|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Food » Reviews » Double Down Sandwich (KFC) » User review

Double Down Sandwich (KFC)

A gnarly breadless sandwich from KFC.

< read all 9 reviews

Fills me up....with sodium

  • May 5, 2010
Rating:
+4
But what delicous sodium.

I am NOT a healthy eater and my contributions here on lunch (mmmm lunch!) in the food realm is junkfood and fastfood.

This sandwich is getting plenty of headlines for the audacity of it all, first of all there is NO bread bun.  Your bun is two slabs of white chicken breast meat housing: bacon (mmmm bacon) slices of montery jack and pepper jack cheese and special sauce.  No veggies alowed, just like the BK Stacker, sorta.

It is filling, have one for lunch, I bet you only have a snack before bed since you will have skipped dinner.

I'm noticing some bad press here on the site for it being unhealthy but trust me, there is worse out there, here from kfc.com is the nutritional content:

Double Down
241    Serving Size (gms)
540   Calories
290   Calories from Fat
32    Total Fat (gms)
10     Saturated Fat (gms)
0.5    Trans Fat (g)
145   Cholesterol (mgs)
1380   Sodium (mgs)
11      Carbohydrates (gms)
1        Dietary Fiber (gms)
1       Sugars (gms)
53     Protein (gms)

Delicous.  Time for lunch!!
Fills me up....with sodium

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
3
Thought-Provoking
3
Fun to Read
3
Well-Organized
3
Post a Comment
May 05, 2010
my contributions here on lunch (mmmm lunch!) in the food realm is junkfood and fastfood.

....no problem.  I always enjoy reading your food reviews!  I've been meaning to try this, or at least want to take a bite out of one.  Which one did you have?  The original recipe or the grilled?  By the way, I would love for you to add this to my Awesomeness community.  And if you ever start a junk food or fast food community, you can always move it there, too! ;)
May 05, 2010
I had the original kind. The grilled KFC chicken isn't bad, but original is the best.
 
1
More Double Down Sandwich (KFC) reviews
review by . April 21, 2010
posted in That's Beat
Double Thumbs Down
 America is fat.   America is getting fatter.     It seems if KFC gets its way, America will get there in record time.     Ladies and gentleman let me present to you the champion of all artery clogging, fat building and gluttonous indulging foods in a fast food market ripe with contenders.  Your neighborhood KFC is now stocked with the Double Down “Sandwich”. I quoted the word sandwich because it is not “by definition” a sandwich.  …
Quick Tip by . July 23, 2010
I can feel my heart palpitating just looking at the picture... although I have eaten a 4x4 and fries in one sitting which is probably as bad or worse.
Quick Tip by . May 07, 2010
Don't see what the brouhaha is about. I've seen people eat the sum of this sandwich deconstructed AND in a sandwich!
Quick Tip by . May 05, 2010
A heart attack with no bun. Full of taste and filling. Defibrillator not included.
Quick Tip by . April 15, 2010
posted in That's Beat
I'm intrigued by this bizarre creation.
Quick Tip by . April 14, 2010
would love to know who the target audience is for this sandwich. Although it does have bacon.
Quick Tip by . April 12, 2010
posted in That's Beat
Are you freaking joking me? This is the most beat sandwich I've ever seen!
About the reviewer
John Nelson ()
Ranked #8
Born in Wausau Wisconsin. Move at an early age to Ventura California and lived for 8 years. Growing up in a big city landscape didn't prepare me for my next move: Archbold Ohio with a population of … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
TheJohn
Your ratings:
KFC
KFC
rate more to improve this
About this food

Wiki

http://www.kfc.com/doubledown/

The new KFC Double Down sandwich is real and it's coming April 12th! This one-of-a-kind sandwich features two thick and juicy boneless white meat chicken filets (Original Recipe® or Grilled), two pieces of bacon, two melted slices of Monterey Jack and pepper jack cheese and Colonel's Sauce. This product is so meaty, there’s no room for a bun!
view wiki

Details

First to Review

"Double Thumbs Down"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists