|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Food » Reviews » Starbucks » User review

Starbucks

A coffee franchise in the US

< read all 22 reviews

Starbucks: Varies by Region

  • Jan 24, 2000
  • by
Rating:
+3
Pros: Good coffee, decent service

Cons: Lines are long sometimes, kind of pricey

I LOVE coffee. I'd probably pay a lot for BAD coffee if it was the only game in town. The first time I went to Starbucks was in New York City. I was not impressed. The coffee was fine, nothing fancy. I also got a crumb cake that was so hard when I bit into it I broke a crown. I took it back up to the counter to tell them that their pastry was dangerous and they were exceedingly rude. I would say "that's just New York," but they were the ONLY folks that have ever been rude to me in the Big Apple.

Now for the Starbucks that is around the corner from my school...it's just close enough to duck out during my conference period and grab some GREAT coffee. Their selection of pastries is to die for. No dentally challenging articles there. The people that work there are so nice, and I've seen the same ladies there for several years now.

I occasionally stop into other Starbucks in my area and the quality seems to be consistently good. I pay $1.86 for a "venti" cup with tax. The service varies somewhat. In Highland Park the wait staff can be a bit stuck up, cordial but cool.

My experience at Starbucks in Southern California found great coffee, smiling service and pleasant clientele. I was at one in Redondo Beach in August and ran into someone I used to work with in Dallas.

For the most part, I've enjoyed Starbucks, gotten good product and good service. I didn't let my first experience in NYC turn me off to what I believe to be a pretty good operation. For a treat, I'll buy a pound of the Kenya AA or Sumatran and take it home to grind for myself.



Recommended:
Yes

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
0
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
0
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
More Starbucks reviews
review by . March 04, 2009
Before I quit drinking coffee (it was an addiction) I would frequent this spot only when with a group of people who wanted to go there because going there by myself would make me feel guilty I am spending so much money on a cup of coffee. Now that I am not a coffee drinker I don't waste my time there unless:    a) Someone gives me a Starbucks gift card   b) I have arranged to meet someone there because it is a convenient location      Now I tend to think …
review by . August 28, 2009
Before moving to Los Angeles in 1991, I had never heard of the renowned Starbucks Coffee or anything so foolish as paying over three dollars for a cup of java.  As a Midwesterner, I enjoyed independent coffee houses and recall my grandmother serving up Folgers at home when it was just about two bucks for the entire container.  But I was living in the entertainment capital of the world of the world, loving every minute of my newfound lifestyle and Vanilla lattes.      …
Quick Tip by . June 17, 2012
My favorite place to meet for a variety of options to meet and share good and pleasant moments
Quick Tip by . April 16, 2012
Pretense want to be Rich yuppie and pseudo intellectual.
Quick Tip by . January 17, 2011
Yeah, they're corporate, but I'm a sucker for their vanilla lattes ;)
Quick Tip by . August 11, 2010
If you have a Starbucks addiction, like me, or even if you only stop by a couple of times a month, make the investment in a Starbucks card. Register it online, for free, and after only 5 drinks, the rewards start to build up. Free soy milk, free flavor shots. Using my registered card makes the price of my drink (Tall, Cinnamon Dolche Latte) drop from $3.76 to $3! Plus, you get a postcard from a free drink of your choice after 15 visits and for your birthday!!
Quick Tip by . June 07, 2010
I love Starbucks, but I can't help but think of the calories whenever I drink a speciality drink from there!
Quick Tip by . April 15, 2010
At Starbucks the service is usually quick. My order during the winter is always a chai latte with skim milk.
Quick Tip by . March 06, 2010
I know they're corporate... but they're so tasty! :D I still try to go to mom 'n pop places though.
Quick Tip by . November 11, 2009
Sometimes its all you have, and I have to say, my skinny cinnamon latte today was not bad...not GOOD, but not too bad.
About the reviewer

Ranked #491
Member Since: Oct 5, 2010
Last Login: Feb 12, 2011 09:06 PM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
abhaille
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this food

Wiki




Starbucks is an international coffee and coffeehouse chain based in Seattle, Washington, USA. Starbucks is the largest coffeehouse company in the world, with 16,120 stores in 48 countries, including around 11,000 in the United States, nearly 1000 in Canada and more than 800 in Japan. Starbucks sells drip brewed coffee, espresso-based hot drinks, other hot and cold drinks, snacks, and items such as mugs and coffee beans. Through the Starbucks Entertainment division and Hear Music brand, the company also markets books, music, and film. Many of the company's products are seasonal or specific to the locality of the store. Starbucks-brand ice cream and coffee are also sold at grocery stores.

From Starbucks' founding in Seattle as a local coffee bean roaster and retailer in 1971, the company has expanded rapidly. In the 1990s, Starbucks was opening a new store every workday, a pace that continued into the 2000s. The first store outside the United States or Canada opened in the mid-90s, and overseas stores now constitute almost one third of Starbucks' stores. The company plans to open a net of 900 new stores outside of the U.S. in 2009, but has announced 900 store closures in the US since 2008.

source: Wikipedia

view wiki

Details

Polls with this food
Coffee Bean

Best Coffee

by

Coffee Bean

Morning Pick-Me-Up

by

Caribou Coffee

Best Coffee Chains

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists