|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Food » Reviews » Cranberry Sauce » User review

A variety of fresh and dried fruits and nuts are used in this cooked cranberry sauce.

< read all 3 reviews

Cranberries makes a nice complement to any Holiday feast!

  • Nov 5, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+4
Cranberry sauce has a whole load of uses other then as a turkey and stuffing topping. You can use it in sandwiches, topping for cheesecake and ice cream, on top of waffles for breakfast...my first memory of creating a signature dish using cranberry sauce, that I would pass out to family and friends during the holiday, was a canapé of cracked pepper water crackers, brie and cranberry sauce. I swear by them, and at the age of nine, had already decided this would be the first appetizer to make a pass during my wedding reception.
 
Helping make the cranberry sauce was one of my first responsibilities in the kitchen. It’s so simple to make it at home; I don’t understand why people reach for the can. I don’t even want to comment on canned cranberry jelly, that stuff is just disgusting to me. These recipes are actually off the Ocean Spray cranberry bag, with just a little something extra for a kick. One is a relish, that is actually not cooked, and one is a cooked sauce. The relish is actually less sweet then the sauce, so they complement each other nicely, and add a variety to your table.

Cranberry Relish
1 bag (12 oz normally) cranberries
1 cup sugar
1 orange, peeled and chopped up
Directions
Add half cranberries, half the orange, and half a cup of sugar into a food processor, until evenly chopped and smooth. Put in bowl. Repeat with remaining ingredients. Mix in bowl and refrigerate.

Homemade Cranberry Sauce
1 cup sugar
1 cup water
1 bag (12 oz normally) cranberries
1 cinnamon stick
1 orange peel

Directions
Combine water and sugar in a pot, bring to boil; add cranberries, orange peel and cinnamon stick. Return to boil, reduce heat and simmer for 10 minutes, stirring occasionally. Cool completely at room temperature; remove orange peel and cinnamon stick. Refrigerate until time to serve.
Cranberries makes a nice complement to any Holiday feast! Cranberries makes a nice complement to any Holiday feast!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
8
Thought-Provoking
6
Fun to Read
6
Well-Organized
6
Post a Comment
November 06, 2009
Love cranberry relish. I just add cranberry, orange peeled (no pith or ribs) and it's juice, sugar to my food processor and pulse. Chill in fridge and enjoy with cheese or other holiday foods.
 
November 05, 2009
Haha I love the part about passing this out at your wedding. I love cranberries and am excited to try this in a few weeks!
November 06, 2009
Really a nine year old thinking @ her wedding? Aren't you in 4th grade at nine?
 
November 05, 2009
I've never tried making my own cranberry sauce before, but your recipe makes it look so easy that I might just try. I've always loved this stuff with brie and bread, and even with cream cheese on a bagel! Thanks for the recipes, lady! :)
November 05, 2009
No, its crazy easy and taste so much better. Obviously you can adjust the amount of sugar too, too make it more or less sweet, depending on tastes.
November 05, 2009
Awesome, thanks! :)
 
1
More Cranberry Sauce reviews
Quick Tip by . November 05, 2009
Native Americans believed cranberries have healing powers. Remember this each time you eat cranberry sauce or drink the fruit juice.
Quick Tip by . October 27, 2009
Only like cranberry sauce if its fresh!
About the reviewer
Aria Juliet Castillo ()
Ranked #46
I'm a graphic designer, originally from Hawaii and now I'm living it up in L.A.   I've been a vegetarian my entire life, but I am still obsessed with fast food, and I love eating … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
ariajuliet
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this food

Wiki

Cranberry sauce is a sauce or relish made out of cranberries, commonly associated with Thanksgiving dinner in North America. There are differences in flavor depending on the geography of where the sauce is made: in Europe it is generally slightly sour-tasting, while in North America it is sweetened. Cranberry sauce is usually used on top of stuffing on Thanksgiving.

The most basic cranberry sauce consists of cranberries boiled in sugar water until the berries pop and the mixture thickens. Some recipes include other ingredients such as slivered almonds, orange juice, zest, ginger, maple syrup, or cinnamon.

Commercial cranberry sauce may be loose and uncondensed, or condensed or jellied and thus shaped like its can. The jellied form is slipped out of the can onto a dish, and is served sliced or intact for slicing at the table.

Some commercial brands of cranberry sauce may not be appropriate for vegetarians as they may contain gelatin.

Cranberry sauce is often eaten in conjunction with turkey for Christmas or Thanksgiving in the United States and Canada, and it is only rarely eaten or served in other contexts. Despite being called a sauce, cranberry sauce is most often consumed as a food itself, not as a garnish for other food items.
view wiki

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists