|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Food » Reviews » Bibimbap » User review

Bibimbap

A popular Korean dish that literally means "mixed rice" or "mixed meal".

< read all 5 reviews

My Favorite RICE dish of all time!

  • Apr 10, 2010
Rating:
+5
Rice does not get any better than a searing hot stone pot filled with (Dolsot) Bibimbap.  Yes, I like good fried rice, which is hard to find in my area.  I like steamed rice which I fix at home in a rice cooker.  Brown rice, White rice, Jasmine rice...they are all good.  But nothing compares to Bimbimbap!



What is Bibimbap? You might ask.  It is a mixture of rice, vegetables, meat and a raw egg.  While the pot is still smoking, it is served with Kochujang sauce, which adds flavor and spice to the dish.  I usually wait a minute before I stir everything together.  It takes perfect timing, because you want the pot to remain hot enough to cook the egg, but I also like some of the rice to turn crunchy from the heat (we call it gum-bap).  At just the right moment, I douse the mixture with a heavy dose of Kochujang and mix thoroughly, ensuring the egg hits some hot spots to cook it well.



Bibimbap is comprised of a healthy layer of rice topped with julienned carrots, zucchini and/or cucumber.  I normally get mine without mushrooms.  Some variations have Daikon.  Doraji is a wild root (bellflower) that is also served in the dish.  It adds some texture, but may not be for everyone (I personally like it).  Bean sprouts, seaweed and finely diced beef normally finish off the toppings.  The raw egg topping normally cooks the instant it hits the side of the pot.



The Kochujang sauce is a pepper-based sauce that is dark red in color.  The paste normally comes in a ketchup squirt bottle, but may also be served in a small bowl with a spoon.  I like to douse my dish with a heavy layer of the sauce before I mix the ingredients together.  It gives the rice a dark tint and infuses the flavors with a nice spicy heat.  



If you have never treated yourself to a hot steaming bowl of Bibimbap, you are missing a real treat.  This delicious dish is filling, satisfying and delicious.  I seldom leave a single kernel of rice in the bowl.  It is just that good.  
My Favorite RICE dish of all time!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
24
Thought-Provoking
21
Fun to Read
23
Well-Organized
24
Post a Comment
August 26, 2011
Great review! Makes me want to go out and get some bibimbap after work! *salivates*
 
April 21, 2010
FFFFFFooooooodddddddddddd!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 
April 12, 2010
Mmmmmm, looks and sounds delish! I've never had authentic bibimbap in a hot bowl before, so it looks like I'm in for a treat. I was going to go light with a macrobiotic vegan dinner tonight, but now I'm kind of craving this.... Darn it, John! ;P
April 12, 2010
make sure to spice it up with the Kochujang sauce!
 
April 10, 2010
Yummy! Thanks for contributing to The Rice Table community! Is this what you had when in Toronto? It certainly looks like what I had in Korean Town last year!
April 10, 2010
I did have this in Koreatown in Toronto...although I visited several times and had some other dishes as well. This is my favorite, by far. I like a good Kimchee Chigae.
 
1
More Bibimbap reviews
Quick Tip by . October 05, 2011
posted in The Rice Table
It's so simple (and easy to prepare), and yet, it's oh so delicious. I've had it with and without gochujang, and it's delicious both ways. Even though this is a great dish and surprisingly easy to make, there ARE some folks who don't know how to prepare this properly, so beware. Still, even a "bad" bibimbap is still edible.
Quick Tip by . February 28, 2010
I prefer the Dolsot...In a smoking hot stone pot.
Quick Tip by . September 24, 2009
Dolsot bibimbap is awesome. I love when the rice gets brown and crispy...with extra sesame oil and gochujang...okay, hungry now.
Quick Tip by . September 24, 2009
I love the Japanese fusion version of bibimbap with sashimi and roe in it!
About the reviewer

Ranked #77
Member Since: Nov 20, 2009
Last Login: Feb 19, 2011 12:55 AM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
coldsteel7
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this food

Wiki

Bibimbap is a popular Korean dish. The word literally means "mixed rice" or "mixed meal." Bibimbap is served as a bowl of warm white rice topped with namul (sautéed and seasoned vegetables) and gochujang (chili pepper paste). A raw or fried egg and sliced meat (usually beef) are common additions. The ingredients are stirred together thoroughly just before eating. It can be served either cold or hot.

Vegetables commonly used in bibimbap include julienned cucumber, zucchini, mu (daikon), mushrooms, doraji (bellflower root), and gim, as well as spinach, soybean sprouts, and gosari (bracken fern stems). Dubu (tofu), either plain or sautéed, or a leaf of lettuce may be added, or chicken or seafood may be substituted for beef. For visual appeal, the vegetables are often placed so that adjacent colors complement each other.

A variation of this dish, dolsot bibimbap, is served in a very hot stone bowl in which a raw egg is cooked against the sides of the bowl. The bowl is so hot that anything that touches it sizzles for minutes. Before the rice is placed in the bowl, the bottom of the bowl is coated with sesame oil, making the layer of the rice touching the bowl golden brown and crispy.

The city of Jeonju, the capital of the North Jeolla Province of South Korea (located about two and a half hours' drive south of Seoul), is famous throughout the nation for its version of bibimbap, said to be based on a royal court dish.

Bibimbap is first mentioned...
view wiki

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists