|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Food » Reviews » Bacon » User review

Bacon

Cured meat prepared from a pig.

< read all 15 reviews

I love Bacon

  • Jan 18, 2011
  • by
Rating:
+5
Try and tell me one dish that has bacon in it that you do not like. Vegetarians excluded!!
I love Bacon I love Bacon

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
3
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
3
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
January 19, 2011
This is pretty much true:) Bacon does make everything a bit more tasty!
 
1
More Bacon reviews
Quick Tip by . June 18, 2011
posted in Gourmand
An awesome meat with a salty taste which goes well with sandwiches, eggs, pancakes, and other traditional breakfast foods. Best when cooked crispy. Don't go nuts, though - bacon is one of the fattier meats, and you get little nutritional payoff.
review by . July 20, 2010
posted in Awesomeness
Salty Awesomeness
Bacon, it goes great in sandwiches, burgers, a side item at breakfast or in omelets and quiche.  How can one food item be so great?  It's salty, crisp and tasty.      It can also be bad for you, so much so that it has been taken out of the "Meat" group and placed in the "Other" group which is sort of like food hell where chocolate bars and KFC's Double Down reside.  Also with bacon!      If a pig was a supermarket, …
Quick Tip by . March 18, 2011
One of my least favorite foods. Too salty, too fatty, and difficult to eat.
Quick Tip by . August 25, 2010
Free. . . Bacon. . . . Wednesdays. Need I say more?
Quick Tip by . July 19, 2010
posted in Awesomeness
The tastiest thing ever, when it isn't hard and brittle. It belongs in everything.
Quick Tip by . June 27, 2010
Love it but only have it a couple of times a year. One of the worst things you can eat!
Quick Tip by . June 27, 2010
unhealthy...although sometimes delicious
Quick Tip by . June 12, 2010
Maple hickory smoked mmmmmmmmm
Quick Tip by . June 02, 2010
I don't like bacon, but my friends are all fans.
Quick Tip by . April 23, 2010
posted in Gourmand
I just made some for lunch, sprinkled with brown sugar on top! Sweetly decadent and incredibly delicious!
About the reviewer

Ranked #2480
Member Since: Jan 18, 2011
Last Login: Jan 19, 2011 12:25 AM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
mikemon82
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this food

Wiki

Bacon is cut from the meat on the sides, belly or back of the pig, and sometimes is cured, smoked or both.  Other meats can be cured to resemble bacon.  Bacon can be prepared fried, baked, grilled or as a flavoring agent. 

The USDA defines bacon as "the cured belly of a swine carcass"; other cuts and characteristics must be separately qualified (e.g., "smoked pork loin bacon"). If bacon is USDA certified, then it has been treated for trichinella, a parasitic roundworm which can be destroyed by heating, freezing, drying, or smoking.

The names of rashers or slices differ depending on where they are cut from:

  • Streaky bacon comes from the belly of a pig. It is very fatty with long veins of fat running parallel to the rind. This is the most common form of bacon in the United States. Pancetta is Italian streaky bacon, smoked or aqua (unsmoked), with a strong flavour. It is generally rolled up into cylinders after curing.
  • Back bacon comes from the loin in the middle of the back of the pig. It is a lean meaty cut of bacon, with relatively less fat compared to other cuts and has a ham-like texture and flavour. Most bacon consumed in the United Kingdom is back bacon.[6] Also called Irish bacon or Canadian Bacon.
  • Middle bacon is much like back bacon but is cheaper and somewhat fattier, with a richer flavour.
  • Cottage bacon is thinly sliced lean pork meat from a shoulder cut that is typically oval shaped and meaty. It is cured and then sliced into ...
view wiki

Details

Polls with this food
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists