|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Food » Reviews » Purely Decadent Coconut Milk Ice Cream » User review

Purely Decadent Coconut Milk Ice Cream

Dairy-free, gluten-free non-dairy frozen dessert.

< read all 5 reviews

Turtle Mountain's Coconut Ice Cream Line is Purely Decadent

  • Mar 1, 2010
Rating:
+5
I had already been a long-time fan of Turtle Mountain's other ice cream products, Purely Decadent, So Delicious and Soy Delicious, when they unveiled their Purely Decadent Coconut Milk Ice Cream. I already enjoy the flavor of coconut ice cream, but I still wondered how it would stack up and compare to their soy-based line. After all, this ice cream comes in more than just the basic coconut or vanilla, so it definitely needed a taste test or two.

So far, I have tasted the following flavors from the Purely Decadent Coconut Milk Ice Cream line:

  • Coconut
  • Vanilla Bean
  • Chocolate
  • Mint Chip
  • Mocha Almond Fudge
  • Cookie Dough

The remaining flavors I have not tried are Chocolate Peanut Butter Swirl and Passionate Mango.

Assessment of Each Flavor

Coconut and Vanilla Bean are similar in flavor, but the Vanilla Bean has a stronger vanilla taste. They are both creamy and mild, and as with most vanilla ice creams are a perfect as an accompaniment to a baked dessert like pie or cake.

While also pretty basic, Chocolate is one of my favorite flavors. The coconut already lends a creamy richness, but the chocolate brings it over the edge. If you're not a huge fan of coconut, the chocolate also tends to mask the flavor somewhat.

I'm very particular when it comes to a mint chip ice cream, so to me the Mint Chip flavor is underwhelming and disappointing. The chocolate is incorporated more as a swirl and is not in actual chip form, and the mint is just so-so. If you like a mint ice cream no matter what, though, this may be an enjoyable flavor for you regardless.

Not only is Mocha Almond Fudge a great flavor, it also has an interesting texture due to its three star ingredients. The base flavor of the ice cream is coffee, with fudge swirls and almond pieces throughout. The coffee is not too intense, and the fudge and almonds really give the ice cream a nice finish.

While Cookie Dough is not my personal favorite, we probably purchase it more than any of the other flavors above. The cookie dough itself is pretty standard in size and texture, and has a strong maple syrup flavor. What's interesting about that, however, is that it actually contains no maple syrup. It's likely that flavor is from the brown sugar, which, of course, is made with white sugar and molasses.

Overall, I am very impressed with this line of products. They also seem to be coming out with new flavors in this line all the time, so I'll be interested in seeing what's ahead for them. The taste and texture are consistently good, and should be a great substitution for people looking to incorporate less dairy or soy in their diets.

The only real negative I'll post is that their products are fairly expensive (runs about $4 - $5/pint) which can be a barrier for people who have less money to spend on things like a vegan gourmet ice cream. Still, this can be a great splurge for when you've got the cash and the occasion.
Turtle Mountain's Coconut Ice Cream Line is Purely Decadent

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
47
Thought-Provoking
41
Fun to Read
44
Well-Organized
41
Post a Comment
July 11, 2011
This ice cream sounds like an interesting indulgence except for the high level of sugar grams.
 
October 13, 2010
Yum! This sounds SO good....thanks so much for sharing!
 
March 03, 2010
I am such a coconut addict! Thanks for sharing this!
 
March 02, 2010
I'd be very tempted to try the mocha almond fudge & mango flavors. Coconut flavor sounds pretty exotic but I'm into anything exotic so I'll probably love it! Great review!
 
March 02, 2010
I used to love the texture of soy ice cream, but try my best to watch my consumption of many soy products. I try not to eat too much of it-- I like a good balance. When Purely Decadent came out with their coconut milk ice cream, I was so excited! It is more than delicious and soy free! PB Swirl and Chocolate chip cookie dough are delicious. I just wish it wasn't so expensive, otherwise, I'd eat it everyday!
 
March 01, 2010
I think the Chocolate Purely Decadent coconut milk ice cream tastes a lot like gelato. I can't keep enough of it in my freezer. I have to hide a pint in the back of the freezer where my family won't find it, or else I never get to have any! I downloaded some $1-off coupons at Turtle Mountain's website: http://turtlemountain.com/products/coupon.html
 
March 01, 2010
I tried this a few months ago (I think the Mint Chip flavor) and the taste took a bit of getting used to, but now I love it! Maybe I should have stuck with Coconut as my introduction to this brand ;)
 
March 01, 2010
Looks like something right up my alley! I am personally a huge fan of gelato, but I don't digest dairy very well. This looks delicious, thanks!
 
March 01, 2010
I'm a vegan, and I too love Turtle Mountain products, especially because of the good that they do for sea turtles. I've been reluctant to try the coconut milk ice creams though, mainly because most of the fat in coconut milk is saturated, but because I'm trying to consume less soy, I will give these a try. Thanks!
 
1
More Purely Decadent Coconut Milk I... reviews
review by . February 04, 2010
I have a serious addiction. Not to alcohol or cigarettes... my vice is coconut milk ice cream. In my search to find a great-tasting non-dairy ice cream for my daughters, I tried every rice milk ice cream flavor ever made. None satisfied and all had a distinct rice-y taste.      Then I found Purely Decadent Coconut Milk ice cream. Oh... my... yumness. So creamy, so delicious. My favorite flavors are Vanilla Bean and Mint Chip. I am sure I would love the Chocolate Peanut Butter …
review by . March 06, 2010
posted in Vegan Living
I hope you like the taste of coconut...
        I’m a vegan that enjoys something sweet from time to time, so when I first tried Turtle Mountain’s soy-based ice cream over a year ago, it was love at first bite (or should I say pint…). However, since then, I have made the decision to consume less soy because of conflicting arguments over the dangers and benefits of soy. (It seems my list of acceptable foods becomes shorter every week.) There are several alternatives to soy when it comes …
review by . February 04, 2010
Purely Decadent, Positively Delicious!
Purely Decadent coconut milk ice cream is so rich and creamy, it reminds me of the gelato I enjoyed on childhood vacations to Italy. People who are vegan, lactose intolerant, or just looking for a healthier alternative to dairy products, will find themselves falling in love with ice cream all over again. The range of flavors is enticing: Cherry Amaretto, Chocolate, Chocolate Brownie Almond, Chocolate Peanut Butter Swirl, Coconut, Cookie Dough (gluten-free, too!), Mint Chip, Mocha Almond Fudge, …
About the reviewer
Samantha ()
Ranked #195
My name is Samantha andIwrite www.NovelEats.com, a vegan food blog where I post recipes, how-to articles and advice for people who are considering incorporating vegan food into their diets. Ialso pride … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
noveleats
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this food

Wiki

  • Dairy Free/Lactose Free
  • Sweetened with Agave
  • Gluten Free
  • Contains no soy protein
  • Cholesterol Free
  • No Trans Fats
  • Certified Vegan
  • Certified Made with Organic Ingredients
view wiki

Details

Type: Dairy-free/soy-free
Size: Pint
Flavor(s): Chocolate, Chocolate Peanut Butter Swirl, Coconut, Cookie Dough, Mint Chip, Mocha Almond Fudge, Passionate Manga, Vanilla Beans
Vendor: Several grocery stores
Polls with this food
479° Popcorn

Rate these Yummy, Green Foods!

by

Naked Coconut

Your favorite vegan ice creams

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists