|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

A sandwich made from thinly sliced pieces of steak and melted cheese on a long roll

< read all 12 reviews

A Quick Tip by webstyler

  • Oct 18, 2010
  • by
I haven't tried the 2 places made infamous by the travel channel, in Philly, but my 2 experiences from other eateries in Philly lead my opinion to: Pittsburgh has better cheesesteaks!
Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
0
Post a Comment
More Philly Cheesesteak reviews
Quick Tip by . November 04, 2011
posted in Gourmand
One of my guilty pleasures. I know they'll one day kill me, but I can't help myself. I love the taste of grilled roast beef and mozzarella on a roll. It's perfect to eat while watching a football game and wash down with beer! However, they're swimming in grease and calories, so it's an every now and then thing for me.
Quick Tip by . March 18, 2011
Nothing nutritious, and it contains dairy and beef, neither of which I eat willingly. Overall a very bad choice.
Quick Tip by . December 06, 2010
i think i had this dish in Subway and American tasting of fast foods isa tempting one for my granddaughter
Quick Tip by . October 12, 2010
Nothing beats it with fries and a diet cherry coke!
Quick Tip by . October 07, 2010
Pass that wiz or it ain't real Philly. And the onions have to be sweet.
Quick Tip by . August 06, 2010
This is a classic if actually heated on a grill and not nuked in a microwave.
Quick Tip by . July 01, 2010
Okay, but have to go to far to get and excellent one.
Quick Tip by . June 28, 2010
Yum...especially from Geno's in Philly!
Quick Tip by . June 02, 2010
Yes please! :D
Quick Tip by . May 26, 2010
Delicious for a once in awhile treat
About the reviewer
Rachel ()
Ranked #1026
I have an obsession with creating the things that I see when I close my eyes.   I have been drawing all of my life. What once was a hobby has become a passion and it is time to share my visions. … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
webstyler
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this food

Wiki

A cheesesteak sandwich, known outside of Philadelphia as a "Philly cheesesteak," is a sandwich with thinly-sliced steak meat and melted cheese. When served without cheese, it is simply known as a "steak sandwich."

The sandwich was invented by Pat and Harry Olivieri of Philadelphia, who served the sandwich on a hoagie-style bun. By 1930, the sandiwch was so popular that Pat Olivieri opened a cheesesteak restaurant that exists today, known as Pat's King of Steaks.

Despite being popular in its original steak and cheese form, variations of the sandwich often include grilled onions and bell peppers. Cheese Whiz is also a common option, which became popular in the early 1950s.
view wiki

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists