|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Electronics » Reviews » iPhone 3G » User review

iPhone

second generation iPhone made by Apple

< read all 25 reviews

The Ultimate Student-Access Phone

  • Apr 14, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+4
You may wonder why I posted such a title. For most university students, even with the recession, majority of students would prefer a Mac and most of them do opt in for one. However with this said, PC users can still get the same benefits, just not as easily done.

With a Mac, you ultimately wrap your desktop/notebook life to your mobile phone. It integrates everything you essentially need, and more, into one neat, concise and easy-to-use environment that is literally "dumb-proof". Everything from your emails, photos, music, contacts, notes, calenders, etc. a wide array of essential day-to-day applications we use are readily available on the iPhone 3G. With it's added robust 3G network and wireless connectivity, getting notes, taking pictures of your skeleton and sharing it with your classmates, sharing notes, etc. is as of ease with these applications.

Not only is it fantastic for the university student for ultimate portability but it can also help enhance the college experience of exploring newer regions of the surrounding cities by using various free to low-cost applications to search for cuisines to bars to the nearest coffee shop.

There are downsides to the iPhone 3G though and I will list them for you:
  1. Vulnerable to quick battery depletion regardless with 3G network or not
  2. Applications are sluggish if it requires too many different native programs to run
  3. Ergonomics of iPhone can cause minor cramping, essentially lead to carpel tunnel syndrome
  4. Tendency to lock up in certain modes of SMS texting.
Besides the pros and cons, I believe that this smartphone is definitely a phone to invest towards if you are looking NOT to change new phones every 2 years.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
18
Thought-Provoking
7
Fun to Read
4
Well-Organized
9
Post a Comment
October 20, 2009
oo what app takes a photo of your skeleton?!
 
August 20, 2009
Great review! Maybe the affordability is a problem but feature wise, they have it all. Any reviews/recommendations on campus life or educational apps?
August 20, 2009
iStudiez Pro works REALLY well. Personlly I think this is easier to use than the cal program in regards of school
August 21, 2009
Thanks for the advices, it's really like they said, 'There's an app for nearly anything.'!
 
April 15, 2009
Angelo: I sold it on craigslist and kid you not sold within 10 minutes! It's unlocked but still getting all the features and more! Designdude: hands down would be the facebook, google, webmd and safari that comes standard.
 
April 14, 2009
didn't know you made the switch to the iPhone, Viet - what did you do with your iPod Touch?
 
1
More iPhone 3G reviews
review by . August 19, 2008
Bottom line:  If you use your smartphone to send a lot of email, the iPhone falls far short of the blackberry and is almost impossible to use for business.    I've been using the iPhone 3G for a few weeks now.  I transfered from using a BlackBerry Curve.  Don't get me wrong... the iPhone is really cool and it is fun to use all the apps and features that it has which is much better than the Curve... for example, the maps and web browsing are really phenomenal and …
review by . February 01, 2011
I think the Iphone 3G was a revolution in the mobile phone market. Admittedly the upgraded versions 3GS and 4 are much faster and with more technical fuzzyness - however, 3G pathed the way. No doubt, this phone with its capabilities, combined with the App Store - Amazing setup!
review by . December 23, 2009
posted in Ubergizmo
My iPhone Makes my Boyfriend Jealous
I felt as though I was the last person on earth to get an iPhone, and among my friends I very well might have been. Recently I decided to get with the program and drop Verizon like a bad habit, and switch to AT&T. I was a Verizon customer for years, and looking back on it I still don't know why I stuck with them for so long. Given their recent battles with the FCC, I am even more relieved to be out of their evil clutches, and escaped just in time before they doubled the early-termination …
Quick Tip by . July 23, 2011
i prefer iphone 4 to iphone 3g, but it is really a good item
Quick Tip by . November 09, 2010
Now you can run your favorite third-party apps — and switch between them instantly — without slowing down the performance of the foreground app or draining the battery unnecessarily. So you can listen to a ball game while emailing. Or receive a VoIP call while playing a game.1
Quick Tip by . December 06, 2010
3 g i phone is my next addition...since my daughter is presenting this ..i postpone to buy this ..but this is another exciting computer skills ..but i enjoy to taste technology
Quick Tip by . September 21, 2010
Excellent device. AT&T service is dismal in my region, and AT&T's politics are worse. They have been organizing fundraisers for right-wing Republicans. So I sold my iPhone on eBay and purchased an HTC Hero - not as good, but can use it on Credo which is a superb service provider with a social conscience.
Quick Tip by . June 08, 2010
When all ele fails, reboot.
Quick Tip by . June 01, 2010
latest news about iPhone, iPad, iPod: http://twitter.com/xo7brainiac
Quick Tip by . May 22, 2010
Great design, easy to use and has the "Hip" factor. Only downsides is AT$T
About the reviewer
Viet Tran ()
Ranked #675
Member Since: Apr 14, 2009
Last Login: Aug 24, 2009 05:23 PM UTC
About this topic

Wiki

The iPhone is an internet-connected multimedia smartphone designed and marketed by Apple Inc. The device features a flush multi-touch screen and a minimal hardware interface. The device does not have a physical keyboard, so a virtual keyboard is rendered on the touch screen instead. The iPhone functions as a mobile phone (including text messaging and visual voicemail), a digital camera, a portable media player (equivalent to an iPod), and an Internet client (with email, web browsing, and local Wi-Fi connectivity). The first-generation phone hardware was quad-band GSM with EDGE; the second generation also adds UMTS with HSDPA.
view wiki

Details

Service Provider: AT&T
Item Model Number: 3G
Model: 3G

Polls
G4 Cube

Apple Products

by

Acer Aspire One AOA150-1555 8.9-Inch Netbook -

Must Have Gadgets

by

CheckPlease iPhone Application

Best iPhone App

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists