|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Food » Reviews » Edamame » User review

Edamame

A preparation of baby soybeans in the pod commonly found in Japan, China and Korea.

< read all 14 reviews

Tasty, Fibrous Pods of Happiness :)

  • Nov 16, 2009
Rating:
+5
Just like how bananas are often thought of as a happy fruit (they're smiley-shaped, afterall!), edamame are like happy, smiley soybeans!  It's hard to believe that there was ever a time where I didn't enjoy edamame.  I wouldn't touch them even if they were a complimentary app at a Japanese restaurant, but I gave them a chance a couple of years ago and they've really grown on me.  In fact, I think I might be obsessed.  Now my freezer is always stocked with at least a bag or two.  Both shelled and unshelled, courtesy of Trader Joe's.

The most common way edamame is prepared is boiled in salt water, cooled and served in its shell.  More recently though, I've been learning of all sorts of other ways to consume edamame.  Let's take a stroll through the edamame gallery:








Boiled and Chilled


 

 











With Indian Spices & Sea Salt (had this at Sashi)















Edamame Hummus



 











With Noodles















And my fave -- Mark Bittman's Edamame Salad
(recipe here)

 

 











And just because, check out this edamame pillow







And the best part of this adorably tasty treat?  They're pretty darn healthy!  The USDA states that edamame is "a soybean that can be eaten fresh and is best known as a snack with a nutritional punch".  They're packed full of fiber and protein, along with omega-3 fatty acids, iron and calcium, among other.

Edamame is so sturdy that I sometimes carry them around in baggies for a snack, or prepare a couple boxes of the Mark Bittman salad recipe in advance for when I'm on the go.  I eating one of those boxes in between typing this review :)

For good measure, I leave you with one of the most peculiar and adorable commercials ever, the Mameshiba 5 Edamame commercial!


Tasty, Fibrous Pods of Happiness :) Tasty, Fibrous Pods of Happiness :) Tasty, Fibrous Pods of Happiness :) Tasty, Fibrous Pods of Happiness :)

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
18
Thought-Provoking
18
Fun to Read
23
Well-Organized
17
Post a Comment
February 15, 2010
I love these. Used to snack on this a lot when in Shanghai. I'm marking this review for the Asian Food Community :-)
 
January 28, 2010
I'm not a foodie by any means, in fact everything I eat is frozen. But I get this one Orange Chicken from (I think) Lean Cuisine that has edamame scattered in it and it makes it just wonderful. They're semi-crunchy little bits of goodness that I wish they'd use in other dishes.
 
November 24, 2009
I'm having thanksgiving dinner with some vegetarians, and I was trying to think of a side dish to make - Edamame Hummus is perfect. Thanks for the inspiration and hooray for combining awesome things!
November 24, 2009
Thanks for your comment, Alex!  Definitely give edamame hummus a whirl!  There are plenty of great recipes online.  You might also appreciate this A Very Veggie Thanksgiving list full of veggie side recommendations! :)
 
November 17, 2009
That is one cool commercial!
November 17, 2009
It's super adorable! :)
 
November 17, 2009
This stuff is just so great! I always have a small plateful as an appetizer in my favorite Japanese restaurant. The one with the noodles, is that a Korean dish?
November 17, 2009
Oooh, what's your favorite Japanese restaurant?  And the noodles are actually Japanese, soba! :)
 
November 16, 2009
HAHAHAHAHAHAHAH! RANDOM! Awesome.
November 16, 2009
There's actually a toy version of that commercial! The pic is one of the thumbnails up there :)
 
November 16, 2009
That IS a strange commercial! ha ha ha

I have only had edamame in the boiled/salted style. I was under the impression that edamame was soybeans prepared that way. Is edamame a specific type of soybean?

I love how you find joy in the simplest of things! :D
November 16, 2009
That commercial is strange.  That's most reason to love it!  I think edamame refers to young soybeans in general and that over time, it became associated to that dish specifically.

Finding joy in the simplest things makes life more pleasant :)
 
1
More Edamame reviews
review by . March 04, 2010
posted in Vegan Living
      Lately I have been on an edamame kick, and it's probably thanks to having easy access through the nearby Trader Joe's and multiple Asian grocery stores.      Easy to Prepare      For one thing they are super easy to prepare as a snack food. Just toss the frozen soybeans in your steamer or boil on the stove for 10 or 15 minutes, add a little salt (or not) and then there you go. Perfect. Easy. Yummy.      You …
Quick Tip by . May 10, 2011
posted in Love Bites
Caption
A popular appetizer in the Japanese cuisine although if one has them in a Japanese restaurants, it's darn expensive! I found them in supermarkets in Shanghai 2 years ago at dirt cheap prices. All one has to do is to simply boil them and they serve as a great snack! My alternative to chips!                 
Quick Tip by . March 01, 2011
posted in Healthy Lifestyle
I just had edamame for the first time. I ate them steamed right out of the pod. Naturally tastes like buttered peas to me. Very tasty with lots of fiber. Will now be a staple for my weekly diet.
Quick Tip by . September 10, 2010
Very Happy to share. I am veggiie n would like to know more
Quick Tip by . June 08, 2010
posted in Healthy Lifestyle
Edamame is the best appetizer in the world! All restaurants should serve edamame on the table instead of bread.
Quick Tip by . May 23, 2010
posted in Healthy Lifestyle
This is my favorite starter before eating sushi. So healthy and tasty.
Quick Tip by . March 23, 2010
posted in Vegan Living
I've become a big fan of Edamame over the past few years. Goes great in many pasta/rice dishes or as a side
Quick Tip by . March 18, 2010
posted in Vegan Living
Love it.
Quick Tip by . March 17, 2010
posted in Vegan Living
There is nothing they do with edamame that I would not like. I love them boiled, dried and crunchy, hot flavored!
Quick Tip by . March 15, 2010
posted in Vegan Living
Pods of happiness! Love this shelled & in salads :)
About the reviewer
devora ()
Ranked #4
When I'm not Lunching, I'm a jeweler, and an all around, self-proclaimed web geek. My passions include social media, the interweb, technology, writing, yoga, fitness, photography, jewelry, fashion, … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
devora
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this food

Wiki

Edamame is a preparation of baby soybeans in the pod commonly found in Japan, China and Korea. The pods are boiled in water together with condiments such as salt, and served whole.

Outside East Asia, the dish is most often found in Japanese restaurants and some Chinese restaurants, but has also found popularity elsewhere as a healthful food item.

Green soybeans in the pod are picked before they ripen. The ends of the pod may be cut before boiling or steaming.

The pods are then boiled in water or steamed. The most common preparation uses salt for taste. The salt may either be dissolved in the boiling water before introducing the soybean pods, or it may be added after the pods have been cooked.

Other condiments can also be used. Jiuzao, made from the highly fermented grain residue left over from the distilling of rice wine, can be used to add fragrance and flavor. Some recipes also call for Sichuan pepper for taste. Five-spice powder can also be used for flavoring.

Boiled soybean pods are usually served after cooling, but can also be served hot. The beans are consumed whole. Along with eating the beans whole, they can be used to make a variety of dishes. Packets of seasoning for edamame dip can be found in many Asian/Oriental sections of food markets.

The United States Department of Agriculture states that edamame are "a soybean that can be eaten fresh and is best known as a snack with a nutritional punch".

Edamame also contains protein, which further helps ...
view wiki

Details

Polls with this food
Beets

What is Your Favorite Veggie?

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists