|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Food » Reviews » Carrot Juice » User review

Carrot Juice

a juice made from carrots

< read all 2 reviews

Carrot Juice - delicious nectar

  • Jul 22, 2008
  • by
Rating:
+5
Carrot juice, the oft-overlooked member of the juice universe, does not get the props or mainstream recognition of orange, apple, cranberry, or even grapefruit juice, yet, in my opinion, it is the most delicious of all.  Surprisingly sweet and refreshing, it is drinkable in the morning, daytime, and evening.  Packed with healthy goodness, its an easy and delicious way to intake vitamins, namely those of the A and B complex, as well as important minerals (including calcium, magnesium, and iron), and antioxidants.  If you're eyesight isn't too good, I'd recommend enjoying carrot juice on a daily, or at least, semi-weekly basis. The vitamin A content of carrot juice has been credited with helping to overcome defective eyesight. 

All in all, one of nature's greatest and most delicious gifts! 


While most pre-made carrot juices are delicious (Odwalla, Naked Juice, etc.), I personally would stay clear of Boathouse Farms.  In my opinion, it is not as delicious as some others.  CORRECTION (3/6/09):  My wife just picked up a 3 pack of Boathouse Farms carrot juice from Costco and I retract my previous statement.  Its lovely as well.
glass of carrot juice glass of carrot juice and carrots

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
46
Thought-Provoking
7
Fun to Read
7
Well-Organized
2
Post a Comment
February 28, 2010
You know I have never tried this but after reading your review I am going to give one of the brands you suggested a try. Thanks for the review!
 
January 25, 2010
I try to have at least one cup of carrot juice a day. My parents are obsessed with juicing and got me started on the carrot juice regimen. I'm a fan. Good to know about Costco, thanks Brew!
 
April 28, 2009
Carrot juice is even better with green apple. Try it & let me know if you like the result!
 
January 16, 2009
This totally sold me, I have terrible eyesight! Haha, I haven't had this in a while so I couldn't remember if it was good or not.. I'll def give it a try though!
 
December 17, 2008
Agreed! Great stuff. I like to mix in a fruit like oranges, apples or grapes to give it a litle sugar kick.
 
December 17, 2008
I love the stuff! Last year when I had the flu, all I would drink was carrot juice. You'd think I'd never want to touch the stuff again, but I actually credit it with helping me recover quicker than normal. It's so good, thick, and full of nutrients, not to mention naturally sweet!
 
September 26, 2008
Ok you talked me into it. I need to go to the store and buy carrot juice for the first time in my life. And I'm excited about it :)
 
August 13, 2008
great review!! i'm so thirsty now... i'm having a glass today!... i'm not kidding.
 
July 23, 2008
I love carrot juice! Soup and cake too!
 
July 22, 2008
 
1 2 Next
More Carrot Juice reviews
review by . December 23, 2008
I have always loved carrot juice because it's quite thick, almost like milk, and naturally sweet. Plus, just look at its color! Who could resist that?    Last winter I came down with a very severe case of the flu that refused to quit my body. Despite taking vitamins almost daily, nothing seemed to be helping. Finally, my mom brought home lots and lots of carrot juice, and made me drink the stuff nonstop. I probably went through a gallon or two, total, and within a week I began …
About the reviewer
About this food

Wiki

Carrot juice is juice produced from carrots, often marketed as a health drink. Carrot juice has a particularly high content of Provitamin A (β-carotene), but is also high in B complex vitamins and many minerals including calcium, copper, magnesium, potassium, phosphorus, iron, and folic acid. A pound of carrots will yield about a cup of juice, which is a bad yield compared to fruits like apples and oranges. However, carrot pulp is very tough; the main difficulty in juicing carrots is in separating the pulp from the juice. Drinking more than 3 cups of carrot juice in a 24-hour period, over a prolonged period of time may cause carotenoderma, which is a benign condition where the skin gains an orange hue.

Carrots have been made into soups and juices for hundreds of years. In America, along with marigold petals, carrot juice was one of the first colorants used to make European cheese more attractive to the local consumer. Even today, synthetic β-carotene is commonly used to add color to cheese in America where unusually orange colored cheese is preferred.
view wiki

Details

Polls with this food
Apple Juice

Fruit Juices

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists