|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Cheese

A food consisting of proteins and fat from milk, usually the milk of cows, buffalo, goats, or sheep.

< read all 6 reviews

A Quick Tip by RobertYokoyama

  • Dec 20, 2010
I love gorgonzola cheese. It has a strong taste, but it tastes good in salads and pizza. I also love the crumbly feta cheese in my salads too. I have not tried limburger cheese or edam. What does they taste like? Does anybody know?
Share  
(0)
(1)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
6
Post a Comment
December 28, 2011
I love gorgonzola and feta as well! They're both fantastic on salads and pizza, and in particular, I love gorgonzola in pasta. Gorgonzola sauce! I've yet to try limburger or edam, but I'm going to have to hunt them down as I love all cheeses!
January 15, 2012
Gorgonzola is the heaven of cheese! you need to develop a taste for it!
 
December 22, 2010
Edam is very mild and great for making fondue =)
December 28, 2011
Noted!
 
December 20, 2010
Thanks for the insight Robert. Gorgonzola is certainly an acquired taste. The first time I had it, I did not care for it. but I soon became a huge fan. It is one of my secret weapons whne I make pizza. One of my signature pizzas (The Atilla) uses gorgonzola, arugala, and pistachios. I also add mozzarella to sweeten the taste a bit. Oh, yeah! I love gorgonzola!
December 28, 2011
omg, I love gorgonzola on pizza!
 
1
More Cheese reviews
Quick Tip by . June 11, 2011
posted in Gourmand
Yes, I'm a major cheesehead. I find it one of the most useful foods if you have a kind you particularly like. Great on its own, great as a flavor enhancer on sandwiches, salads, or melted into an assortment of other foods.
Quick Tip by . December 01, 2010
posted in Gourmand
I have to admit, cheese is one of my three favorite foods. I like all kinds of cheese, soft cheese, firm cheese, fresh cheese, aged cheese. For anyone who can eat dairy, there is almost certainly a cheese that you will like. And half the fun is finding those cheeses.
Quick Tip by . September 28, 2010
posted in Gourmand
Cheese is amazing, you can eat it with almost anything!
Quick Tip by . September 04, 2009
Love cheese so much, Devora....more than I can say....I get the 2% squares and cook in scrambled eggs...delicious- also enjoy Colby Jack!
Quick Tip by . September 04, 2009
Cheese, what would I be without you? I faithfully seeked you out during all my days as a vegetarian, pescatarian and now omnivore <3
About the reviewer
Robert Yokoyama ()
Ranked #39
I love to read new books and talk about them. I also like to listen to different kinds of music and talk about that. I am a friendly guy who likes to meet new people. I love to read books that teach me … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
RobertYokoyama
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this food

Wiki

Cheese is a food consisting of proteins and fat from milk, usually the milk of cows, buffalo, goats, or sheep. It is produced by coagulation of the milk protein casein. Typically, the milk is acidified and addition of the enzyme rennet causes coagulation. The solids are then separated and pressed into final form. Some cheeses also contain molds, either on the outer rind or throughout.

Hundreds of types of cheese are produced. Their different styles, textures and flavors depend on the origin of the milk (including the animal's diet), whether it has been pasteurized, butterfat content, the species of bacteria and mold, and the processing including the length of aging. Herbs, spices, or wood smoke may be used as flavoring agents. The yellow to red color of many cheeses is a result of adding annatto. Cheeses are eaten both on their own and cooked in various dishes; most cheeses melt when heated.

For a few cheeses, the milk is curdled by adding acids such as vinegar or lemon juice. Most cheeses are acidified to a lesser degree by bacteria, which turn milk sugars into lactic acid, then the addition of rennet completes the curdling. Vegetarian alternatives to rennet are available; most are produced by fermentation of the fungus Mucor miehei, but others have been extracted from various species of the Cynara thistle family.

Cheese has served as a hedge against famine[citation needed] and is a good travel food. It is valuable for its portability, long life, and high content of fat, ...
view wiki

Details

Polls with this food
Buffalo wings

Hors D'oeuvres & Appetisers

by

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists