|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Food » Reviews » Starbucks » User review

Starbucks

A coffee franchise in the US

< read all 22 reviews

Overpriced... which really stings.

  • Mar 4, 2009
  • by
Rating:
-3
I'm not much of a coffee drinker, but I do know that Starbucks coffee is totally overpriced. 

My main reason to offer up a review is based on the fact that I worked for them many moons ago (not as a barista; I worked for one of their architects) and man, they were one of the most difficult clients to work for.  They were always trying to lowball us for our professional services, were extremely needy and impatient and always wanted things "done yesterday".

Now, that doesn't really have much to do with the taste of their coffee, but you put 2 and 2 together, and you realize that this company is all about the bottom line in terms of profit.  Sure, that's the point of a business, but it doesn't look like they really care about putting a good product out there.  It's "good enough", and for one reason or another, people continue to buy it.

Yeah, I'm a little biased, but I think there are just better cups of coffee - served by people who care a bit more - out there.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
8
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
1
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
March 04, 2009
For espresso drinkers, they make a decent cappucino but it's "hidden." Rather than ordering the 12oz. "tall" (as opposed to grande and venti, so lame) you can ask for the short cappucino that is the standard 5-6oz beverage that's not overcompensated with milk.
 
March 04, 2009
I completely agree- and their coffee doesn't really taste that good at all!
 
March 04, 2009
As I mentioned, I'm not much of a coffee guy (although I do drink it at home a lot)... so, question: is Starbucks the only "chain" coffee that offers soy products? I guess that would probably be a good marketing angle if so.
 
1
More Starbucks reviews
review by . March 04, 2009
Before I quit drinking coffee (it was an addiction) I would frequent this spot only when with a group of people who wanted to go there because going there by myself would make me feel guilty I am spending so much money on a cup of coffee. Now that I am not a coffee drinker I don't waste my time there unless:    a) Someone gives me a Starbucks gift card   b) I have arranged to meet someone there because it is a convenient location      Now I tend to think …
review by . August 28, 2009
Before moving to Los Angeles in 1991, I had never heard of the renowned Starbucks Coffee or anything so foolish as paying over three dollars for a cup of java.  As a Midwesterner, I enjoyed independent coffee houses and recall my grandmother serving up Folgers at home when it was just about two bucks for the entire container.  But I was living in the entertainment capital of the world of the world, loving every minute of my newfound lifestyle and Vanilla lattes.      …
Quick Tip by . June 17, 2012
My favorite place to meet for a variety of options to meet and share good and pleasant moments
Quick Tip by . April 16, 2012
Pretense want to be Rich yuppie and pseudo intellectual.
Quick Tip by . January 17, 2011
Yeah, they're corporate, but I'm a sucker for their vanilla lattes ;)
Quick Tip by . August 11, 2010
posted in Coffee Shop
If you have a Starbucks addiction, like me, or even if you only stop by a couple of times a month, make the investment in a Starbucks card. Register it online, for free, and after only 5 drinks, the rewards start to build up. Free soy milk, free flavor shots. Using my registered card makes the price of my drink (Tall, Cinnamon Dolche Latte) drop from $3.76 to $3! Plus, you get a postcard from a free drink of your choice after 15 visits and for your birthday!!
Quick Tip by . June 07, 2010
I love Starbucks, but I can't help but think of the calories whenever I drink a speciality drink from there!
Quick Tip by . April 15, 2010
posted in Coffee Shop
At Starbucks the service is usually quick. My order during the winter is always a chai latte with skim milk.
Quick Tip by . March 06, 2010
posted in Coffee Shop
I know they're corporate... but they're so tasty! :D I still try to go to mom 'n pop places though.
Quick Tip by . November 11, 2009
Sometimes its all you have, and I have to say, my skinny cinnamon latte today was not bad...not GOOD, but not too bad.
About the reviewer
Darin Tietgen ()
Ranked #414
I'm a fun and friendly guy from Southern California, now living in the vibrant city of Austin, Texas. I enjoy mountain biking, playing poker, enjoying a cold beer on my patio, listening to live music, … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
darin3
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this food

Wiki




Starbucks is an international coffee and coffeehouse chain based in Seattle, Washington, USA. Starbucks is the largest coffeehouse company in the world, with 16,120 stores in 48 countries, including around 11,000 in the United States, nearly 1000 in Canada and more than 800 in Japan. Starbucks sells drip brewed coffee, espresso-based hot drinks, other hot and cold drinks, snacks, and items such as mugs and coffee beans. Through the Starbucks Entertainment division and Hear Music brand, the company also markets books, music, and film. Many of the company's products are seasonal or specific to the locality of the store. Starbucks-brand ice cream and coffee are also sold at grocery stores.

From Starbucks' founding in Seattle as a local coffee bean roaster and retailer in 1971, the company has expanded rapidly. In the 1990s, Starbucks was opening a new store every workday, a pace that continued into the 2000s. The first store outside the United States or Canada opened in the mid-90s, and overseas stores now constitute almost one third of Starbucks' stores. The company plans to open a net of 900 new stores outside of the U.S. in 2009, but has announced 900 store closures in the US since 2008.

source: Wikipedia

view wiki

Details

Polls with this food
Coffee Bean

Best Coffee

by

Coffee Bean

Morning Pick-Me-Up

by

Caribou Coffee

Best Coffee Chains

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists