|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Know your farmer, know your food

A collaborative effort to build more locally based and self-reliant food economies.

< read all 4 reviews

A Quick Tip by djevoke

  • Nov 4, 2010
Just went to Berkeley's Farmers Market yesterday (sorry @devora!) with a chef friend of mine that was visiting and wanted to cook for us....in a few words, I was in heaven. Unlike other Farmer's Markets with just a few stands with everyone carrying the same thing and some craft and food vendors, Berkeley is truly a Farmer's Market. I bought some amazing bread, Quark, tomatoes, and the herbs are to die for! Affordable and fresh food while supporting local farms? WIN! A big plus, each vendor seemed to have a recipe to share!
Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
6
Post a Comment
November 04, 2010
Ha, I've lived next to Berkeley for years and have never strolled by the farmer's market before!  I'll have to check it out.  Have you ever been to Berkeley Bowl before?   If you haven't, I think you'd be in heaven there!  That's where I got my first Kicks ice cream sandwich ;)
November 04, 2010
Not yet- the only time I've heard about it is through Kicks ;p But, I think I would have to check it out...next time we'll have to head to the Farmers Market and then, the Bowl for some Kicks ;p
 
November 04, 2010
mmmmm....love any Farmer's Market! me like to cook! :)
November 04, 2010
me too! I still have to check out the Market at Ferry Building- I've heard great things about it.
 
1
More Local Food reviews
review by . January 31, 2011
   Yes I regularly watched the show, only because I thought Alyssa Milano was hot.        Exhibit A:            I was a teenager then. My English was getting better and I was learning to become American. My relationship with my parents deteriorated since they have remained very much Chinese. To them, there is no question who should be the boss. But to me and my adolescence, who’s the boss was manifested through my …
review by . May 27, 2010
posted in Gourmand
There is something to be said for being able to trace where your food comes from and know it is well taken care of before it gets to your kitchen.  The health benefits of eating food that comes from a farm and not a processor are exponential.  Knowing your farmer and your food is an ode to eating local and staying healthy.
Quick Tip by . May 27, 2010
posted in Gourmand
Eating local is not only great for your local community & economy, but also great for you!
About the reviewer
Samantha ()
Ranked #15
I'm a human jukebox that is constantly changing my station depending on my mood!   Feel free to share your passion with me in my communities: Pass the Remote!, Hip Hop Culture, Wedding Planning … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
djevoke
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this food

Wiki

Local food (also regional food or food patriotism) or the local food movement is a "collaborative effort to build more locally based, self-reliant food economies - one in which sustainable food production, processing, distribution, and consumption is integrated to enhance the economic, environmental and social health of a particular place" and is considered to be a part of the broader sustainability movement. It is part of the concept of local purchasing and local economies, a preference to buy locally produced goods and services. Those who prefer to eat locally grown/produced food sometimes call themselves locavores or localvores.
view wiki

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists