|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Food » Reviews » Sashimi » User review

Sashimi

A Japanese delicacy primarily consisting of very fresh raw seafood sliced into thin pieces.

< read all 3 reviews

Hooked!

  • Feb 23, 2010
Rating:
+5
I'm not very fond of Sushi outside Japan as I don't really like rice that much. But when in Tokyo, I've had 14-15 pieces of sushi at one go when in Ginza. So, that implies it's a case of the rice used and also how good the chef is that determines my liking for sushi.

As for Sashimi, the best is still in Japan but one can find pretty good Sashimi in Canada and the U.S., especially along the coastal cities. I have found good sashimi in Vancouver, Toronto and Seattle. I'm sure there are good ones in San Francisco and San Diego as well.



Now, Sashimi is a Japanese delicacy for the adventurous. It takes a few sampling to get used to the thought of putting raw fish and seafood in one's mouth. I started young so I don't quite remember how that was like. I did know I didn't like it my first time though. Hence, it is much of an acquired taste.

For one, the seafood MUST be very fresh. Otherwise, you'll even get food poisoning! 

Here, I'll introduce you to some of my favorites which may or may not be found in the U.S.:

  • Ikura (salmon roe): the freshest and one that doesn't smell is only found in Japan. 
  • Aji (horse mackerel): I love this fish when served whole. The bones may be fried after you're done with the sashimi.
  • Akagai (ark shell or red clam): This is best with sushi or on its own.
  • Hamachi (yellowtail): My favorite fish, other than toro.
  • Uni (sea urchin): It takes quite a bit of getting used to but the freshest are simply heavenly.
  • Fugu (puffer fish): Tried it in Kyoto. Lovely and still alive ;-)
  • Toro (fatty tuna): Good almost everywhere.
  • Hotategai (scallop): As with the others, Japanese scallop is very fresh & taste good alone or as sushi.
  • Bonito Tataki (seared skipjack tuna): This is the latest craze for me after having tried it in Tokyo.
  • Ise-ebi (lobster)
  • Mirugai (geoduck): So far, it was a Chinese restaurant in Vancouver that served the best geoduck sashimi I've ever had!

As a note of precaution, as Sashimi is a delicacy so it is very expensive. Be sure you have your credit card before you order a full table of Sashimi. Each plate may cost US$20-50 easily depending on where you eat them. So, unless you're trying to impress your date, do not order too many as she might not even like it!

Hehe... @Devora & me love this, so if you're planning on taking us to dinner, be sure you are ready for the bill ;-) For the uninitiated, it is best to order a 'sampling' plate and see how you both like it.



So, how about it? Are you game for some sashimi? It's difficult to describe what each and every single one of them taste like but until you try it yourself, you'll never ever know. :-)
Hooked! Hooked! Hooked! Hooked!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
27
Thought-Provoking
25
Fun to Read
27
Well-Organized
27
Post a Comment
February 08, 2012
Looks like good stuff !
 
February 24, 2010
I love Sashimi...super white tuna, toro, puffer fish, stone fish, uni, hamachi, raw octopus...give them all to me!!! I just got over food poisoning but I want some raw fish! LOL
February 24, 2010
Sorry about your getting food poisoning! What happened? Too much oysters? ;-) Octopus is nice. Do you like scallops? I forgot to add that in! Yum!
 
February 23, 2010
Yes, I am more than game for some sashimi.  Great review, Sharrie!  I'm more of a sashimi girl myself.  My stomach has limited space and does not like to be wasted on rice! ;) I still need to try akaijai and fugu.  Looks like I'm going to be doing Japanese for dinner tonight!

Oh, and let me know if any readers are interested in having us fine ladies grace them with our presence. ...While taking us out for some good sashimi! ;)
February 23, 2010
Hey, you guys can't go without me! ;)

Of all the types of sashimi I've had here in the US, my favorite is DEFINITELY squid. I love the buttery taste it has if it is very fresh!
February 23, 2010
Well, I don't think anyone's going to have a problem dining with three fine ladies! ;P  If we could make our way to the coast of Hong Kong... we could gorge on delicious, fresh sashimi for super cheap! *dreaming*
February 24, 2010
Haha... super cheap?! Unlikely!
 
1
More Sashimi reviews
Quick Tip by . February 23, 2010
My most favorites are Ikura, Akagai, Aji, Fugu, Mirugai, Hamachi, Hotate-gai & Uni. An acquired taste but oh so good! Oishii desune!
About the reviewer
Sharrie ()
Ranked #3
I'm a traveler at heart & have been nicknamed Travel Queen by friends & colleagues alike. Traveling has been my life passion for the last decade or so. As we enter a new decade, I'm excited … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Sharrie
Your ratings:
Uni
Uni
rate more to improve this
About this food

Wiki

Sashimi is a Japanese delicacy primarily consisting of very fresh raw seafood, sliced into thin pieces and served with only a dipping sauce (soy sauce with wasabi paste or other condiments such as grated fresh ginger, or ponzu), depending on the fish, and simple garnishes such as shiso and shredded daikon radish. Dimensions vary depending on the type of item and chef, but are typically about 2.5 cm (1") wide by 4 cm (1.5") long by 0.5 cm (0.2") thick.

The word sashimi means "pierced body", i.e. "刺身 = sashimi = 刺し = sashi (pierced, stuck) and 身 = mi (body, meat), may derive from the culinary practice of sticking the fish's tail and fin to the slices in identifying the fish being eaten.

Another possibility for the name could come from the traditional method of harvesting. 'Sashimi Grade' fish is caught by individual handline, and as soon as the fish is landed, its brain is pierced with a sharp spike, killing it instantly, then placed in slurried ice. This spiking is called the Ike jime process. Because the flesh thus contains minimal lactic acid from the fish dying slowly, it will keep fresh on ice for about 10 days without turning white, or otherwise degrading.

The word sashimi has been integrated into the English language and is often used to refer to other uncooked fish preparations besides the traditional Japanese dish subject of this article. Many non-Japanese conflate sashimi and sushi; the two dishes are actually distinct and separate. ...

view wiki

Details

First to Review

"Hooked!"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists