|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Food » Reviews » Primal Strips » User review

Primal Strips

A line of meat-free jerky

< read all 1 reviews

Anti Slim Jim!

  • Jan 7, 2010
Rating:
+5
My mom has always been very health conscious so when I was growing up I was inadvertantly raised to scoff at anything full of fat and salt and other grossness. This DEFINITELY included all forms of beef jerky, slim jims, the gross meat/cheese combo "sticks", what have you. I somehow went 18 years of being a carnivore without trying beef jerky once.

Even though I never had the "real deal", when I saw vegan beef jerky at my local health store, it just seemed like a great idea. Especially since each strip has only 99 calories, 3 grams of fat, 10 grams of protein and 0 trans fat. I bought one of each flavor:

Thai Peanut
- Delicious peanutty flavor..reminds me a lot of a thai peanut satay dish.
Mesquite Lime - Definitely my least favorite flavor. Too much citrus for my taste.
Teriyaki - Surprisingly distinct teriyaki flavor. Also reminds me of delicious Asian cuisine.
Hot &Spicy - Not mouth-burningly insane but still has a little kick. Made out of Shiitake mushrooms!
Hickory Smoked - DELICIOUS. A little sweet and smoky. My second favorite.
Texas BBQ - My hands-down favorite. Great BBQ taste.




I love the overall texture of Primal Strips, its soft and chewy and tears off in a very meat-like way. They did a great job with this product.

The price is my only near-qualm with Primal Strips. The individual 1oz packages of jerky usually go for about $1.50 or more each, which adds up relatively fast when you eat them as much as I do! They also sell a 4 oz back of strips and that is usually about $4-$5 - much more economical but harder to find. I should buy them in bulk on Amazon!!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
27
Thought-Provoking
23
Fun to Read
24
Well-Organized
27
Post a Comment
August 03, 2011
This stuff looks calorie rich.
 
January 12, 2010
MMMMM I LOVE these things, my parents are totally addicted, so I always snack on them at home. I never thought to buy them for myself...probably because I have been living out of 7-11 for the past few months but I should really go over to Rainbow Acres...
 
January 09, 2010
I definitely agree about the Mesquite Lime flavor. It just tastes too much like lime. Great review. The picture you posted definitely demonstrates how similar the texture of Primal Strips is to real meat.
 
January 08, 2010
I tried Slim Jims a few times when I was real young and of less than sound mind. LOL! How similar are these, 'cause I'm not sure that making Slim Jims vegan would make me actually want to eat them?
By the way, I tried using the Tempeh bacon in a sandwich and when cooked in the right spices it tastes like steak, only better. YUM!
January 08, 2010
Hm...As I say in my review I've never had a Slim Jim so I have no clue! I really think they're tasty though. Very meat-like.

The tempeh bacon is awesome - glad you enjoyed it! I've sort of learned it is a fine line though...I've made it before just SLIGHTLY off and the whole thing came out a bust. Oh well.
January 08, 2010
What kind of tempeh were you using? So far, I've tried three kinds put out by LiteLife and this one has been the best. I even like it uncooked with a bit of catsup. I'm thinking about makng vegan fishsticks with it.
January 08, 2010
that's the kind I use too. I heard you are supposed to be wary of raw tempeh...I think it is supposed to have some sort of fermenting yeast/fungus/something that could react weird under the right circumstances...
January 08, 2010
Really? Like pop rocks and soda? ; )
 
January 07, 2010
Sounds interesting. I am not vegan by any means, but I am starting to realize I need to eat healthier since I am not as active as I used to be. This might be a good step. Thanks for your review.
 
January 07, 2010
Ooooh, I was curious about this product when I saw a picture of it in @Ulalume's Cosmo's Vegan Shoppe review.   Glad to hear that they're tasty!  I don't usually like meat substitutes, but I found that veggie jerky is one thing that I like, so I'll have to pick up one of these next chance I get.  Thanks for sharing, lady! :)
 
1
About the reviewer
Melissa Aquino ()
Ranked #62
Born and raised in NJ, relocated to Boston, MA to study at Emerson College, transplanted to Hollywood, CA to get my career started on the fairer coast.      I love hiking, eating new … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
MelissaAq
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this food

Wiki

Voted Best New Vegetarian Snack by VegNews, our Primal Strips are also the favorite of protein hungry bikers, climbers, and outdoors people. Look beyond snacking and try cutting them up in salads, stir frys, and burritos, or even served hot on sandwiches. Kids love them in their lunch boxes and as mid-day snacks.

Primal Strips are delicious, healthy, meat alternative snacks providing the positive health benefits of Soy, Seitan and Shiitake Mushrooms, all with full meaty satisfaction.

view wiki

Details

First to Review

"Anti Slim Jim!"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists