|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Music » Reviews » blip.fm » User review

blip.fm

A website where the user becomes a dj by choosing songs and playing them on the 'air'

< read all 5 reviews

Blip.fm: Twitter for the cool kids

  • Oct 27, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+4
This past week, I discovered Blip.fm (think Twitter meets last.fm). 

When you sign up, you become a "DJ".  Then you "blip" a song you like and send it out into the Blipposphere (like Tweeting).  You can write a little message (like a Tweet) to accompany the song.  Every DJ in the Blipposphere has access to the song that you blip and can play it by clicking on it (the songs are extracted from different websites, and it's all free).  You can also blip @ specific people, just like on Twitter.  So, say, if your friend is having a shitty day and is on Blip, you can send them a song to cheer them up.

You can follow your "favorite DJs."  If you like a song that someone blips, you can give them "props."  The more props you receive as a DJ, the more credits you get to give props out to other DJs.  It's like paying it forward.

Blip is better than Twitter because rather than sending out a meaningless, self-indulgent, narcissistic statement to nobody/everybody, you're sharing music with friends and strangers, which everyone can benefit from.  You can discover an awesome new song that someone shared with you, or you can bond with someone over a song that helps you get through a tough day.

Obviously, it's more fun with friends, though, so JOIN!

http://blip.fm/dandyly0ns

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
14
Thought-Provoking
11
Fun to Read
13
Well-Organized
10
Post a Comment
October 28, 2009
I love Blip.fm and Pandora! Blip makes it fun to share songs you haven't heard in a while and share with your friends on Twitter. They make it incredibly easy to blip and I love that you can re-blip songs that you like. It's cool that they have videos too.
 
October 27, 2009
I've always been curious about blip because I see people blippin' through tweets.  Glad to see another opinion of it on Lunch!  I've been using last and just got into Pandora, but I'll have to check out blip soon.  Thanks for the sharing! :)
 
1
More blip.fm reviews
review by . December 02, 2009
If you’ve never heard of Blip.fm and you love music as much as I do, you need to check out this site. It’s been referred to as a “music recommendation and streaming site”, an “online music discovery service that enables person-to-person music recommendation through a social playlist” (wow – say that ten times fast) and even a “work in progress”. Personally, I refer to it as being like Twitter for Music on Steroids! This site rocks …
review by . May 23, 2009
Joeybirdie
I recently discovered Blip and I am having a great time.  I am finding songs that I haven't heard in years.  Also finding new songs and artists that I never heard before.  I've made some great friends already on Blip.  
review by . February 04, 2009
I found out about blip.fm by clicking a 'tweet 'on Twitter.  I immediately registered with the name 'jillogradydjlady' and began to 'blip' my favorite songs.  One can find a song by entering the name, artist, or keyword.  The available songs are hosted all over the internet on servers or websites and are availble to play on blip.fm and also to share with other djs or listeners on the site .  Music can also be sent to friends on other social networking sites.    Blip …
review by . March 01, 2009
Run your own Internet radio station!  Build a playlist of your favorite music and distribute your selections via Twitter and other social networking sites.  Embed your favorite songs on your blog.  Find others who share your musical taste, and follow them to find new music you like...these are just a few of the cool things you can do through Blip.fm.    I found Blip.fm through an online friend's Twitter feed on LiveJournal, and was immediately impressed.  …
About the reviewer
Maggie ()
Ranked #1126
I am 22 years old and work in television production (specifically, the Dr. Phil show.....yeah). I enjoy television, movies, food, music, and fun (free) outdoor activities with my buddies.
About this topic

Wiki

Blip.fm is a micro-blogging and music sharing site that brands itself as "Twitter for music." The service is free and allows users to share songs and artists with all of their friends via short micro-blog posts, similar to Twitter or Pownce.

Users do not need to own the songs they share on Blip.fm, as the service has search functionality that pulls the songs in from three other services: Seeqpod, Skreemr and also parent company Fuzz's own database of songs. The songs can then be played on the site's internal player.TechCrunch: Twitter for music (May 12, 2009)
view wiki

Tags

Music, Websites, Social Networking, Mp3, Music Streaming, Public Music, Music Websites, Blipfm

Details

Polls
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists