|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Food » Reviews » Poutine » User review

Poutine

A dish consisting of French fries topped with fresh cheese curds, covered with brown gravy and sometimes additional ingredients.

< read all 2 reviews

Poutine: Like Delicious Cheese Fries with Gravy

  • Jul 26, 2009
Rating:
+5
While expanding my knowledge on Wikipedia a couple of months ago, I came across the page for poutine.  I must've been looking up french fries or something, but my jaw dropped as I saw the picture and read the description.  I needed it in my belly.  It looked about as heart attack inducingly delicious as a blooming onion, but somehow, BETTER.  Must be the addition of cheese and gravy over all that fried stuff!  I had to have it.

I immediately sent out a tweet about my discovery, "zomg, just discovered poutine.  where can I get it in San Francisco!?!"  A gracious friend read my tweet and said that he knew of a place and would take me (if you're in the area, we had it at Salt House on Mission St., one of very, very few places that serve this around here).  I licked the plate clean.  It was amazing.  Absolutely amazing.  I mean, how could it not be amazing?  French fries are already amazing on their own.  Cheese fries are doubly amazing.  Add gravy on top of that?  Triple amazing.

Maggi Family

As I was chowing down on that hot mess that you see up there, I tweeted, "zomg, currently grubbing on the best poutine EVER".  One of my Canadian followers struck up a conversation with me about it and she tweeted to me that they were available in Costco food courts in Canada, as well as fast food restaurants throughout Canada, including McDonald's, KFC and Burger King.

What???  I had to go to some fancy schmancy restaurant in San Francisco to have poutine, yet it's readily available at Costco and fast food joints in Canadia?  What don't Canadians have?  Well, they did kind of lose Pam Anderson and The Girls, but other than that, they seem like a pretty peaceful nation with great health care, bacon, maple leaves, ice hockey, Celine Dion, Degrassi and POUTINE.  Sure does sound mighty tempting to visit Canadia!
Poutine at Salt House

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
22
Thought-Provoking
12
Fun to Read
22
Well-Organized
22
Post a Comment
September 14, 2009
There goes my diet plan!!! Will probably be in Canada next month and lots of friends are buying me lunch (that's why not heading Manhattan Beach, haha!)! But I'm talking about Vietnamese curry crab (Vancouver crabs) and lobster and all that's great for the palate but bad for my figure! I'll certainly check this out for snacks, lol....... You my dear is a 'bad' influence!
September 14, 2009
Pffft, there's too much good food out there to be on a diet! I'm jealous of all your vacations! I hear that Canada has amazing and cheap seafood. It's okay if you think that I'm a bad influence, though, because I know that you'll end up thanking me later ;P
 
August 05, 2009
The best part of poutine is that it isn't just any kind of cheese, but delicious cheese curds. And the best poutine can only be found in Quebec (preferably in the chalet at a ski resort), much like maple syrup.
August 05, 2009
Mmmm... cheese curds!  Chalet at a ski resort in Quebec?  I'll have to remember that.  In one of the comments below, @MarySoderstrom says that there's really good poutine at Mome Bolduc's in Montreal, too.

And good to see you back, Miss Nico! :)
 
August 05, 2009
whenever I feel like getting motivated to eat some good stuff I check out your profile, Devora...this sounds like it is so deliciously unhealthy but hey once in awhile, right? Great write up as always!
August 05, 2009
Thanks, Woo! Glad I can inspire you to eat delicious food. Go get some poutine at Town Hall! :)
 
1
More Poutine reviews
review by . December 16, 2010
Happy Canada Day! To celebrate Canada Day I am re-posting my poutine series on “The BEST Poutine on Davie Street”. What better way to celebrate being Canadian than to drool over our perhaps most famous authentic Canadian food: poutine! This is Vancouver’s Best Poutine on Davie Street Part 4 of 4. For the other posts in this Best Poutine on Davie Street series: La Belle Patate – The authentic Poutine La Brasserie – The Gourmet Poutine (Bonus: The “Cure …
About the reviewer
devora ()
Ranked #4
When I'm not Lunching, I'm a jeweler, and an all around, self-proclaimed web geek. My passions include social media, the interweb, technology, writing, yoga, fitness, photography, jewelry, fashion, … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
devora
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this food

Wiki

Poutine is a dish consisting of French fries topped with fresh cheese curds, covered with brown gravy and sometimes additional ingredients.

Poutine is a diner staple which originated in Quebec and can now be found across Canada. It is sold by both fast food chains (such as New York Fries, Harvey's, Ed's Subs), in small "greasy spoon" type diners (commonly known as "casse-croûtes" in Quebec) and pubs, as well as by roadside chip wagons. International chains like McDonald's, A&W, KFC and Burger King also sell mass-produced poutine. Popular Quebec restaurants that serve poutine include Chez Ashton (Quebec City), La Banquise (Montreal), Louis (Sherbrooke), Lafleur Restaurants, Franx Supreme, La Belle Province, Le Petit Québec and Dic Ann's Hamburgers. Along with fries and pizza, poutine is a very common dish sold and eaten in high school cafeterias in various parts of Canada.

The dish originated in rural Quebec, Canada, in the late 1950s. Several Québécois communities claim to be the birthplace of poutine, including Drummondville (by Jean-Paul Roy in 1964), Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, and Victoriaville. One often-cited tale is that of Fernand Lachance, from Warwick, Quebec, which claims that poutine was invented in 1957, when a customer ordered fries while waiting for his cheese curds from the Kingsey cheese factory in Kingsey Falls (now in Warwick and owned by Saputo Incorporated). Lachance is said to have exclaimed ça va...
view wiki

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists