|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Soursop

A broadleaf flowering evergreen tree that bears a fruit of the same name.

< read all 5 reviews

A Quick Tip by Sharrie

  • May 10, 2011
  • by
On its own, eaten as a fruit or drank as a juice, Soursop is refreshing. It has a unique taste and impossible to describe. Having tried it, one would never forget it. Not 'stinky' like Durian as some may choose to define Durian, it certainly is in a class of its own.



Caption Caption Caption
Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
6
Post a Comment
August 29, 2011
Wow! Sharrie, where are you from! Soursop is a favorite in my home country (Trinidad). You're making me crave some!!
 
May 13, 2011
Ugh, these look too heavenly! I've only ever had this prepared. I want to try it raw!
 
May 13, 2011
mmmmm.....
 
1
More Soursop reviews
Quick Tip by . April 29, 2011
posted in Gourmand
Caption
This is another juicy fruit with refreshing flesh. It is great on itself with shaved ice or alternatively as a juice by itself or mixed with Avacado & condense milk. Yummmmmm!
Quick Tip by . April 26, 2010
For the longest time, it's great as fruit & juice. Recently, I discovered how heavenly it could be when mixed with avacado as a juice!
Quick Tip by . November 19, 2009
I've yet to have the fruit in the flesh, but I LOVE soursop candy!
Quick Tip by . November 19, 2009
Love soursop juice. What a delightful fruit!
About the reviewer
Sharrie ()
Ranked #3
I'm a traveler at heart & have been nicknamed Travel Queen by friends & colleagues alike. Traveling has been my life passion for the last decade or so. As we enter a new decade, I'm excited … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Sharrie
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this food

Wiki

The soursop is a broadleaf flowering evergreen tree native to Mexico, Central America, the Caribbean and northern South America. Today, it is also grown in some areas of Southeast Asia. It is in the same genus as the cherimoya and the same family as the pawpaw. In most Spanish speaking countries it is commonly known as Guanábana. In the Philippines, it is known as guyabano.

The soursop is adapted to areas of high humidity and relatively warm winters, temperatures below 5 °C will cause damage to leaves and small branches, and temperatures below 3 °C can be fatal.

Comparisons of its flavour range from strawberry and pineapple mixed together to sour citrus flavour notes contrasting with an underlying creamy roundness of flavour reminiscent of coconut or banana. The fruit is somewhat difficult to eat, as the white interior pulp is studded with many large seeds, and pockets of soft flesh are bounded by fibrous membranes. The soursop is therefore usually juiced rather than eaten directly.

The plant is grown as a commercial crop for its 20-30 cm long prickly green fruit, which can have a mass of up to 2.5 kg.

Away from its native area, there is some limited production as far north as southern Florida within USDA Zone 10; however these are mostly garden plantings for local consumption. It is also grown in parts of southeastern Asia. The soursop will reportedly fruit as a container specimen, even in temperate climates if protected from cool temperatures.

The flesh ...
view wiki

Details

Polls with this food
banana

Tropical Fruits

by

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists