|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

A species of goosefoot grown as a crop primarily for its edible seeds.

< read all 10 reviews

A Quick Tip by Philip_M_Hellmich

  • May 27, 2010
  • by
Love it, especially with lentils, carrots & onions! I cook with a crock pot and timer, come home from work to a delicious meal!
Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
0
Post a Comment
More Quinoa reviews
Quick Tip by . January 14, 2011
I absolutely love this stuff in salads, and I actually use it as a replacement for bulgur in tabouleh to make quinoa tabouleh! Try it :)
Quick Tip by . June 27, 2010
full protein...
Quick Tip by . June 14, 2010
Great in salad
Quick Tip by . March 10, 2010
Quinoa is my favourite alternative to carbs like rice, potatoes, pasta or bread. It's so tasty and great texture!
Quick Tip by . March 04, 2010
oh, how I love quinoa, let me count the ways! SO tasty, great texture, flavor & insane nutrition. win, win, win! wish it cooked quicker tho
Quick Tip by . March 04, 2010
tried it for the first time this weekend in Kauai. where has quinoa been all my life?
Quick Tip by . February 28, 2010
Quinoa is really tasty if you cook it with olive oil, garlic and salt. Mix white & red quinoa together. You can make it in a rice cooker!
review by . April 06, 2009
Health nuts have a habit of pointing to the ingredient list on the package of your favorite snack food and asking, "how could you eat mono unpolyhydro chlorofoam?  You should never eat anything you can't pronounce!"  To them I say, "quinoa."
About the reviewer
Philip M Hellmich ()
Ranked #390
I read aboutLunch.com's intention of helping people find Common Ground via social networks andloved it! I have been working with Search for Common Ground since 1997,an organization dedicated to transforming … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Philip_M_Hellmich
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this food

Wiki

Quinoa is an amino acid-rich (protein) seed that has a fluffy, slightly crunchy texture and a nutty flavor when cooked. It is available in most local health food stores year round.

Most commonly considered a grain, quinoa is actually a relative of leafy green vegetables like spinach and Swiss chard. It is a recently rediscovered ancient "grain" once considered "the gold of the Incas."

In contemporary times, this crop has become highly appreciated for its nutritional value, as its protein content is very high (12%–18%), making it a healthful choice for vegetarians and vegans.
view wiki

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists