|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Food » Reviews » Gingerbread » User review

Gingerbread cookies

A sweet that can take the form of a cake or a cookie in which the predominant flavors are ginger and raw sugar.

< read all 1 reviews

Gingerbread cookies recipe with bacon fat

  • Dec 10, 2008
  • by
Rating:
+4
A couple of Xmases ago, I chanced across a recipe by the NY Times fashion critic Cathy Horyn for gingerbread cookies made with bacon fat. Alarming... and yet ... delicious. 

I couldn't find the recipe as it first appeared in the NY Times, but Cathy's re-posted it again on her blog. Here it is:  http://runway.blogs.nytimes.com/2007/04/08/lets-eat/

I am making it again this year, and will be frying up quite a bit of bacon to get at the fat. In my mind, it isn't the holidays unless it's something really decadent. What do you guys think? Too much? 
gingerbread cookies

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
6
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
0
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
December 19, 2008
this is insane. bacon ice cream?? CUPCAKES?? holy...how does the stuff taste in ice cream and cupcakes? I really want to try it ... but I'm not a fan of bacon... it sounds so intriguing though!!!!
 
December 18, 2008
Haha, now there's another reason for them to build that high speed bullet train from LA to San Fran!
 
December 18, 2008
@devora: Thanks for the tip. I'm going have to check it out now. I once had a part of a chocolate bar with bacon bits in it. Unfortunately, it was as gross as it sounds. But! I'll try anything w/ bacon in it at least once!
 
December 17, 2008
This is an amazing discovery!
 
December 17, 2008
You ever hear of Cups and Cakes in San Francisco? They can make cupcakes with bacon bits in it!
 
December 11, 2008
I'm glad you agree! It's so wildly decadent that I can't believe it even exists. But the smokiness of the bacon fat goes really well together w/ the spiciness of the cookie.
 
1
About the reviewer

Ranked #84
I'm a curious foodie, a devout fashion gawker, and an unrepentant print nerd. I work at one of the last mainstream commercial magazines that's still printing.      Other things … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
LingEatsCake
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this food

Wiki

Gingerbread is a sweet that can take the form of a cake or a cookie in which the predominant flavors are ginger and raw sugar.

As a cookie, gingerbread can be made into a thin, crisp cookie (often called a ginger snap) or a softer cookie similar to the German Lebkuchen. Gingerbread cookies are often cut into shapes, particularly gingerbread men. Traditionally it was dunked in port wine.

A gingerbread is used to build gingerbread houses similar to the "witch's house" encountered by Hansel and Gretel. These houses, covered with a variety of candies and icing, are popular Christmas decorations, typically built by children with the help of their guardians.

Another variant uses a boiled dough that can be molded like clay to form inedible statuettes or other decorations. A significant form of popular art in Europe, major centers of gingerbread mould carving included Lyon, Nürnberg, Pest, Prague, Pardubice, Pulsnitz, Ulm, and Toruń. Gingerbread molds often displayed the "news", showing carved portraits of new kings, emperors, and queens, for example. Substantial mould collections are held at the Ethnographic Museum in Toruń, Poland and the Bread Museum in Ulm, Germany.

The lesser known bread form tends to be a dense, treaclely (molasses-based) spice bread. Some recipes add mustard, pepper, raisins, nuts, and/or other spices/ingredients to the batter. In one variation, the bread omits raisins or nuts and is served with warm lemon sauce. In the United ...
view wiki

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists