|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Food » Reviews » Pho » User review

Pho

A Vietnamese beef and noodle soup from North Vietnam.

< read all 3 reviews

Pho Fabulous

  • Sep 26, 2009
Rating:
+5
Pho (Phở )is a staple food in Vietnam. It's probably the most famous and popular Vietnamese food outside & within Vietnam. When I first arrived in Canada, I was surprised to find so many Vietnamese restaurants here in Toronto and Vancouver. Later, I found some extremely good Vietnamese restaurants in San Francisco and Los Angeles areas too. As recently as just last month, I found a few more great ones in China (Beijing and Shenzhen).

So, it's Pho fabulous today for Lunch! 
Pho is basically rice noodle (made in Vietnam generally but may now be made in factories outside Vietnam, I'm not sure) which you generally find only in Vietnam and Vietnamese restaurants or provision shops. I have not seen Pho served as food outside where they are generally served, be it in any other Asian countries or otherwise. It is normally served in soup and topping such as beef and some bean sprout, lime, onions and basil leaves. See the videos below if you're interested in how it's being served.

  

Pho can be eaten during breakfast or lunch in Vietnam but is usually served at lunches or dinners outside Vietnam. The Asians, especially South East Asians may have very heavy breakfast. I've seen Pho served during breakfast at the hotels in Hanoi. Some other rice noodles have also been known to be served in Indonesia, Cambodia and Myanmar for breakfasts. 

If you like something light for lunch, this is actually perfect. It's quite reasonably priced in Canada, a small bowl may cost only $5-6. When eating Pho, be sure to dip your beef in the hot soup first before eating. Beef are normally added raw and you kinda cook them in the hot soup while it's served. Then, if you are adventurous, try dipping the beef slices onto some chili and sweet sauce. That way, it makes the beef real tasty! 

For those who have not tried Pho, you have to try it. It's truly Pho fabulous!

 

If you are still hungry after Pho, try the Summer rolls or shrimp rolls. I love these stuff!

Summer rolls
"
Pho Fabulous

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
9
Thought-Provoking
3
Fun to Read
12
Well-Organized
8
Post a Comment
June 06, 2010
Pho is yummy My wife and I love it and have recently moved to Honolulu and there are pho restaurants all over!
 
November 13, 2009
I love Pho! I haven't had it in a while and because of your review I am going to invest in the Pho market shortly! Thanks for the review!
November 13, 2009
Cool!!!
 
November 13, 2009
I LOVE tofu rolls so much. They're so tasty. Sharrie, you always make me so hungry! :)
November 13, 2009
Great! :-) I love food, just not putting on weight! ;-) I haven't had tofu rolls for quite some time now but am heading to Toronto tonight, so will be getting more Vietnamese food in the next few weeks!
 
September 28, 2009
I just got over the flu and had no less then three bowls of veggie pho with extra peppers and basil
September 29, 2009
Lucky u! I'm now in the midst of a chill with a churning stomach & have cold feet at times. I could do with some Pho but don't think my stomach can take anything right now. All I've been having is juices! Probably time to detox and go on diet, lol...
 
1
More Pho reviews
Quick Tip by . September 17, 2009
posted in The Rice Table
Best rice noodle, Vietnamese staple food. Fabulous Viet Pho, Yummmmm!
Quick Tip by . September 17, 2009
Mmmmm, beef broth with rice noodles. Love all the meats & herbs that I can top it with. Extra on the lime juice, basil & hot sauce, please!
About the reviewer
Sharrie ()
Ranked #3
I'm a traveler at heart & have been nicknamed Travel Queen by friends & colleagues alike. Traveling has been my life passion for the last decade or so. As we enter a new decade, I'm excited … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Sharrie
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this food

Wiki

Pho is a Vietnamese beef and noodle soup from North Vietnam. The soup includes noodles made from rice and is often served with basil, lime, bean sprouts and peppers that are added to the soup by the customer (as well as any condiments desired). There are many varieties with different ingredients.

Phở is served in a bowl with white rice noodles in clear beef broth, with thin cuts of beef (steak, fatty flank, lean flank, brisket). Variations featuring tendon, tripe, meatballs, chicken leg, chicken breast, or other chicken organs. 'With the lot' (made with chicken broth and all or most of the shop's chicken and cattle offerings, including chicken hearts and livers and beef tripe and tendons) is known as 'Phở đặc biệt' (specialty phở). There are also various vegetarian varieties of phở. Pho garnished with ngau pin, boiled ox penis, is a specialty served at Pho Hien in Los Angeles. Pho bac is a Hanoi style pho "made with wider, slitherier rice noodles, that was the original version of the dish before is was jazzed up with tripe, brisket, tendon and rare flank steak by Saigon plasure seekers 70 years ago.

The broth is generally made by simmering beef (and sometimes chicken) bones, oxtails, flank steak, charred onion, and spices, taking several hours to prepare. Seasonings include Saigon cinnamon, star anise, charred ginger, and cloves.

The dish is garnished with ingredients such as green onions, white onions, coriander leaves (cilantro), ngò gai (culantro, or long ...
view wiki

Details

First to Review

"Pho Fabulous"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists