|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Food » Reviews » Basil » User review

Basil

A culinary herb.

< read all 10 reviews

I'm still regretting letting my last basil plant die...

  • Apr 20, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+5
     What a versatile herb!  Italian, French, Thai, salads...  I could go on forever!  In dried format, I like to use basil in spaghetti sauce, beef stew, chicken noodle soup, pretty much any kind of pasta sauce, even in my spinach artichoke dip.  I also love to toss fresh basil in with pasta dishes or any Thai dish.  And, of course, throw some fresh basil in the food processor with garlic, oil and cheese and you've got pesto!  (Don't even get me started on pesto...  That's another review for another time!)  Another one of my favorite uses for fresh basil is as a sandwich topping.  It's an easy way to make a boring sandwich awesome.  Just lay some whole leaves in place of or along side your lettuce! 
    And did I mention that basil is awesome for you?  Like most leafy greens, it contains lots of vitamins and antioxidants.  Some even suggest that it has anti-inflammatory and antiseptic properties.  There are different varieties of basil, but sweet basil, the kind you most often see in the grocery store, can pretty well substitute for the others.  Thai basil can usually be found at larger Asian markets, but most of the time I just use the sweet Italian basil.  I've also been seeing more and more instances of basil being used in sweet things like ice cream and cocktails.  Basil mojito?  Coconut basil ice cream, anyone?

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
7
Thought-Provoking
4
Fun to Read
4
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
June 26, 2009
Looks like you and I are both basil lovers! We obviously have fab taste!:) You might like my review of basil:"My Favorite Herb of All Time".
 
April 29, 2009
I am fellow basil looovveerr! I have multiple basil plants and I eat them faster than they can re-grow! I also use it in/on just about everything. I even throw fresh basil in with my scrambled eggs...YUM! I am thinking that basil mojito sounds up my alley- thanks for the review!
 
1
More Basil reviews
review by . June 02, 2010
posted in Gourmand
2 words:       Caprese Salad. Let's stop talking about it and go out and get some.
Quick Tip by . July 12, 2010
Its a wonderful herb to season just about any dish
Quick Tip by . July 09, 2010
I love making caprese on a stick -- skewer a mini heirloom tomato, a rolled basil leaf and a cube of mozarella on a toothpick. Drizzle balsamic over it. Pretty and yummy.
Quick Tip by . June 18, 2010
If you're growing it, make sure it gets lots of sun but not direct sunlight fot too long or the leaves burn. I've always found basil tricky to grow but so worth it.
Quick Tip by . May 27, 2010
Love pesto!
Quick Tip by . March 17, 2010
posted in Vegan Living
Tomatoes love basil, especially in salad. Fresh is best, dried still works. How could it be bad, it's Italian?
review by . March 03, 2009
posted in Gourmand
To put it simply, basil just rocks! It is by far my favorite seasoning herb and to tell you the truth, I would probably enjoy eating the leaves straight off the plant! I bought Greek basil last summer at the farmers market and was thrilled by how it grew and grew. Add a bit of sunshine, a splash of water every other day (depending on the weather) and I had a very healthy plant.  I had so much of it that by the end of the summer I was force feeding my friends caprese salad and canning …
Quick Tip by . October 05, 2009
Mmmmm, I dig basil gimlets, tomato mozzarella basil salad, and pesto! I'll put basil in just about anything :)
Quick Tip by . October 05, 2009
I love Basil. The fragrance, the smell the multiplicity and more than anything the way that it makes my breakfast better. I heart Basil!
About the reviewer
Ashley D. ()
Ranked #956
Cooking enthusiast, avid Yelper, and soon to be med student. I'm also a puppy fiend and soon to be Italian Greyhound owner. There's not a moment in my day that I'm not thinking, learning, and absorbing … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
AshleyD
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this food

Wiki

Basil is a culinary herb found in many Italian and Asian recipes. Basil varieties include Sweet, Thai, Lemon, and Greek.

Basil is originally native to Iran, India and tropical regions of Asia. With sunlight and warm, dry conditions the herb can grow 30-130 cm in height. In the U.S., Basil has the best chance of survival and growth if planted during the late spring or summer months.  Basil can be grown inside in a sun-lit window or outside. However, basil does not fare well in the cold and care should be taken to reduce exposure to cold drafts or frost.

There are several Basil pathogens that will ruin the growth and use of the herb. Fusarium wilt is fungal disease that is soil-borne and will kill young basil plants. Grey mold can also cause plant infections.

Basil has been shown to have positive health effects in humans. It is used as a supplement to treat stress, asthma and diabetes in India.

Popular Basil Recipe:
Tomato, Mozzarella & Basil Bruschetta

6 plum tomatoes, chopped
1 package of mozzarella cheese, chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
6-8 fresh basil leaves, chopped
salt
freshly ground black pepper to taste
1 baguette French bread or similar Italian bread
1/4 cup olive oil

Start by chopping the tomato and mozzarella into small, bite size pieces. Wash and dry the basil and chop.
 
Slice the baguette on a diagonal about 1/2 inch thick slices. Coat one side of each slice with olive oil and minced garlic (combined) using...

view wiki

Details

Polls with this food
Basil

Culinary Herbs

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists