|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Beer » Reviews » Fat Tire » User review

It seems you either love Fat Tire or hate it...but I love it!

  • Feb 22, 2010
Rating:
+4
New Belgium Brewing’s Fat Tire Amber Ale is a brew my buddy Elmer told me about and he often praised it’s tastiness. He would only get it when he headed west, I believe, usually on a beer run to prep for Bonnaroo. So naturally this is the first one of their brews I tried. And he understated its excellence, if you ask me.

According to the Web site:

Named in honor of our founder Jeff’s bike trip through Belgium, Fat Tire Amber Ale marks a turning point in the young electrical engineer’s home brewing. Belgian beers use a far broader pallet of ingredients (fruits, spices, esoteric yeast strains) than German or English styles. Jeff found the Belgian approach freeing. Upon his return, Jeff created Fat Tire and Abbey Belgian Ale, (assuming Abbey would be his big gun). He and his wife, Kim traveled around sampling their homebrews to the public. Fat Tire’s appeal quickly became evident. People liked everything about it. Except the name. Fat Tire won fans is in its sense of balance: toasty, biscuit-like malt flavors coasting in equilibrium with hoppy freshness.

So let’s check the air in this “Fat Tire” shall we?

The Pour
This poured, in my tall pilsner glass, to a thick 3 finger head. The head was off-white, thick and creamy, with great lacing. The color was a kind of orange tinted light caramel color. It looks to be quite carbonated and crisp and is quite clear.

The Nose
This has an excellent nose, just fantastic! The citrusy hops are balanced with the malt, and subtle chewy chocolate notes. The chocolate and malt give it a nice earthy nose with bright citrus accents.

The Taste
This, to me, is an absolutely unique brew. It is exceptionally smooth and tastes exactly as it smells. What you smell is what you get, as it were. The citrusy hops are slightly more dominant, but the chocolate and malt flavors are well played and well balanced. As you drink this, the hops open the show but melt away into the chocolate and malt flavors, all the while maintaining a medium-light body and a smooth clean mouthfeel.

Overall
This is not at all what I expected, but it is an exceptional brew. The earthier flavors, especially complimented and offset by the citrusy hops, were a great surprise. This is one terrific and drinkable brew!

Recommended: Absolutely a must-try. The flavors are terrific and well balanced and just a well crafted brew.

View this and other reviews at my beer review blog!

It seems you either love Fat Tire or hate it...but I love it!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
20
Thought-Provoking
14
Fun to Read
16
Well-Organized
21
Post a Comment
February 24, 2010
Fat Tire is a great gateway beer for people wanting to venture into craft beer. It's got more flavor than macro pale lagers, but also does not bombard the palate. I don't drink it much anymore because I seek out bolder beers, but I always have this handy for craft beer noobs. My favorite session beer from New Belgium is Hoptober (seasonal).
February 26, 2010
You're right on all counts.....I don't really drink any one particular beer much anymore, because I always want to have something new, so I have review fodder.
 
February 22, 2010
Wow! That was WAY more informative than my typical beer review of, "It's a pretty tasty beer". From now on, I'll just redirect my buddies to your review!
February 22, 2010
haha thanks....I enjoy doing it and have learned a lot over the years from other reviewers. Cheers!
 
February 22, 2010
I never had Fat Tire until I moved to CA about a year ago. Now I don't think there is any reason for me to ever have another beer again! I can't believe I lived this long without it! Thanks for sharing your opinion.
 
February 22, 2010
Great review, thx! I love Fat Tire... it's actually my go-to #1 beer. Also really enjoy their specialty seasonal brews.
February 22, 2010
Thanks for the review compliment!
 
February 22, 2010
My friends who went to Colorado University in Boulder, used to bring back cases of Fat Tire on their vacations. Back then you could only really find it in Colorado. What a great beer. Very good review.
February 22, 2010
Thanks, Butter!
 
February 22, 2010
Mmmmm, great review, Scott! I love the way you describe beer :) Fat Tire is actually one of my favorite beers to have with pizza and after reading your review, I just may have that for dinner tonight :D Thanks for sharing!
February 22, 2010
Awww, thanks Devora!
February 22, 2010
My pleasure! By the way, I think it's totally awesome that you have a buddy named Elmer. I always thought that that was a cool name!
 
1
More Fat Tire reviews
review by . November 07, 2011
posted in The Beer Snob
How does it look? How's the color? Clarity? Head?    Fat Tire is an Amber Ale         How's the nose (smell)? Sweet, spicy, fruity?    To me it has a spicy nose.        How does it taste? Malty? Hoppy? Fruity?    Its hard to describe I think.  It has some hopps but is not too hoppy.  It has a little of a malt taste also.  It reminds me of Yeungling beer.      …
Quick Tip by . June 11, 2010
posted in The Beer Snob
Good gateway beer that brings alot of people over from the BMC craze. Other then Sierra Neveda, this was one of the first craft beers that I tried that I really enjoyed. Over the years this belgium ale has become more visible in pop culture and is bringing micro brews into the mainstream. It's popularity I think is in part due to it's attractive label for most non-craft drinkers. Whatever the reason, anything that brings people away from the bud light scene is a good thing in my humble opinion.
Quick Tip by . May 28, 2010
posted in The Beer Snob
my #1 go-to and favorite beer! also really love their seasonal brews.
Quick Tip by . March 04, 2010
posted in The Beer Snob
Love this beer with a nice, hearty, deep dish pizza! ;D
About the reviewer
Scott ()
Ranked #195
I am a 35 year old full-time employee, full-time student, and full-time Beer Snob. (Check out my beer reviews on my blog as well as here) I enjoy trying new beers and hope I never reach the point where … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
TheBeerSnob
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this drink

Wiki

Named in honor of our founder Jeff's bike trip through Belgium, Fat Tire Amber Ale marks a turning point in the young electrical engineer's home brewing. Belgian beers use a far broader palette of ingredients (fruits, spices, esoteric yeast strains) than German or English styles. Jeff found the Belgian approach freeing. Upon his return, Jeff created Fat Tire and Abbey Belgian Ale, (assuming Abbey would be his big gun). He and his wife, Kim traveled around sampling their homebrews to the public. Fat Tire's appeal quickly became evident. People liked everything about it. Except the name. Fat Tire won fans is in its sense of balance: toasty, biscuit-like malt flavors coasting in equilibrium with hoppy freshness.

view wiki

Details

Type: Amber Ale
Country: Fort Collins, Colorado, United States
Brewery: New Belgium
ABV: 5.2%

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists