|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Electronics » Reviews » iPhone 3G » User review

iPhone

second generation iPhone made by Apple

< read all 25 reviews

I now call my iPhone a mini-laptop because PalmTop sounds odd...

  • Dec 16, 2008
  • by
Rating:
+4
I've had my iPhone 3G for about 3 weeks and so in *heart* with it! I do call my iPhone a mini-laptop because PalmTop sounds odd because I think I'm using it to browse the web, send email, twitter, and use FaceBook more than my laptop which is just sitting there.

Pros:
- The ability to listen to a song in a store, use an App called Shazam to retrieve the artist and song title with a link to iTunes to buy the song... or at least find the artist and title to get the song later... to BUY the song!
- use another app called SnapTell Explorer which I can go to the local recycled CD/Video store, take a picture of a DVD cover and have that return a list of where I can buy it online for a cheaper price as well as have a link to reviews!
- use i.TV to look up current TV listings as well as Movies playing in the neighborhood with showtimes, reviews, and the Trailer to watch!

These are just a couple of 3rd party applications that I find so useful that it blows my mind to remember back in the 80's listening to a song and trying to remember who sang it to maybe find the cassette at Tower Records! And not too mention how much the Map app help me escape getting out when i'm lost. Do you know how much I'm saving on ink and paper alone from having the directions on my phone?

Cons:
- Battery life.
    - The way I get around this is to try to find and use Free Wi-Fi locations instead of using the 3G network to go online. Using 3G sucks the battery.
    - Use the auto brightness setting.
- Touchpad keyboard. This took the most time to get used to because I'm a very tactile person, and trying to text while driving makes the touchpad a little harder to do so... not like I ever did it... uh, yeah. However, I'm getting a lot better and faster at it thus my long run-on sentences persist in another medium - texting! But not while driving.

Recommendations:
If you buy an iPhone, the most important things to get is a case with a good touchpad overlay and a car charger! You'll need it.

All in all. I love my iPhone 3G and even though I can live without it, I wouldn't want to.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
14
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
0
Well-Organized
1
Post a Comment
April 23, 2009
The iPhone has all these great reviews, including yours, I would so want one. It's too bad I get migraines from all wireless devices - otherwise I would go for it! It would make it possible for me to work from anywhere! Do you have anything else to say now that you've used it for a while?
 
December 16, 2008
I've used both iPhones and Blackberrys (not my iPhone though.. plenty of use when I'm the front seat passenger and need to look up directions somewhere).. and I seriously cannot get use to the touch screen...I think I'm really biased against it.. I can't seem to convince myself to be for it even after all those cool apps you can get (seriously the list is endless)!! I don't know what it is.. it's not that I'm anti apple products.. I really think that the keyboard ranks that high in my items of importance.. hmmm
 
1
More iPhone 3G reviews
review by . August 19, 2008
Bottom line:  If you use your smartphone to send a lot of email, the iPhone falls far short of the blackberry and is almost impossible to use for business.    I've been using the iPhone 3G for a few weeks now.  I transfered from using a BlackBerry Curve.  Don't get me wrong... the iPhone is really cool and it is fun to use all the apps and features that it has which is much better than the Curve... for example, the maps and web browsing are really phenomenal and …
review by . February 01, 2011
I think the Iphone 3G was a revolution in the mobile phone market. Admittedly the upgraded versions 3GS and 4 are much faster and with more technical fuzzyness - however, 3G pathed the way. No doubt, this phone with its capabilities, combined with the App Store - Amazing setup!
review by . December 23, 2009
posted in Ubergizmo
My iPhone Makes my Boyfriend Jealous
I felt as though I was the last person on earth to get an iPhone, and among my friends I very well might have been. Recently I decided to get with the program and drop Verizon like a bad habit, and switch to AT&T. I was a Verizon customer for years, and looking back on it I still don't know why I stuck with them for so long. Given their recent battles with the FCC, I am even more relieved to be out of their evil clutches, and escaped just in time before they doubled the early-termination …
Quick Tip by . July 23, 2011
i prefer iphone 4 to iphone 3g, but it is really a good item
Quick Tip by . November 09, 2010
Now you can run your favorite third-party apps — and switch between them instantly — without slowing down the performance of the foreground app or draining the battery unnecessarily. So you can listen to a ball game while emailing. Or receive a VoIP call while playing a game.1
Quick Tip by . December 06, 2010
3 g i phone is my next addition...since my daughter is presenting this ..i postpone to buy this ..but this is another exciting computer skills ..but i enjoy to taste technology
Quick Tip by . September 21, 2010
Excellent device. AT&T service is dismal in my region, and AT&T's politics are worse. They have been organizing fundraisers for right-wing Republicans. So I sold my iPhone on eBay and purchased an HTC Hero - not as good, but can use it on Credo which is a superb service provider with a social conscience.
Quick Tip by . June 08, 2010
When all ele fails, reboot.
Quick Tip by . June 01, 2010
latest news about iPhone, iPad, iPod: http://twitter.com/xo7brainiac
Quick Tip by . May 22, 2010
Great design, easy to use and has the "Hip" factor. Only downsides is AT$T
About the reviewer
Conrad Panganiban ()
Ranked #1424
I am a dreamer, but in my waking hours, I work for a real-estate dot com in the San Francisco Bay Area as a Web Developer. In order to balance the left side of my brain, I am also an aspiring Playwright … more
About this topic

Wiki

The iPhone is an internet-connected multimedia smartphone designed and marketed by Apple Inc. The device features a flush multi-touch screen and a minimal hardware interface. The device does not have a physical keyboard, so a virtual keyboard is rendered on the touch screen instead. The iPhone functions as a mobile phone (including text messaging and visual voicemail), a digital camera, a portable media player (equivalent to an iPod), and an Internet client (with email, web browsing, and local Wi-Fi connectivity). The first-generation phone hardware was quad-band GSM with EDGE; the second generation also adds UMTS with HSDPA.
view wiki

Details

Service Provider: AT&T
Item Model Number: 3G
Model: 3G

Polls
G4 Cube

Apple Products

by

Acer Aspire One AOA150-1555 8.9-Inch Netbook -

Must Have Gadgets

by

CheckPlease iPhone Application

Best iPhone App

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists