|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Recipes » Reviews » Homemade Bread Recipe » User review

Bread

A simple recipe for homemade bread

< read all 1 reviews

Nothing like bread fresh out of the oven!

  • Jun 13, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+5

I think it has been about ten years since the first time I wanted to make homemade bread. Now finally I got around to it, since money does not grow on trees, the economy is tough, and I don't have a full-time job (except for being a mother!). Now I am regretting I haven't done this earlier - not because it is cheaper but because it is fun and tastes so good! Not to mention the look on my husbands face when he comes home and smells the aroma :)

Priceless. 

It is sad indeed to read the list of ingredients on store bought 'bread'. I put it in quotation marks purposely, because it doesn't even resemble real bread. When I came to the States and saw Wonder bread for the first time, I was wondering how anyone can eat it. For many years my family bought bread at the local Russian store, a nostalgic tradition. Then once I got married we bought artisan breads at a regular grocery store until I found Trader Joe's Tuscan bread, a great value and delicious taste. But now, you can't really beat the value of homemade bread, twice the amount for half the price! Yes, it is a time investment, but certainly worth it if you have an hour+ to spare. 

Check out the wiki for the recipe and try it yourself! Then post your own review and photos. By no means is this the ultimate recipe, it is rather basic, no frills. You can do your own variations. I made it with whole wheat flour but really want to try plain white.  Here are some things I want to try with this and you can too:

  • Add black or green olives and/or garlic
  • Add some oregano and/or rosemary for Italian bread
  • Make half of it with grated cheese for hubby!
  • Add some Turbinado for a bit of sweetness

Tips: I like it round, but you can try any shape. It is also huge, so if you live alone you might want to half the recipe. I actually have a kitchen scale and weighed all the ingredients, but found that I needed more warm water than the recipe calls for. This recipe has no dairy ingredients, you can try a variation that does. I think a bit of honey would not hurt either. The Trader Joe's bread that we used to buy has pretty much the same ingredients plus a bit of honey. I highly recommend King Arthur flour though, it is great quality with consistent results (in my other baking ventures at least). Make sure you have fresh, high quality yeast, it makes a big difference. Mine wasn't the freshest, otherwise it would have been even more delicious (I would rate my loaf +4, not 5).

This can be a fun project if you have children. You can have them help with kneading the dough and make it a weekly activity to do together. You don't need a breadmaker for this either. Have fun and send any tips my way if you are a seasoned bread maker!

 

Freshly baked loaf Dough before baking

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
23
Thought-Provoking
14
Fun to Read
12
Well-Organized
12
Post a Comment
June 05, 2010
ooh i'm always looking for good bread recipes. thx!
June 06, 2010
You're welcome! This one's really simple, you can't go wrong with it :)
 
October 16, 2009
I once tried making homemade bread... It was a disaster! I'll have to try again with your recipe though. Will definitely add some Turbinado and maybe even some dried fruits! Thanks for sharing, Anastasia! :)
October 17, 2009
Glad the review inspired you to try one more time! Just make sure you have fresh yeast and water that is not too cold or hot. I have been making it in a ceramic loaf pan lately, that way the shape is good for sandwiches.
 
August 10, 2009
Nice recipe. When my kids were little I made bread a lot too, and they got to be very good kneaders. Fresh yeast is very important, and make sure the water is not too hot. The yeast is allive and reallly hot water kills it, I know from experience Also, if you have a gas stove, the pilot light keeps the oven just the right temperature for the raising period.
August 10, 2009
Thanks for the tips! Yeah, I did make the hot water mistake once, now I know from experience too. I have an electric stove, so I just turn the oven on for a few seconds, turn it off and then place the dough to rise in it with the door closed. I've been making it every week since I wrote that review!
 
June 16, 2009
Thanks for this! One of these days I'll have to try baking bread, I heard it's actually a lot better when home made. I remember a friend making garlic bread, and wow! they were so great!
June 16, 2009
You're welcome! I encourage you to make some, you'll be hooked :) I think it is also a great stress reliever besides being delicious.
 
June 14, 2009
Mmmm... I love fresh bread! I wanted to get a bread maker for a wedding gift, but it got cut from the list (not that a bread maker is really necessary). I agree that making bread can be a good activity for children, especially if you incorporate the "friendship bread" idea.
June 14, 2009
It's funny, when I made the bread it didn't even cross my mind that this could be easier with a bread maker until my husband came home and mentioned we should get one. What is "friendship bread"?
June 15, 2009
It's this thing where you make the bread (following the recipe) and then you separate the batter and give to your friends, with the recipe, who then make it and pass some more on to several of their friends. Here's a website with the recipe and instructions.
June 15, 2009
Thanks, that's pretty cool! Too bad I can't have any dairy, but I'll keep it in mind for when my daughter is older :)
 
1
About the reviewer
Anastasia B ()
Ranked #22
I am a woman, a wife, a mother, a daughter, a sister, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a Christ follower, an Interior Designer, a blog author, a cook, an artist, an eco-conscious consumer, a nature lover, … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
EcoMama
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this food

Wiki

Ingredients:

  • 1 kg flour (2.2 lb)
  • 700 mL warm water at 20 degrees celsius  9 (3 cups @ 68*)
  • 2 packets of yeast (15 g or half an ounce)
  • Canola or olive oil (1 tbsp)
  • 15 g sea salt (half an ounce)
  1. Sift together flour, yeast, and sea salt, mix, pour in water.
  2. Stir with large wooden spoon. Add water if the dough is too stif.
  3. Sift some flour onto a clean table or large cutting board, place the dough there and knead it by hand carefully.
  4. Coat a deep vessel with  olive oil (or canola), place the dough in it, cover with a towel and place in a warming drawer for 1 hour (the oven is ideal, just heat it up for one minute or less at 300*F prior to placing the dough there).
  5. After 1 hour knead on table or cutting board once again for 10 minutes. 
  6. Place back in the deep vessel and put in warming drawer for another hour.
  7. Preheat oven to 250 C (480 F).
  8. Put some flour on a baking sheet, place the risen dough on it and form a round loaf. Bake for 10 minutes, reduce heat to 220 C (430 F) and bake for another 30 minutes. Baking times may vary with your oven.
  9. Let cool, cut a slice and enjoy yummy homemade bread with some preserves or your choice of topping!
view wiki

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists