|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Food » Reviews » Chinese Cuisine » User review

Chinese Fake take out!

Chinese style of cooking.

< read all 4 reviews

Apparently, all Chinese people know this easy noodle recipe by heart

  • Dec 15, 2008
  • by
Rating:
+5

My mom shared this with me when I complained about how i disliked pairing spaghetti sauce with spaghetti. She was surprised as I was that I didn't know this recipe. "All Chinese know this noodle recipe!" she exclaimed. All Chinese people... except me. :(

I began making it for myself soon after and it's seen me through late-night writing projects in college, or just a meal I bring for lunch to the office. My mom calls it "Mixed Noodles" but I believe it's also referred to as Sesame Noodles. 

Basic ingredients

1/2 lb of boiled spaghetti or linguini (I always make enough for leftovers)

1/2 tbsp sesame oil

2 tbsp soy sauce (or more, to taste)

a couple shakes of salt and pepper

 

Optional ingredients (the more, the merrier!)

1 tbsp peanut butter

1 or 2 teaspoons of  hot sauce

1 or 2 pinches of MSG (This is an old-school recipe, yo!)

 

Instructions

Boil spaghetti to your liking (I like mine a bit al dente). Drain well. Add all the ingredients, and mix around to distribute well. You're in business! 

mixed noodles

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
22
Thought-Provoking
2
Fun to Read
3
Well-Organized
3
Post a Comment
December 17, 2008
Oh I've just got to try this- thanks for the recipe! I also Dugg your review!
 
December 17, 2008
LOL. I use this noodle recipe as a base, then add whatever else I want on top. Usually, I'll eat it with veggies and meat, but prepared on the side as separate dishes. If you try it out, lemme know if you have any luck with the additions!
 
December 17, 2008
Omg, this actually sounds pretty good. Do you know any versions that have more veggies or meat?
 
December 15, 2008
woaaaaah crazy! i feel like this would taste really good with brocolli!!! YUM!! i will try this!
 
1
More Chinese Cuisine reviews
Quick Tip by . September 07, 2011
Chinese is my go-to buffet food. I love this stuff!
Quick Tip by . November 04, 2009
posted in Go China
It's a feast! The trophy of best cuisines rest with the Chinese for its variety, presentation and taste & scents. Be adventurous!
Quick Tip by . August 21, 2009
Is it weird that even though I'm Chinese, I'm not totally in love with the food? I hate the greasy Americanized version of it.
About the reviewer

Ranked #84
I'm a curious foodie, a devout fashion gawker, and an unrepentant print nerd. I work at one of the last mainstream commercial magazines that's still printing.      Other things … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
LingEatsCake
Your ratings:
Ici
Ici
rate more to improve this
About this food

Wiki

Chinese cuisine (Traditional Chinese: 中國菜 or 中餐, Simplified Chinese: 中国菜 or 中餐) originated in China and has become widespread in many other parts of the world — from Asia to the Americas, Australia, Western Europe and Southern Africa. In recent years, connoisseurs of Chinese cuisine have also sprouted in Eastern Europe and South Asia. American Chinese cuisine and Indian Chinese cuisine are prominent examples of Chinese cuisine that has been adapted to suit local palates.

Regional cultural differences vary greatly within China, giving rise to the different styles of food across the nation. Traditionally there are eight main regional cuisines, or Eight Great Traditions (八大菜 系): Anhui, Cantonese, Fujian, Hunan, Jiangsu, Shandong, Sichuan and Zhejiang. Sometimes four of the Eight Great Traditions are given greater emphasis (四大菜系), and are considered to be the dominate culinary heritage of China. They are notably defined along geographical lines: Sichuan (Western China), Cantonese (Southern China), Shandong (Northern China), as well as Huaiyang Cuisine (Eastern China), a major style derived from Jiangsu cuisine and even viewed as the representation of that region's cooking.

In modern times, Beijing cuisine and Shanghai cuisine on occasion are also cited along with the classical eight regional styles as the Ten Great Traditions (十大菜系). There are also ...

view wiki

Details

Polls with this food
Kebabs

Best Cuisines

by

burger

Bon Appétit

by

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists