|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Food » Reviews » Long Island Iced Tea » User review

Long Island Iced Tea

A highball made with equal parts vodka, gin, rum, tequila, and triple sec with 1 1/2 parts sour mix with a splash of cola

< read all 7 reviews

A cocktail with four kinds of liquor

  • Dec 15, 2008
Rating:
+4
As someone with a small bladder, I sure can appreciate a Long Island Iced Tea.  This is one of few cocktails made of various liquors, four to be exact, plus a liqueur.  I love watching skilled bartenders make Long Island Ice Teas.  It's such a trip watching them pour all four liquors into the glass at the same time.  It's the cocktail that has the least amount of liquid all the while being highly potent, yet still decent-tasting, so all I need is one for the evening and I'm set.

Oh, and another thing - does it taste a bit like a raisin to anyone else?  Or is it just me?
Long Island Iced Tea

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
10
Thought-Provoking
6
Fun to Read
6
Well-Organized
6
Post a Comment
March 24, 2010
One of my favorites! Tokyo tea sounds better.. By the way no raisin taste here!!!
March 24, 2010
Haha, sounds like I'm the only one tasting the raisin-ness!  And if you haven't tried the Tokyo Tea yet, do it!  Here's my review of it ;)
 
January 26, 2010
This used to be my fave drink (actually it still is) in a regular bar but I'll have to give Kamikaze the first spot. Have you tried oyster shots, Lady D? as for your question; I dunno if tastes like raisin since I'm probably passed out in the brain by then...can't remember. ;-P
January 27, 2010
Ooooh, I've never had a kamikaze before. Must try!  I don't drink these much anymore since I'm usually the designated driver.  Boo.  Ever have a Tokyo tea before?  It's like a Long Island, except instead of coke, it has a fifth alcoholic source added to it -- Midori mix :)  And yes, I've had oyster shots before, uni, too! :D
January 27, 2010
Kamikaze's pretty strong but it is real good! You're usually the designated driver? You're so nice ;-). Yeh, I've probably had Tokyo Tea (tho I don't remember sometime LOL) Uni shots? Now that is something I need to try! :-P
January 27, 2010
I like the sound of the kamikaze already! :)  And yes, I'm usually the DD because my friends party harder than I do.  I don't need booze to have a good time though!  And you should check out uni shots, I have a pic in my uni review.  I had that at Barracuda :)
 
December 31, 2008
haha.. long islands use to be my drink of choice.. and then I got served too many bad tasting ones :( but i agree if they're good (but not too good because then I'll order more and thats not good) i can have one and i'm good buzzed for the night!!
 
December 15, 2008
@LingEatsCake - Yes, avoid guys who try to get you LIITs on the first date! They're only nice to have when you're out with your buddies :)
 
December 15, 2008
I generally steer clear of any guy who tries to buy me a long island iced tea on the first date... because you know what's on their minds if they're sliding you stiff drinks right off the bat, hahaha!
 
1
More Long Island Iced Tea reviews
Quick Tip by . May 17, 2011
posted in Green Living
Iced tea and booze! One of the truly pleasurable combinations in life! But BE CAREFUL with these suckers - they're so delicious and go down so smoothly and easily and have so much alcohol that you could get blind drunk off one too many before you even realize it's happening.
Quick Tip by . June 07, 2010
Always the most for your $
Quick Tip by . May 23, 2010
I will never drink a Long Island Iced Tea again! This drink is so strong & gave me the worst headache. I'd rather have a nice glass of wine!
Quick Tip by . March 07, 2010
If made correctly i actually enjoy this booze bomb-- don't tell anyone;)
Quick Tip by . March 04, 2010
These'll get you in trouble! But they'll also get you spirited ;)
review by . December 09, 2008
There are times when my high metabolism and iron liver really annoy me. Every time I go out with friends, I need a head start on the drinks because with them, it seems just a few is enough to get warm and fuzzy. With me, I literally need liquor hooked directly to my veins.     So to deal with this problem, I start off with a Long Island Iced Tea. It contains just the right mix of liquors to make it taste like iced tea, and one or two is usually enough to get the trick done.  …
About the reviewer
devora ()
Ranked #4
When I'm not Lunching, I'm a jeweler, and an all around, self-proclaimed web geek. My passions include social media, the interweb, technology, writing, yoga, fitness, photography, jewelry, fashion, … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
devora
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this drink

Wiki

A highball made with equal parts vodka, gin, rum, tequila, and triple sec with 1 1/2 parts sour mix with a splash of cola. Originally rumored to have been created during prohibition to resemble plain iced tea, the drink was actually the 1970s creation of Robert "Rosebud" Buttu, a bartender from Long Island.
view wiki

Details

Polls with this drink
Bellini

Cocktails

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists