|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Food » Reviews » Starbucks » User review

Starbucks

A coffee franchise in the US

< read all 22 reviews

Not so star-struck with starbucks.

  • Dec 9, 2008
  • by
Rating:
-1
I use to be a huge fan of Starbucks, but I think that was when I worked at the mall and knew the people who worked at the famous coffee chain who could get me free coffee!!

The coffee here is too "milked down" if that makes sense.. I feel like I'm just drinking flavoured milk.  The one item I do prefer here is the Soya Lattes.

I do have to say I don't enjoy that they are EVERYWHERE (especially in large cities where there's 2 on a block) and so commercialized, but the one thing I love about them is their City Mugs.. I've collected one from as many cities that I've visited as possible and am currently at 14 (Egypt, London, Dubai, Istanbul Shanghai, Barcelona to name a few)... it's becoming more and more addicting.

I'm glad they currently have picked up supporting RED (that's how I justified purchasing my RED iPod nano) - however I question their 5 cent donation/cup on Dec 1st ... honestly when you're charging $4 a drink - i think you can afford to donate more than that.

The only reason I will pay a visit to this chain now is if I'm meeting a friend, OR if I don't know of any other coffee places in the area... I'd like to say I wont' be making purchases from here anymore but I don't think that's realistic considering i"m from the Bay Area.. plus... those city mugs have really got me hooked.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
7
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
0
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
January 31, 2009
Red, or Product RED is an initiative to raise money to help HIV/AIDS, tuberculosis and a bunch of other diseases, mostly in Africa. I know Starbucks supports this (I can't be sure if they're still doing it - they tend to pick up new projects all the time!) Gap also sells those shirts that say Inspi(RED), Desi(RED), etc and a portion of the money goes to this fund.
 
January 29, 2009
You are getting wise in your old age. Just for the uninformed like myself what is a RED??
 
1
More Starbucks reviews
review by . March 04, 2009
Before I quit drinking coffee (it was an addiction) I would frequent this spot only when with a group of people who wanted to go there because going there by myself would make me feel guilty I am spending so much money on a cup of coffee. Now that I am not a coffee drinker I don't waste my time there unless:    a) Someone gives me a Starbucks gift card   b) I have arranged to meet someone there because it is a convenient location      Now I tend to think …
review by . August 28, 2009
Before moving to Los Angeles in 1991, I had never heard of the renowned Starbucks Coffee or anything so foolish as paying over three dollars for a cup of java.  As a Midwesterner, I enjoyed independent coffee houses and recall my grandmother serving up Folgers at home when it was just about two bucks for the entire container.  But I was living in the entertainment capital of the world of the world, loving every minute of my newfound lifestyle and Vanilla lattes.      …
Quick Tip by . June 17, 2012
My favorite place to meet for a variety of options to meet and share good and pleasant moments
Quick Tip by . April 16, 2012
Pretense want to be Rich yuppie and pseudo intellectual.
Quick Tip by . January 17, 2011
Yeah, they're corporate, but I'm a sucker for their vanilla lattes ;)
Quick Tip by . August 11, 2010
If you have a Starbucks addiction, like me, or even if you only stop by a couple of times a month, make the investment in a Starbucks card. Register it online, for free, and after only 5 drinks, the rewards start to build up. Free soy milk, free flavor shots. Using my registered card makes the price of my drink (Tall, Cinnamon Dolche Latte) drop from $3.76 to $3! Plus, you get a postcard from a free drink of your choice after 15 visits and for your birthday!!
Quick Tip by . June 07, 2010
I love Starbucks, but I can't help but think of the calories whenever I drink a speciality drink from there!
Quick Tip by . April 15, 2010
At Starbucks the service is usually quick. My order during the winter is always a chai latte with skim milk.
Quick Tip by . March 06, 2010
I know they're corporate... but they're so tasty! :D I still try to go to mom 'n pop places though.
Quick Tip by . November 11, 2009
Sometimes its all you have, and I have to say, my skinny cinnamon latte today was not bad...not GOOD, but not too bad.
About the reviewer
Stephanie Zhu ()
Ranked #155
http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=3201141    http://misszhulaneous.blogspot.com/    http://twitter.com/stephaniezhu    I hate passive aggressive … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
stephaniezhu
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this food

Wiki




Starbucks is an international coffee and coffeehouse chain based in Seattle, Washington, USA. Starbucks is the largest coffeehouse company in the world, with 16,120 stores in 48 countries, including around 11,000 in the United States, nearly 1000 in Canada and more than 800 in Japan. Starbucks sells drip brewed coffee, espresso-based hot drinks, other hot and cold drinks, snacks, and items such as mugs and coffee beans. Through the Starbucks Entertainment division and Hear Music brand, the company also markets books, music, and film. Many of the company's products are seasonal or specific to the locality of the store. Starbucks-brand ice cream and coffee are also sold at grocery stores.

From Starbucks' founding in Seattle as a local coffee bean roaster and retailer in 1971, the company has expanded rapidly. In the 1990s, Starbucks was opening a new store every workday, a pace that continued into the 2000s. The first store outside the United States or Canada opened in the mid-90s, and overseas stores now constitute almost one third of Starbucks' stores. The company plans to open a net of 900 new stores outside of the U.S. in 2009, but has announced 900 store closures in the US since 2008.

source: Wikipedia

view wiki

Details

Polls with this food
Coffee Bean

Best Coffee

by

Coffee Bean

Morning Pick-Me-Up

by

Caribou Coffee

Best Coffee Chains

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists