|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

A type of corn which explodes from the kernel and puffs up when heated.

< read all 6 reviews

A Quick Tip by harryf

  • Mar 12, 2010
Can never get enough
Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
0
Post a Comment
More Popcorn reviews
review by . August 29, 2010
posted in Awesomeness
Sometimes reviews are not just about communicating one's opinion to whomever will read it.  Sometimes it's about giving back and sharing something learned. This isn’t just a good idea.  This is a cost-saving, gourmet potential, slightly impressive activity that anyone can do and I thought I’d share it with you.      The news was so exciting to me that it had do be done with a video!  Roll the video
Quick Tip by . October 27, 2010
Junk gets stuck in my teeth and my gums and upsets my tummy. The worst is microwave popcorn. If anyone at work makes it I have to evacuate the premises. What an awful stench!
review by . October 06, 2009
Popcorn 1
The year was 1948.  Researchers discovered some very old ears of corn in a bat cave in west central Mexico.  According to the scientists who examined and tested them these ears dated back to approximately 2500 B.C. when the Cachise Indians were thought to have grown and eaten popcorn.  Likewise, popcorn kernels have been found in tombs on the east coast of Peru.  Amazingly, some of these kernels still popped after more than 1000 years!   And legend has it that …
Quick Tip by . September 25, 2010
posted in Awesomeness
Tasty and yummy junkfood treat. Now comes in lots of flavors but the original flavor with butter and salt is best.
Quick Tip by . April 10, 2010
posted in Gourmand
A food that I could not possibly live without. Trapped on a desert island ... this would be a must have :)
About the reviewer
Harry Fuecks ()
Ranked #5357
Member Since: Mar 12, 2010
Last Login: May 3, 2010 10:11 PM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
harryf
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this food

Wiki

Popcorn or popping corn is a type of corn which explodes from the kernel and puffs up when heated. Corn popping was originally discovered by Native Americans, but became popular as a snack food during the United States Great Depression, especially in movie theaters.

Corn is able to pop because, unlike other grains, its kernels have a hard moisture-sealed hull and a dense starchy filling. This allows pressure to build inside the kernel until an explosive "pop" results. Some strains of corn are now cultivated specifically as popping corns.

There are many techniques for popping corn. Commercial large-scale popcorn machines were invented by Charles Cretors in the late 19th Century. Many types of small-scale home methods for popping corn also exist, with the most popular being prepackaged microwavable popcorn.

As a snack food, popcorn has both advocates and detractors. Some consider it to be a health food, while others caution against it for a variety of reasons. Popcorn can also have non-food applications, ranging from holiday decorations to packaging materials.

view wiki

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists