|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Holidays » Reviews » Thanksgiving » User review

Thanksgiving

An American holiday in the fall to give thanks for harvest and express gratitude in general.

< read all 19 reviews

5 Tips on Making Thanksgiving Dinner Stress Free!

  • Nov 12, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+4
5 Tips to Make Thanksgiving Dinner Stress Free:

Eureka! I actually have had to Conquer this Holiday Cooking Monkey before, so I have learned a few Tricks!

For those who are not gourmet, and / or are not interested in wrestling a big ole' turkey and making a million side dishes, here is some advice:

1. GOBBLE GOBBLE MUTHER CLUCKER!

Order a seasoned & partially cooked turkey from Whole Foods or another local gourmet butcher / market (depending on where you live).

*I have done this twice for Holiday dinners and it makes life SO much easier. There are cooking instructions, AND YOU DON'T HAVE TO CLEAN THE BIRD YOURSELF!!!!!

**Typically I have added a few extra spices to the top of the bird, and maybe even stuff some fresh herbs into the cavity like garlic, rosemary sprigs etc. But, this will save you so much time and I have found it turns out just as well as when I do the entire process from scratch.

*** You can also spruce this baby up by wrapping your bird with some fancy thick cut apple wood smoked bacon, we have done this, and it's deeeelightful. As the cookbook says, Everything really is Better with Bacon!
(yes, I DO own this cookbook, thanks Tiff!)

2. Sides, the BEST PART!

* Again, Whole Foods (or another high end market in your area) is an Excellent Source for those who do not want to cook OR who want to make a couple items from scratch, then purchase a couple pre-made to re-heat.

* Their mashed potatoes were great & the stuffing was ok, I think you might want to spruce up their stuffing by adding some extra flavor, maybe even mixing in a browned up ground sausage or some bacon :) Everything IS better with Bacon after all!!!

3I found a great article on how to make an Easy Thanksgiving dinner here, including opting to ROAST A TURKEY BREAST, which is a snap, instead of cleaning and roasting an entire bird.

4. Sandra Lee of the Food Network specializes in Semi HomeMade recipes

5. DelegateTake up your guests on their offer to bring a dish, dessert, or beverages. I used to want to do every single thing myself, wanted to put on the big show because it is so fun for me. But, let's face it, as we get older life gets MORE complicated, so it's time to say "YES" to the offers of help. This will greatly cut down on your work load!!!!


I need YOUR ADVICE on this Vexing Dilemma!

What Thanksgiving Tips or Easy TASTY Recipes do you have to share? 


COME VISIT US FOR ANSWERS TO MORE VEXING DILEMMAS AT Our Common Sense Advice Blog:
CONQUERTHEMONKEY!

You Might Also Like These Posts From Conquer The Monkey:
Living With Integrity
Running in a Onesie
Atonement

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
12
Thought-Provoking
12
Fun to Read
12
Well-Organized
12
Post a Comment
November 19, 2009
Great ideas! I usually don't go back to Michigan for Thanksgiving so I end up with groups of people and we definitely split up the duties. I think you forgot the #1 stress free tip of all time: wine...lots of wine! :)
 
November 12, 2009
Hi Devora, thanks for feedback, my first time trying to "lunch this". do you mean cut and paste the full blog post on the lunch site? Thanks, I'm not very good at this, so tips are very welcome!!! Cameron
November 12, 2009
Glad to hear that you're taking advantage of the Lunch This tool! :) Yes, copy and pasting your post to Lunch would make the post more accessible to Lunchers because most Lunchers are a little hesitant to click on outside links. You can edit your review by clicking the "Edit" link right underneath your review title. Let me know if you have any questions! :)
 
November 12, 2009
Nice post there, Cameron!  Just a suggestion, but it would be great if you could cross post your post to Lunch, that way, Lunchers can comment and rate on your ideas here ;)

By the way, I thought you might enjoy @djevoke's list on How to Host a Potluck Thanksgiving Dinner!
 
1
More Thanksgiving reviews
review by . November 19, 2010
posted in Awesomeness
That Holiday Between Halloween And Christmas
Maybe it's because I love food so much.  Perhaps it is due to the fact that I enjoy watching that giant balloon-infested parade.  Heck, it might just be for the simple reason that I get a day off of work.  Whatever the reason might be, I love Thanksgiving.       What is Thanksgiving, you ask?  Well, if you live here in these good ol' United States of America, Thanksgiving is supposed to be a day where the citizens of our country reflect …
review by . November 23, 2010
posted in Inspirations
The Toms, The Hens & The Charlie Brown Way!
T H A N K S G I V I N G  !!!   Isn't that the time you've eggnog and turkey? I wonder how that comes about. We have thanksgiving celebrations in a few countries but I have yet known anyone who celebrates Thanksgiving! At least I've not been invited to one such dinner party before. So, what business do I have to start writing a review on this topic?       What business indeed! I do know a thing or two about thanksgiving. That's why! :-)   …
Quick Tip by . November 21, 2012
posted in WHAT CAN I SAY?
Caption
The only day in the year when guys can choose to wear maternity pants and not being made fun of LOL!     
Quick Tip by . November 21, 2011
posted in Do It Yourself!
I love Thanksgiving. This will be the first time that Fernando and I will be on our own, so we've decided to do some good. We'll be feeding friends on Tuesday for a friends' Thanksgiving and feeding the homeless on Thanksgiving Day.      My favorite part of this holiday is sitting around a table and giving thanks for what we're grateful for in our crazy lives. It forces everyone to slow down, take stock of the last year and spend a moment or two in gratitude. …
review by . November 26, 2009
Giving Thanks with/for Beer
So, what’s on your Thanksgiving drink menu? Wine, perhaps? Or maybe Cider? Wait, did you say water?! That’s it—I submit beer as the holiday beverage of choice! Luckily, I’m here to provide pointers about pairing your holiday meal with the perfect beer.      Approach appetizers with a light-bodied beer that goes easy on the taste buds. Try an amber ale or a pilsner—Victory makes the outstanding Prima Pils, but a Sam Adams Boston Lager would do the …
Quick Tip by . November 24, 2010
-5 for the meat, +5 for the wine. Hmmm, what should I rate this?
review by . November 24, 2009
   Thanksgiving day is a good family time in the year to thank all that have lived around with us. The time that i lived in the united states of america I think enjoy this beautiful tradition. Initially I thought that this day meant the gratitude of Europeans to American Indians. Althought many belive was a land grabbing, I think it's best that could happen in the meeting of two cultures. I liked to visit my friends and each one cook something special. I cook for them a Mexican dish called …
Quick Tip by . November 25, 2009
T-minus one day till I can gorge myself on turkey & mashed potato goodness! :D
Quick Tip by . November 25, 2009
(munch munch) can't talk with my mouth full...Happy Thanksgiving!!
Quick Tip by . October 16, 2009
Is it Thanksgiving yet? Is it Thanksgiving yet? A day for appreciating, not to mention eating. Can't beat that!
About the reviewer
Cameron Wilson ()
Ranked #182
Member Since: Jul 31, 2009
Last Login: Aug 15, 2011 09:28 PM UTC
About this event

Wiki

Thanksgiving Day is a harvest festival. Traditionally, it is a time to give thanks for the harvest and express gratitude in general. It is a holiday celebrated primarily in Canada and the United States. While religious in origin, Thanksgiving is now also identified as a secular holiday.

The date and location of the first Thanksgiving celebration is a topic of modest contention. Though the earliest attested Thanksgiving celebration was on September 8, 1565 in what is now Saint Augustine, Florida, the traditional "first Thanksgiving" is venerated as having occurred at the site of Plymouth Plantation, in 1621.

Today, Thanksgiving is celebrated on the fourth Thursday of November in the United States and on the second Monday of October in Canada. Thanksgiving dinner is held on this day, usually as a gathering of family members and friends.
view wiki

Details

Type: Holiday
Date(s): The final Thursday in November. (Annual)

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists