retailers. A few months later, in September 2005, just 2 weeks after Apple Inc. had released the first iPod nano, Protective Solutions sent out a press release announcing their new idea of protecting gadgets with a patented clear protective film and a new alternative to a bulky case. Due to the immediate and overwhelming response, Protective Solutions began releasing many full-body invisibleSHIELDs for many different types of electronic gadgets.
view wiki

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists