|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Sesame Street Cuts Katy Perry's Appearance

After receiving complaints from parents about Katy Perry's outfit, the producers of the series cut her appearance from its intended episode.

< read all 3 reviews

A Quick Tip by Count_Orlok_22

  • Sep 25, 2010
Seriously? Okay, I'm no big fan of Katy Perry, but I love Sesame Street dearly and I just don't think that the outfit is all that bad. Here in America we've exploited and denigrated the human body to such an extent that people seem to be okay with media provocateurs and pornographers smutting up popular culture and yet a classical painting of a nude woman may be deemed inappropriate. There is a big difference here.
First off this outfit isn't going to display any part of the body that children wouldn't be seeing anywhere else on TV, in films, or on the cover of books and magazines. Most of their own mothers and friends' mothers probably would wear similarly cut dresses and tops.
And secondly, why are people taking offense to this when Nickelodeon and other channels that produce "family friendly" programming get away with sexual innuendo, bathroom humor, and provide no educational basis? Sesame Street has avoided all of these pitfalls and their intention has always been to educate and entertain children, but if they cease to be relevant because of outdated modes of thinking then they will lose their audience and future generations will be robbed of an important series.
Caption Caption
Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
15
Post a Comment
September 29, 2010
It must be that sex with as much proliferation as it gets is STILL taboo to people and Sesame Street remains that bastian of innocense we can count on to keep kids from seeing it. The most violent video games, movies and TV shows but throw some cleavage in there and OOAAHAOAAHHWWWHHHH THEHORROR! I do think Katy should have worn something else on Sesame Street, just keep it clean just in case.
 
September 25, 2010
Yeah, but there was *this*: http://truebloodnet.com/sesame-street-true-blood-true-mud/ I think Sesame Street redeems itself pretty well with that, eh? Honestly I would have cut Katy Perry just because she can't sing her way out of a wet paper bag and she annoys the heck out of me. But that's just me. ;o)
September 25, 2010
As far as I'm concerned, that's just greater proof of their hypocrisy. It's okay to parody and therefore promote an adult cable TV series which displays graphic violence and sex, but it's not okay to show a tiny bit of cleavage?!
September 25, 2010
Maybe I j just like vampires better than other women's boobs. That's it. Personal prejudice. Has nothing to do with the kiddies. =oD
September 25, 2010
I like vampires less, but that's just me. Not being a woman, I guess. Even supposedly virginal brides in white show as much or more cleavage than Ms. Katy.
September 26, 2010
That would make sense, Donna. LOL!
September 26, 2010
You know now that I've read a couple more articles on this it seems the issue really is all about the cleavage. Removing my tongue from its lodging place in my cheek I have to say regardless of what I think of Ms. Perry's singing ability, or the unmitigated coolness of vampires, this *is* ridiculous. The amount of acceptable visible flesh goes in and out of fashion all the time and in case no ones noticed (though I expect you guys might have) it's currently rather generous. (And in truth I'm really okay with that!) Wonder who made this decision....
September 26, 2010
Yeah, apparently some people think kids shouldn't know where their mother's milk comes from.
 
1
More Sesame Street Cuts Katy Perry'... reviews
Quick Tip by . September 30, 2010
[Seen originally on Twitter] I think it's shocking, SHOCKING!, that they allow Elmo to run around with no clothes on.
review by . October 11, 2010
It's refreshing that there are still a few places on the airwaves that have standards and are willing to enforce them. Bravo, PBS.
About the reviewer

Ranked #10
Member Since: Dec 16, 2008
Last Login: Jun 7, 2012 07:25 PM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Count_Orlok_22
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this event
First to Review

"Well done"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists