|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Food » Reviews » Grape-Nuts » User review

Grape Nuts

A breakfast cereal developed by C. W. Post in 1897

< read all 4 reviews

A Versatile Cereal With Delicious Carbs to Jump Start Your Day!

  • Nov 6, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+5
While other companies are printing "low-carb" all over their food packaging to make their foods more marketable, it's awesome how Grape-Nuts proudly proclaims on their box that their "Grains are loaded with carbohydrates" (followed by, "the body's main energy source", of course!).  Being a self-proclaimed carb-aholic who has never caught onto the whole low-carb craze, I can dig this!

Considering I'm a huge Grape-Nuts fan now, it's hard to believe that there was a time when I flat out refused to even try it.  Without even ever having tried Grape-Nuts, I was already weirded out by by its name.  Grape-Nuts.  Yet it contains neither grape nor nuts, no freeze dried fruits, looks really strange, isn't frosted and smells kind of funny.  It didn't help that my healthnut BFF who eats the blandest foods is obsessed with it.

It was only recently when I decided to go on a health kick that I decided to give it a try.  And now?  I'm eating it just about every day.  Not because I have to and feel obligated for health reasons, but because I want to and actually dig the taste.  It's neither salty nor sweet, yet still very flavorful.  I'm not even sure how to describe the taste.  I guess it tastes... Earthy?  Nutty maybe?  These bad boys seem to stay crunchy forever, too.  I guess that would be considered a good thing, but it's a bit too much crunch for my taste, so I tend to mix in a bit of Kashi GoLean cereal with it, too.

Here are a few of my other favorite ways to eat Grape-Nuts:
  • With milk and sliced bananas and berries.
  • In place of granola in my yogurt parfait with vanilla yogurt and berries
  • Blended into fruit smoothies.
  • On top of pudding and custard.
  • As an ice cream topper (my favorite!!! :D).

I hear that it's also really good when heated up with milk.  I guess it turns into something like oatmeal?  And I can't help but wonder how it would be if I crushed it up some more and baked it atop mac 'n cheese, and maybe even breaded on fried chicken.  A couple of friends have said that they really like this with peanut butter and warm milk, and @dalydose says that he likes adding sugar to it (I'm going to try brown sugar!).  Those are all really simple ways to add some fiber, vitamins, iron, etc, into your diet because Grape-Nuts is full of all that healthy goodness.

Oh, the possibilities! :)
A Versatile Cereal With Delicious Carbs to Jump Start Your Day!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
41
Thought-Provoking
40
Fun to Read
41
Well-Organized
41
Post a Comment
January 30, 2012
I enjoy Grape Nuts cereals.
 
November 28, 2010
I'm glad you like Grape Nuts and I can eat it if I have to, but for me Grape Nuts swells up when you pour milk in it and tastes like and has the texture of driveway gravel. It does have a lot of good stuff in it so I guess it's a case of tastes okay but really good for you. I'll stick with Total.
 
September 19, 2010
An old reliable-- I also like oatmeal, granola, Roman Meal (hard to find), and hot grains.Mixing them into yogurt makes them easier to eat-- in the bowl by themselves with milk, they tend to be hard to track down and get on your spoon. The only problem w/ GrapeNuts is they catch between your teeth, or under a bridge in my case! They can be hard to get out of small nooks & crannies in your mouth, but they do taste great.
 
August 10, 2010
If you like this cereal you should try Grape Nut Ice Cream. It is a popular West Indian fare. I really like it and usually get some when I am on Utica Avenue in Brooklyn (at a place called Taste the Tropics).
 
April 12, 2010
I used to eat Grape-Nuts like crazy. They're excellent crumbled on ice cream!
 
March 02, 2010
I ate Grape-Nuts throughout my entire childhood. I used to add a decent amount of sugar to them back then.  Now I don't add sugar to anything.  I haven't had them in awhile. I like your ideas of having them with fruit smoothies or just adding fruit to the cereal itself. I will try these tasty little devils again.
March 02, 2010
I'm eating a bowl for dinner right now :D And yes, they're great smoothie mix ins! Ice cream, too :)
 
February 08, 2010
I love these and they are a great diet addition. Nice job
February 08, 2010
They sure are.  Thanks, Harold! :)
 
January 22, 2010
I like these too! It's amazing that they are able to taste great without a lot of added sugar. They're also vegan-friendly. Thanks for the neat review.
January 22, 2010
Ooooh, I did not know that these were vegan-friendly. Bonus points! Thanks for heads up on that! :)
January 23, 2010
Haha yep, you're welcome :)
 
November 19, 2009
I was looking for this at the supermarket 2 days ago but haven't found it yet, in Toronto I mean. Hopefully it's available here, I need to stock up some food in the house!
November 19, 2009
I thought this was available everywhere.  Good luck with the hunt! :)
November 19, 2009
I might have missed it somewhat. Will check again. Btw, don't think Trader Joe is available in Canada, is it?
November 19, 2009
I found it just, but only 3 boxes in a huge store. How strange!
November 20, 2009
Nope, no TJ's in Canada.  You could request it though ;)  And did you buy all three boxes??? :P
November 20, 2009
Yeah, one for myself, another for my niece & another for my friend, lol... so they are totally out now!
 
November 08, 2009
Solid Review. I am not a cereal fan but I love Grape-nuts it is a great meal. I cheat and add sugar sometimes but sliced strawberries is the way to go for me. On a cold day it is great heated up after a good workout, love it. Costco has a backpack sized box that will last you an entire year, just remember to lift with your legs.
November 09, 2009
Thanks, Bhaddad! I've been hearing heated up and/or with sugar from everyone, plus fresh fruit. Must be a winner then! I'm not sure if I'm ready for the Costco size yet. Baby steps. But when I am, I'll remember to lift with my legs :P
 
1 2 Next
More Grape-Nuts reviews
Quick Tip by . September 18, 2010
posted in Healthy Lifestyle
"Wheat Flour, Brown Sugar, Malted Barley Flour, Corn Syrup, Sugar, Salt, Caramel Color, Sodium Phosphate, Dried Yeast. Vitamins and Minerals" That is in no way healthy. At all.
Quick Tip by . April 01, 2010
posted in Healthy Lifestyle
They're allright I guess
About the reviewer
devora ()
Ranked #4
When I'm not Lunching, I'm a jeweler, and an all around, self-proclaimed web geek. My passions include social media, the interweb, technology, writing, yoga, fitness, photography, jewelry, fashion, … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
devora
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this food

Wiki

Grape-Nuts is a breakfast cereal developed by C. W. Post in 1897. Post was a patient and later competitor of the 19th-century breakfast food innovator, Dr. John Harvey Kellogg. Despite its name, neither grapes nor nuts have ever been ingredients in the cereal. The cereal is actually made from wheat and barley. Mr. Post believed that sucrose (which he called "grape sugar") formed during the baking process. This, combined with the nutty flavor of the cereal inspired its name. Another explanation originates from employees at Post who claim that the cereal got its name due to the cereal's resemblance to grape seeds or grape "nuts."

Grape Nuts is either eaten with milk, yogurt or orange juice. Grape-Nuts can also be cooked in a microwave.

Grape-Nuts was initially marketed as a natural cereal that could enhance health and vitality, and also as a "brain food." Its lightweight and compact nature, nutritional value, and resistance to spoilage made it a popular food for exploration and expedition groups in the 1920s and 1930s. Just before World War II, Grape-Nuts were included as a component of the lightweight Jungle ration used by some U.S. and Allied forces in wartime operations before 1944.

During the 1960s, advertising for the brand promoted Grape-Nuts as the cereal that "fills you up, not out." Brand users, particularly "mother/daughter look-alikes," were shown engaged in fitness activities such as tennis, horseback riding, ...
view wiki

Tags

Food, Breakfast, Cereal, Post Cereals

Details

Polls with this food
Apple Jacks

Cereal

by

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists